Customer Reviews


8,587 Reviews
5 star:
 (6,180)
4 star:
 (1,228)
3 star:
 (431)
2 star:
 (218)
1 star:
 (530)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4,839 of 4,944 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighter, smaller and looks great
Customer Video Review     Length:: 8:50 Mins
I already have the original Kindle with the keyboard and have been extremely pleased with it. As soon as I saw this smaller, lighter version of the Kindle I thought I would get it to carry around with me when I go to work and in my handbag.

It has the same functionality that is available on the original Kindle, it just doesn't have a...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by D. Jones

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Battery life very disappointing
After 2 years with a Kindle (the keyboard wifi model) I decided to buy one for my wife. The nearest equivalent is the basic 89 model, and to be fair the lack of a keyboard is not the problem I expected - the on-screen alternative works fine, and for the number of times I use the keyboard, I would gladly remove mine if I could! But, perhaps I got a freakishly good one,...
Published 23 months ago by swillis


‹ Previous | 1 2859 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4,839 of 4,944 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighter, smaller and looks great, 5 Oct 2011
By 
D. Jones (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Length:: 8:50 Mins

I already have the original Kindle with the keyboard and have been extremely pleased with it. As soon as I saw this smaller, lighter version of the Kindle I thought I would get it to carry around with me when I go to work and in my handbag.

It has the same functionality that is available on the original Kindle, it just doesn't have a physical keyboard. If like me you didn't use the keyboard much then it is worth losing it to gain a smaller reading device. There is an on-screen keyboard available for inputting data which is controlled by the four way selector button. It is more time consuming to use than the physical keyboard but I didn't find it to be too much of an issue.

This Kindle is significantly smaller in size and lighter in weight than the older version. This means that it is much more comfortable to hold for long periods of time without making your wrists ache from holding it. Despite being lighter it still feels sturdy, solid and well made.

The front of the Kindle has the four way controller button which is used for much of the functionality and making selections. There is still a home button which takes you as you would expect, back to the home page of the Kindle. This is where your downloaded books and collections are stored. There is a keyboard button that brings up the onscreen keyboard and a back button that takes you back to the previous screen. The final button is the menu button that contains most of the functionality and options you will need to manage your Kindle.

On the right and left hand side of the Kindle you have the forward and backward buttons that allow you to change pages. By being on both sides of the device it means that you can use your preferred hand to turn the pages. The buttons are less prominent than on the original device but they seem just as easy to access and turn pages with.

The Kindle comes with a USB charger which will enable you to charge it directly from a computer, laptop, netbook etc. Note that this Kindle does NOT come with the plug adaptor for mains charging - this option needs to be purchased separately.

After charging and switching the Kindle on the screen and e-ink looked sharp, it was easy to read the words on the screen - a good contrast between them. Also, your eyes won't get as tired if you read for long periods of time as there is no backlight - something many other e-reader devices use.

This newer Kindle has less storage space than the original one, you can store around 1,000 books instead of 3,000 but this isn't a problem as you can remove books after reading them. Amazon store all the books that you have purchased and you can redownload any book you have removed within a few seconds.

The battery life is also lower than the original Kindle. I normally had to charge my original device up once a month - it seemed to go on forever. So even if this one needs charging every three weeks, so what? You can extend your battery life by turning off the wireless option once you have downloaded your books.

As someone who had virtually stopped reading books before purchasing a Kindle it has made a huge difference to me. I am never without my device and generally get through a book every one to two days. If you enjoy reading books and you haven't already bought yourself a Kindle then I would highly recommend treating yourself to one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4,124 of 4,242 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent slimmed-down version, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Paul S Ell (NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On the latest Kindle the screen remains unchanged and is excellent, most significantly in sunlight. The most striking difference is the size of the Kindle - significantly smaller than the keyboard version and now looking more like the Sony eReader range. I don't need a keyboard - although you have access to a virtual one on the Kindle screen but only can only slooooowly select keys using the 5-way control on the front of the Kindle. I much prefer this compact, very light, form. The finish is also better in my opinion. I prefer the silver casing to black, and certainly the white available in US earlier-generation Kindles. Another flagged improvement is the speed of `virtually' turning the page. There is a minimal improvement but it's still not possible to repeatedly press the next page button without the Kindle quickly falling behind.

