Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roaring success.
Brilliant. My great grand daughter loved it. Would recommend it for all your little ones. If they loved the Lion King they will love this.
Published 9 months ago by Nannacat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok.
This film takes you back before the beginning of The Lion King, and neatly fills in all the gaps that you never realised existed.

Timon is the "Flik" (A Bug's Life) of his community, clumsy and discontent with his lot in life, and sets off to find his dream home, where he can fit in. He meets up with Pumba, and the friendship begins.

The animation is...
Published on 30 May 2012 by Dad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roaring success., 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. My great grand daughter loved it. Would recommend it for all your little ones. If they loved the Lion King they will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lion King through the eyes of two of it's best-loved characters, 5 Aug 2012
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As a child, I grew up watching the Timon and Pumbaa television series (how long must we wait for Disney to re-release more episodes of this great cartoon on DVD?) and one of the episodes was 'Once Upon A Timon' (an ideal episode to have been included as a special feature on this DVD?) which explained Timon's routes and how he met Pumbaa. This movie completely contradicts that episode, luckily, 'The Lion King 3' does a better job at explaining Timon's early years.

The film also contradicts the movie in parts (I noticed a few little inconsistencies). However, being a lifelong fan of Timon and Pumbaa, I don't care because I love this movie!

I don't think it should be taken all that seriously, it's just a bit of fun. Timon and Pumbaa take the viewer of a backstage peak at how The Lion King could have been. From their unique perspective, the results are hilarious. 'The Lion King 3' is very tounge-in-cheek and really makes fun of itself and the first film. This is defiantly one for the T and P fans. I particularly enjoyed the new characters, Timon's overprotective mother and his Uncle Max. The songs in this film are no where near as good or as memorable as the previous two movies, but they are very catchy (particularly Timon's 'That's All I Need').

There is much to love about this film, it divides opinion amongst fans but I am firmly a supporter of this one. If you enjoy the zany antics of two of the most best-loved characters in The Lion King and appreciate their timeless humour, you'll surly love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some say it degrades the original, I don't agree, 8 July 2012
The Lion King was a classic, a Hamlet inspired story of kings, romance, betrayal and standing up to fight, basically creating one of the best films and most iconic masterpieces Disney ever made. later on a direct to video sequel was made, Lion King 2: Simba's pride, one of the better sequels with decent animation, a different conflict and some engaging ideas thrown together. And then we have Lion King 3 or Lion King 1 1/2 which is not a sequel as the latter title choice indicates, but rather more of the same story but at a different angle, in this case, the comic relief of the original and sequel, Timon and Pumba, the no-worries advocates with bug arguments and enough one-liners to satisfy two movies. The concept of this is pretty simple, Timon and Pumba are taking the MST3K format of the theater arrangement and then showing a kind of behind the scenes parody by showing the events of the Lion King from their perspective. Its the first Lion King film that's aware of itself as entertainment rather than simply telling a story, some may see that as clever, others as tedious. Anyway this essentially covers Timon's early life, his leaving of his old home and meeting Pumba, before their search for an ideal home. From there they meet Simba and the rest is history.

So is this a good direct-to-video sequel? Well in some ways it is, it has its moments where it succeeds at what's its trying to achieve, the scene in Scar's assembly of hyenas despite being short is humorous, the interludes of the silhouettes in the theater of Pumba and Timon analyzing the film are often funny and insightful, however the best material is when we see scenes entirely different from the Lion King rather than the unique angle idea. Such as Timon identifying the name of the their philosophy whilst Pumba throws in a dozen dishes of synonymous names in the background. Also seeing Simba growing up with them is quite interesting, and funny as the chores of parenthood fall onto our characters. Visually it's fine and musically it works out well enough, it has fewer songs than either of the other two Lion King films and when it does they do in fact mean something to the plot, not a fault of the other movies but something missing from many Disney sequels. Now granted it does have its flaws, some bad taste perhaps as Pumba's special power is overplayed, the climax like Lion King 2 perhaps lacks something, mainly because the central action was Simba in the first place. Casting wise the duo are well voiced and the supporting cast does well enough with Timon's mother and Uncle Max perfect for their respective roles, as are of course the returning Simba and Raffiki.

Some consider this movie to basically defecate on the original, I digress and disagree on that, its humorous if a bit pathetic at times and at least is a different, cohesive whole of a film which is funny, features character development and gives character's from the original at least something to do unlike the direct sequel of the classic original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!!, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Miss Samantha Colligan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this movie when I was little and as I'm trying to collect disney movies, I decided to buy this, very pleased with the delivery! 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So happy!, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Came quickly! Very good price, especially for a blu-ray. Also a great film and wasn't damaged and was sealed. Very impressed with the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My sons aged 6 and 7 clubbed there pocket money together to buy this and love it just like other 2 lion king films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I bought for my children with 2, they enjoyed and us too.
recived on the next day and service was excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, 8 Nov 2013
By 
J. Ayokunle Awoyera "Dr J" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It is a very very good movie,the whole family thoroughly enjoy it and we all had a good laugh as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So Funny, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a Lion King film, need I say more, Yes I must because the review has to be a certain length .-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good., 25 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Andrew D. Brown (leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
a very good dvd, a bit odd in places. Our 3 year old loves watching it. well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
The Lion King 3: Hakuna Matata [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Bradley Raymond (Blu-ray - 2012)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews