Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2014
Matthew Lawe, the main character of the story, performs a cowardly act which results in his being cursed to sail the seas forever. As he wends his way through life without ever growing older, we are shown many famous historical characters and events. The accounts are vivid enough for you to transported in your mind's eye to the Pirate shores of the Caribbean, you stand on a smoky deck at the Battle of Trafalgar watching Lord Nelson urging you to fight and you hang your head in Matthew's shame as you transport slaves from their homes to faraway Barbados.

Matthew shows us an earthy character and, although his cowardice is repeated, the reader cannot help empathising with him and growing to like him.

It is such a shame Nicholas Monsarrat died before the book was complete, although we must thank his wife for providing the author's notes for Book Two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
Read this in hardback several times and have now got it on my kindle also. Historically accurate, each chapter tells the story from the point of view of Matthew Lawe, a sailor cursed to sail the seas until he atones for his act of cowardice. It's very entertaining, educational and difficult to put down at times. A great pity the authour died before finishing the books but at least the notes left behind give a good idea of what it woud have been like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
First book is a truly great and innovative story from the writer of The Cruel Sea. Based on historical data, but with some artistic licence, the tale left me really looking forward to book 2.
Unfortunately, the author passed away before completion.
Book 2 contains quite a good representation of how to complete the storyline, although it does not feel as if it is written by
The original author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Absolutely marvellous, epic story; rarely have I enjoyed a book more. What a huge shame that Monsarrat was not able to complete the tale, but the treatment of the last part using the author's notes is very effective.
Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
very well received. Cannot keep him off the Kindle!
First time we have used a Kindle. Easy and quick to load
Good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
Good reading, an old classic which is well worth saving to read again, the book goes through a number of periods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
The first part, written by the author, was excellent. After that, I'm afraid it went downhill at a rate of knots
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Better than I expected. Not dated too badly and very readable. Why do I have to find more words? Hmm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
One of the finest period books covering 400 years ever written. highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Another book by the Master writer, loved it ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.26
£3.59

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.