Lower specs, excluding the keyboard which I think is a plus, is the anticipated time before the Kindle needs to be recharged - one month instead of two. One month is fine for me. The storage is also reduced but Amazon archives all your purchases in the Cloud so when you have Wi-Fi access you can download them just in case you're running out of storage space. As the Kindle will hold more than 1,000 books this is not likely to be an issue. Further, listening to music and audio books is no longer an option on the Kindle (which has no speaker) so the storage won't be clogged with large sound files. Storage space is not critical therefore. I also find that with Wi-Fi pretty ubiquitous these days that the loss of a 3G is fine. Where you're likely to struggle finding a Wi-Fi access point you're also likely not to be in a 3G area but can still rely on a slower GPRS or Edge mobile download. It is possible to connect the Kindle to a PC and move e-books to it via the USB cable so the Wi-Fi less have a work around (but you need Wi-Fi at least once to activate it on receipt).

Overall this is a refreshing update of the Kindle focussed on the key features of an e-reader - a good screen/size ratio, lightweight form, ease of downloading new books, and an excellent screen. And thanks to the focus on core features it's cheaper than earlier versions. Recommended.

Update: If you're considering investing in a new Kindle the Kindle Touch which, as the name suggests, comes with a touch screen might be worth a look. This adds the functionality of a touch screen, innovative searching of content in addition to a standard dictionary, more storage space and a longer battery life. It's currently 20 more than the standard Kindle and available late April 2012. Check out the Amazon Kindle comparison page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3,087 of 3,193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review for the glass half full persuasion......., 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle, 6" E Ink Display, Wi-Fi, Black (Electronics)
Buying a bog standard, lower end kindle for myself with Xmas money was purely on the basis of money available at the time. That said, I would have no intention of buying any other reader when this one eventually expires because I've thrashed it too much. ;-)

My reason is simple. I have an ipad but for reading, the glass screen tended to glare after a while. Don't get me wrong i adore the ipad but I wanted a book reader that does that and that alone.

The screen is built for no glare and reads just like a book.

The keyboard has been removed and put 'on-screen' to make for lighter reading. And if you just want to read this a big plus.

The buttons on the side to move forward or backwards a page are so subtle that it will become second nature and not interfere with your attention to the story. (Buttons are on both sides for lefties and righties too. God I love this product)

There is no backlight so there is absolutely no artificial leanings to the reading experience. It reads like a book should and buying a case with light feels like a book with a lamp on when you're in bed snuggled up.

For some, what I have said above may seem like they have 'left out' certain perks so they can reach the budget buyers but for me all the above confirms (and will to the readers who love a proper book and are unsure whether to change), is that everything that is unnecessary when all you want to do is read a book isn't there.

The best way to sum it up is.........

This Kindle is bog standard. It does nothing more than 'be' a reader. There's no fancy asides. It is what it is. And it does it perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, brilliant., 3 April 2014
By 
Mr. B. Park "bp83" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kindle, 6" E Ink Display, Wi-Fi, Black (Electronics)
I've owned a Kindle Keyboard, Touch, Paperwhite and a Fire HDX.. even a Sony Reader.

I recently said goodbye to my Paperwhite when I got an HDX, which I love for video and apps, but I really missed the E-ink reading experience. So as ridiculous as it seems I bought this, the basic Kindle.

Overall, this really is a fantastic device. It is simple and every aspect of the design is considered to be unobtrusive to the reading experience. There are no gimmicks here- this little reader allows you to read books and that's pretty much it. Like every e-reading device, no-one can easily see what I'm reading, so I can indulge in a guilty pleasure on the tube without worrying what people are thinking about it!

Personally I find using the book store on the device a little tiresome as there's no keyboard, so using Amazon.co.uk on a PC and sending the book to the device is my preferred, easier way of getting content. That said, it can be useful to browse around when you're out and about.

For those yet to take the plunge into E-ink, it really is a high quality reading experience and far far better than reading from a backlit screen (such as on the Fire). The screen isn't very reflective and the contrast between the different grayscales means that there's no eye strain and of course, you can see everything brilliantly well in sunlight.

The device is really light and pretty small. Despite that, it doesn't feel too flimsy and whilst I do use a cover, I don't feel that the Kindle is going to fall apart anytime soon. The battery life is great, page turn buttons well placed and are 'just right' -they're easy enough to press but not too firm.

Despite having owned pretty much every kind of Kindle there is, I like this one the best for reading. The whole thing is simple, smart and easy to use. At 59 this is a great buy and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,010 of 1,049 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Device - an idiots guide, 6 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered the new Kindle on launch day as a birthday gift for my wife, who always has her nose stuck in a book. It's her birthday in a couple of weeks and she is going to love this! Received it yesterday 7 days ahead of schedule so that was a good start. I've never used a Kindle (or any other reading device) so thought these few basics would help anyone as clueless as me:

Delivery
I had assumed I would need to sign for this, which can be a pain if you're not at home. In actual fact, mine was delivered by the postman who just popped it through the letter box with my normal mail, so that was a bonus as you don't have to be at home to receive it. Well packaged and it just comes in a cardboard box, with the Kindle, a USB power lead and very basic instruction booklet showing what the buttons are.

Charging
Mine came about 60% charged. I quickly discovered that apart from using the USB to charge from my computer, the Kindle uses a standard USB charger identical to various smart phones, so you don't need to a computer to charge it which is very handy if travelling without your laptop. Mine is currently plugged into my HTC Desire phone charger and is charging away as I type.

User Guide
This is all held within the device and explains everything you need to know - and also lots of other stuff you probably don't. Very informative.

Buying a Book
I decided to download one of the free books (there are loads) to test it out. Rather than using the device, I just went onto the Amazon E-book site, selected a book, logged into my Amazon account and that was it. I had the Kindle turned on whilst doing this and it downloaded the whole book in literally 5 seconds. Amazing!

Screen and General Feel of the Kindle
Brilliant! Looks great, text is very clear and the general 'feel' of reading on it is just great.

Buying as a Gift
As I bought this on my Amazon account it has automatically registered to my account. I'm fine with that and don't mind paying for all of my wife's future purchases. It is easy however to re-register the device to someone else's Amazon account, so if it is a gift for a friend or relative that's no problem.

Overall a great little device and well worth 89 of anyone's money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,190 of 1,241 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new Kindle - brilliant!, 28 Oct 2011
So after reading a lot of the negative reviews, I still went & bought a new Kindle yesterday & glad I didn't just base it on the negative comments - these are some of my reasons:

I bought it to read books on. When was the last time you bought a book and expected it to do anything else other than have pages in it with words on it. Yes, I know that they have some of these other features, and people may like them - however it is an e-reader. Use it as one & you will be happy with it. Try use it for anything else & you may end up being disappointed.

1st impressions of it - not much to it & it just works.
I don't care about having audio - I buy books to read, not to have them read to me (that's what an MP3 player is for & is good at)
I don't care that the browser may not work (that's what a PC/Mac/iPad etc.., are used for and they are good at it)

Some people say that the text is not as crisp or clear as a book, or it doesn't have the same feel as a book - bah humbug to you. It's not a book. If you want to hold a book & have the same feel as a book - please buy a book.

A few people complained about the lack of a keyboard & that the new controller was a problem - really? I got my 8yr old daughter to try it out last night and she had no issues. I can only suspect that people having issues either have a defective unit, or maybe don't have the finger dexterity that they would need. Anyone familiar with using a mobile phone should have no problems using this new interface. Besides, for people who never mark up anything and only want to read (like me), you'll probably never need to use the keyboard after the initial setup very often anyway.

To those of you who are complaining about the price differences between the UK & the US - get over it. yes, there is a $79 version (roughly 52), however you still have to pay tax in the US, so you can add at least another 5 - 10 to this price depending on which state you live in. Did anyone also read that the cheapest one comes with advertising & sponsored screensavers? those companies are effectively subsidising the cost of the Kindle to us end users. Take the Kindle that is exactly the same that we buy here & you're see it's actually $109 plus tax. So there is not much difference in cost at all really, other than we are unable to buy a version that is subsidised by corporate advertising. Not really an Amazon issue or an issue with the Kindle itself - please leave feedback on the actual product, and not about why you won't be buying it because of cost.

I love the reduced packaging as I have less to throw away and there is just a little bit left of the world that hasn't needed to have been dug up/processed just to make a product look nicer for us. I guess some people are expecting more when they open it up & feel deflated when all they get is what they bought plus a cable. No longer do we see a mass of eco unfriendly packaging, pull out nicely packaged cables/connectors & power supply, then get to go through a heap of booklets in different languages & then finally after the excitement & anticipation has built up you finally get to the actual Kindle. Sorry guys, it's just not going to be like when you were a kid opening Xmas presents. Open the box & what you see is pretty much what you get - the Kindle, a cable & a thin 1 page guide to the device. Can't get any better!

As for the power supply not being provided - why do we need yet another power supply? Another plus for those of us wanting to get companies to do their bit to help reduce our impact on the environment. Admittedly if you don't own a PC, or have a mobile phone or any other device that has a USB connection or plug that can be used to charge a standard USB device, then you'll need one. Is suspect this is a very small percentage of people though.

Some people complained that there were no instructions - ok, so they could have included a 1 line sentence on the paper guide they include saying that to turn it on for the 1st time, press & hold for 7 seconds. Once it's turned on though, there is a Kindle user guide on the front screen, why do I need yet another printed copy of it that will only end up going in recycling! I got this to reduce the amount of printed literature I have.

Hope that helps, and please don't let all the negative comments put you off - especially as most of them don't actually relate to the product himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


941 of 983 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smaller, cheaper, a nice entry level Kindle, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been playing with my partner's shiny new Kindle and I'm impressed. It's a good bit smaller and noticeably lighter than the Kindle Keyboard and the silver colour is, to my mind, more attractive than the graphite KK. The e-ink and screen are precisely as in the KK and provide really crisp, clear text in a good-sized format. Can't say that I've really noticed the faster page turn associated with this newer model, but it is such a minute timing difference that that isn't entirely astonishing. The reduced 'flash' on page turns is, however, quite noticeable and a distinct improvement. Functions-wise most of the buttons work precisely the same way as those on the KK - the familiar 5-way controller now pleasingly centred, with two buttons on either side (a new feature 'keyboard' button and 'back' on the left, 'menu' and 'home' to the right). The page turn buttons continue to be located on both sides of the screen. They're the same length, but are now narrower and more sloped, saving space on the device. I prefer the new neater design to the ones on my KK - they're slightly harder to press and I don't find myself accidentally flicking through pages without intending to.

As I expected, I'm not a fan of scrolling around the virtual keyboard using the 5-way controller. This is rather laborious (if you didn't like the keyboard, you probably aren't going to like using this either) and I can't imagine wanting to use this to access the Kindle store. To be fair, if you didn't like the keyboard there's a good chance you didn't use it at all and won't make use of the virtual keyboards either - leaving you to simply enjoy the advantage of the new Kindle's smaller size.

Price-wise, the entry level Kindle seems reasonable in view of its quality and features. There continue to be a number of low scoring reviews in which the Kindle is slated for costing more in the UK than the USA. However, the comparisons made tend to wrongly contrast a $79 subsidised Kindle which displays third party adverts on the screensaver and home page (this deal isn't yet offered outside the US, presumably at least in part due to constraints imposed by the advertisers) with the unsubsidised version - which costs $109 - and is the version available in the UK. The prices shown on the US site do not include sales tax - as this varies by state, and (where applicable) is added at checkout, the UK price of 89 DOES include VAT at 20% - so we get no nasty surprises at checkout!

If you don't use the keyboard, aren't worried by the lower storage space and reduced battery life (there's still enough for 1,500 books on the kindle itself, to say nothing of Amazon's backup storage, and at half an hour a day usage, a month's battery life), are interested in core functions rather than experimental audio features and web browsing, and don't need a mains charger, this could well be the Kindle for you. In fact, if you do decide you need a mains charger, since introducing the new Kindle Amazon have put their own brand mains power supply on offer at half price and as Kindle takes the same size charger as the KK then there are a number of unbranded versions available. Indeed, a mains charger comes bundled with Duragadget's new range of cases.

Having tried the new Kindle, I won't be giving up my much-loved KK3G for one of these. I like it a lot - but still want the physical keyboard. My partner's user habits are different from mine and he's going to love it, as it's retained the features he loved from the KK and dropped those he didn't.

***

Edit: I was right, one very chuffed other half has been crooning over his 'precious' like a gollum. He doesn't agree with me about using the 5-way controller to work the virtual keyboard (says it's easy and points out that in fact there's more than one virtual kb to select from: upper and lower case alphabet + numbers; symbols; international characters in upper and lower case). But I'm not convinced. I hate having to use the 5-way controller to input data from just the symbols menu on my KK3G, so I can't see this growing on me, and I really don't like having to fiddle round switching between lower and upper case keyboards every time I need a capital letter.

Having had a good chance to use this now, there is one respect in which I think the new Kindle could be slightly disappointing: and that is in regard to font sizing. What could be done at the press of a button on the KK, is now buried under the menu functions - which makes the new Kindle less accessible to those with sight problems. Combine this with the loss of text-to-speech and the KK seems like a clear frontrunner for those with poor/impaired eyesight.

Overall this is an excellent product, but so are the Keyboard versions: it all comes down to your budget/user preferences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


289 of 302 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 20 Oct 2011
I use this device day in, day out. It is simple to use. Takes minutes to set-up an account and find the books you wish to read.

I find the device is light, it melts away in my hands as I read - and to be honest I do not notice its there when I am reading - much the same as a book. Suddenly I realize the time, put it on the side and realize I have been lost in the depths of a story for hours, perfect - exactly what I wanted from this device.

Newspapers. I am a big Guardian reader - it is delivered to my device around 3am (GMT) each day. Reads perfect - easy to navigate and SO readable. I cannot speak for other papers, but the Guardian / Observer are included in FULL. Perfect for anyone abroad or fed up with reading a broadsheet on cramped train conditions.

Frequently asked questions,

1. Price? People keep complaining that this device is more expensive in GBP (89.99) than USD ($79). A bit of reading will put this question away: the US cheap version contains adverts (hence it is cheaper), the UK version does not. The US version does not include tax, so if you take the NON-ADVERT edition ($109) if you use an exchange rate of 1.55, add on 20 % UK VAT, and you end up at 84.99.

2. Why must books be bought through Amazon? Why are E-books so expensive? Well, you do not have too. Any Ereader user MUST have Calibre (easy to download, just type it into google). It is what iTunes is to an iPod for an Ereader. It has automatic links to other Ebook shops - and lets you convert any epub formats into the MOBI format (which is used on the kindle). The expense? This is due to publishers being narrow minded (in my own opinion), they dictate the price of the books, not amazon. (Amazon does have a lot of free novels to start you off), More authors are braking into this market, and indeed some authors have skipped the publishers straight away, going to ebook - and there are some great success stories. One would think with the increasing number of people buying ereading devices the price of ebooks will decrease in the forth coming years.

A further note: I run my Kindle on a Linux OS and Windows Visa. The device has no problem with either OS and calibre works without any problem and is avaliable on both OS.

3. The page 'flick' - when the screen goes blank momentarily while the ink settles, does it annoy me? Quick answer - no. I find I do not notice this at all, its so quick that I cannot measure the speed...reading the paper, flicking between articles - I do not notice it at all, and it is much quicker than turning the page of a book or a newspaper page!

4. Do I miss the 'look and feel' of a book? ....This is a hard question and one that is very individual. Personally I have found only a few of the books I have purchased FEEL good, with a binding that makes you take care and pride in a book. These are usually small publishers. What I miss the most is my book shelf - the old second hand books I have collected and the occasional hard back...but how much space do I really want to donate to books? I use my device as I travel a lot. Sitting at home on the sofa? A book for me is always a winner. The newspaper? Actually I prefer reading it on this device...

5. Is no keyboard annoying? No, not if you just use the device purely for reading with the occasional search. It is not good if you want to add notes to anything you are reading.

Overall I think amazon are on to a winner. Great device that does JUST what it needs. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,614 of 1,696 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value device for reading!, 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: Kindle, 6" E Ink Display, Wi-Fi, Black (Electronics)
This review is intended to answer all your questions about the Kindle that you may need answers for to help you consider purchasing the Kindle.

There are two current types of Kindle ereader: the 69 basic Kindle (this one) and the All New Kindle Paperwhite (the "All New" denotes that this is the 2nd generation Paperwhite). I now own both the 69 basic Kindle and the All New Kindle Paperwhite. Please read my review on the Paperwhite for further comparisons between the two models.

If you would like a touch screen device that you can read in the dark, flip around the book a bit and read footnote or character heavy books much more easily, you may wish to consider the Paperwhite. If you would like a budget device and don't need these features, consider this Kindle.
Personally, I find it worth forking out an extra 40 for all the extra features on the Paperwhite.

The Kindle has about 2 gigabytes of storage and can hold about 1,400 eBooks. The main formats it can read are the Kindle formats (AZW3, AZW and MOBI), PDF, TXT, DOC and DOCX. It also has an "experimental" web browser, but does not support audio.

INTRODUCTION TO E-INK:
It features an E-Ink display, which is unlike any other, such as the most common (LCD), which is used in tablets, mobile phones and televisions, etc. An E-Ink pixel is a tiny capsule that carries black and white particles suspended in a fluid. The particles are moved around by charges. Natural light then reflects off the particles on the surface, making the pixel visible. So, if the white particles are moved to the top of the capsule, it will appear as white.
E-Ink only uses up battery power when changing the contents of the display. It does not give out light, so although it looks great in sunlight, it is not visible in the dark.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:

Q. If my Kindle breaks, will I lose my books?
A. No, they are backed up on your Amazon account.

Q. Is Wi-Fi necessary?
A. No! EBooks can be transferred via a USB port on a computer.

Q. Will it save my place in a book?
A. Yes, it saves your place in every book, even after it is deleted and downloaded again!

Q. Can page numbers be shown?
A. If page numbers are available for the book, they will appear when you press the menu button.

Q. Can the text size be changed?
A. Yes, there are 8 different font sizes.

Q. Can it read the common format ePub?
A. No. However, the free open-source software Calibre is good for converting ebooks, although it will not convert DRM (digital rights management) protected books.

Q. Are there many free classics available?
A. Yes! Over 40,000 titles are available free from manybooks.net and gutenberg.org! These are in the public domain, so they were mostly published before 1923 (copyright laws changed in that year).

Q. How long does the battery last?
A. Amazon states 14 hours (1 month at half an hour's usage every day) with Wifi turned off. I find that it is at least that, if not longer.

I will now give you the pros and cons of the device.

THE PROS:

- The E-Ink screen is great to read in bright sunlight and causes no eye strain! The screen also has a matt finish so it does not create annoying reflections as other screens do.

- The inbuilt Oxford Dictionary of English allows you to move the cursor to a word on the page and get a definition of three lines at the bottom or top, so as to not interrupt your reading. A full definition is also available at two clicks of a button.

- It only takes about 1-2 seconds to turn on from full power off and comes back on in the same place you left it.

- Permanent bookmarks can be saved. You can also highlight passages, and it shows you passages that have been highlighted many times by others. (This can be turned off from settings).

- Foreign language to English dictionaries can be bought so you can quickly look up words in foreign books. I have one of these, and I recommend them.

- It has page turn buttons on each side so you can read one-handed.

- There is a 'go to' option from menu that can take you to the cover, the table of contents, the beginning or the end.

THE CONS:

- E-Ink is not visible in the dark. It also looks quite grey when not in reasonably bright light. The Paperwhite, with its frontlight, is visible in the dark as well as in sunlight, and looks white in all conditions.

- E-Ink is monochrome (it can show shades of grey only). However, this doesn't bother me, because book covers still look fine in black and white. BE AWARE that if you go for the Kindle Fire for its colour backlit display, it will probably give you eyestrain and is also very difficult to read in sunlight. However, some people are immune to eyestrain.

- Your eBooks are nearly impossible to have on one device from different accounts. It is impossible to buy from two accounts at once for one device. BUY ALL EBOOKS FROM ONE ACCOUNT.

- It cannot read ePub format, and cannot be used with libraries in the UK as far as I know. In the USA, many libraries are now supporting Kindle books.

- The experimental web browser is slow to navigate.

- Typing is very slow because an on-screen keyboard comes up and you navigate it with the arrow keys.

- There is noticeable `ghosting' when set to refresh every 6 pages, especially on the 5th and 6th pages.

- Occasionally it may start doing a very fast flash between every page (even when set to refresh every 6 pages), quite unlike the smooth transition of refreshing. This also causes ghosting and less sharp text. I recently discovered that this occurs when the screen warms up! This means that reading in the sunlight can be annoying after 10 minutes or so.

A FEW HANDY TIPS:

- Up to 6 devices can be registered to one account.

- You can email eBooks and documents to the Kindle by sending to an address allocated to you by Amazon.
- If you press the keyboard button from anywhere on the device it gives you options to search your eBooks and documents, the book you are reading, the dictionary, Google and even Wikipedia.

I'm more than happy to answer any more questions!

To conclude, the Kindle is great, but could be improved slightly. However, it is certainly worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Battery life very disappointing, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After 2 years with a Kindle (the keyboard wifi model) I decided to buy one for my wife. The nearest equivalent is the basic 89 model, and to be fair the lack of a keyboard is not the problem I expected - the on-screen alternative works fine, and for the number of times I use the keyboard, I would gladly remove mine if I could! But, perhaps I got a freakishly good one, but my Kindle has only needed charging 5 times in 20 months with daily use and leaving the wifi on. This new model only lasts about a fortnight. Perhaps just normal manufacturing variance, but I can't help wondering if a cheaper battery is being used in these new Kindles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2859 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kindle, 6" E Ink Display, Wi-Fi, Black
59.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews