Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'sequel' is such a strong word..
Okay first things first; if you're looking for a repeat of The Lion King, you won't find it here. The Lion King 2 is a sequel in the best sense of the word. It takes the story and characters of the first film and builds on them without being too afraid to step in another direction.
The constant references to Scar and the, um, 'scars', he has left may indeed turn some...
Published on 4 Oct 2004 by silent_siren

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay...but Scar's too often talked about...
Like me, I’m sure many people were very excited for the long-awaited sequel to Disney’s Classic, ‘The Lion King.’ The circle of life continues…
Simba is now the new Lion King and is a proud father to Kiara, his daughter. Like Simba once was at her age, Kiara is a very mischievous and adventurous cub who just can’t help getting...
Published on 7 Nov 2003 by M. Fox


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected!, 5 Mar 2007
I've always been reluctant of sequels especially the Disney ones. They've never sounded as good.

However we recieved this second hand and my sister decided to watch it..Out of interest once reading the case I decided to sit and watch through it and I was surprised to find it was not as bad as I thought it might.

I do love follow up stories, if they are done properly and this was done very well. An enjoyable follow up to the original and sounds better than the third and some of Disney's latest work. I love story by all accounts, which means it treads the same lines but the history and the consequences of that history is what makes it worthwhile, as is Timon and Pumba who are still as funny if not moreso.

The artwork from what I see is just as good as the original, which is nice considering that animation tends to not look as good nowadays and I enjoyed the music, although they are not as memorable as the originals they are not far off and for me some of these will be remembered.

The only downside to say is Rowan Atkinson didn't return as Zazu. I prefer his over this one but you can't have it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Long Awaited Sequel Has Arrived, 8 Jun 2006
Finally a sequel that is worthy of owning!

It follows on brilliantly from the 1st film in that Simba is now the King Of The Pridelands & it's his daugther Kiara - who is so much like Simba when he was younger! who is learning about her place in the Circle Of Life

Wonderful songs are featured including my persoanl favourite "We Are One" which is ung by Simba & Kiara after Simba rescues her fro the Outlanders, also featured is "One Of Us" - used as Kovu is banished from the Pridelands, "Love Will Find A Way" - te love song of the film, "My Lullabay" - used to get Kovu to go to sleep by his Mum

Definitely worth owning whether a fan of the series or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hakunama Watta??, 13 May 2004
By A Customer
Although its a great film and i watch it all the time (on VHS) it hasnt been released on dvd yet. the official uk release date it the 28th of june 2004,along with the lion king trilogy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Circle of Life still rolling, 20 April 2007
Just as the first movie is said to be based upon "Hamlet", the sequel has elements of another famous Shakespeare play-"Romeo and Juliet". Difficult to emulate the original and perhaps a bad move to make it a straight to DVD release because this definitely isn't B or C grade material.

In this film, we can see Simba as a worried dad, and together with Nala he had Kiara, his daughter who remembers himself very much in looks and in personality: she is always thinking about something dangerous or forbidden to do! Worried, he asks to Timon,Pumbaa and Zazu to always watch her and take good care. One day, Kiara easily escapes from one of the forbidden lands, where Scar's followers lives. Without being aware of this Kiara makes Friendship with Kovu,a little lion that Zira, his mother, pretend to raise to overthrow Simba. When Simba knows that, he forbids Kovu and Kiara to be friends, but when the time passes and they grow up, they are going to meet again, but now their feelings are going to be stronger. kiara is the key to make the lions to be close again. But Zira and Simba really hate each other. What is going to happen is almost a cliché, but nice to watch anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as good as the first film., 18 Jun 2004
By 
Bluey (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is not terrible but it does not live up to the masterpiece that The Lion King (which was 10 years old this year) was.
The plot and continuity in this film are slapdash at best and not unlike Swiss cheese.
The Outlander lionesses were once part of the Pridelands pride before being banished to the Outlands. The Outlanders are still Pride Rock lionesses so where did those pointy noses come from?
The Pridelander lionesses have been reduced to hideous and dull Sarabi clones while Kiara shines like a Photoshop lens flare filter. They also go up and down in number between scenes.
The colouring in this film is highly saturated to the point where you can feel your teeth rotting. The original film was much paler.
Nala's eyes are not deep blue. They're actually more of a light teal.
Timon and Pumbaa feature too heavily and ruin some of the film's more dramatic moments.
Kovu's paws look like beanbags.
A great alternative ending was removed for being too un-PC. If you watch closely enough near the end with Zira and the cliff you can actually notice where they horribly cut this powerful scene out.
Kiara is obnoxious. In her dialog she interchanges between "father" and "daddy" at completely the wrong moments. Whatever happened to "dad"?
Simba looks deformed at the best of times and his spine has been shortened for no good reason.
The lions use their paws like hands far too often. It's not as bad as TLK3 but it really grates on the nerves.
The tear in Zira's ear hops about like a flea who's just gulped down the entire stockroom of his local Starbucks.
Pumbaa somehow manages to lift an adult male lion onto his back without difficulty. Um, no. Just no.
Of course these flaws won't matter to the average 5 year old and casual film watcher, but if you are expecting the greatness of the first film then lower your expectations before watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 2 - Simba's Pride [DVD] (DVD)
can't fault it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lion king 2, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 2 - Simba's Pride [DVD] (DVD)
Even though it isn't quite as good as the first lion king, it's still a great family film. Arrived quickly and in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King 2 - Simba's Pride [DVD] (DVD)
Hide tips and guidelines | 20 more words required.
Hide tips and guidelines | 20 more 2 more words required.words required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Disney sequels, 8 July 2012
This review is from: The Lion King 2 - Simba's Pride [DVD] (DVD)
Following one from one of the most iconic Disney movies ever made, Lion King 2 has a tough act to follow and whilst having a multitude of continuity difficulties, occasionally poor screenwriting and a terribly lackluster climax, it certainly succeeds above many of the other Disney sequels made during that insane period of direct-to-video madness that Disney dived into from the 90s to the mid 2000s. For one thing it at least is a legitimate sequel unlike Tarzan 2 or the alternative format for a Disney sequel, the three part irrelevant TV show format. However despite being legitimate in terms of chronology it still makes relatively little sense as a sequel. More on that later.

The Lion King 2 is loosely based on Romeo and Juliet, the same way as the Lion King is loosely based on Hamlet, minus the tragic ending on both fronts. Here though what we have is a clash of conflict between Simba's lioness supporters and a rogue group who supported Scar and got banished as a result (and this is where the lack of sense as a sequel comes in). The outsiders were never seen in the last movie and therefore their appearance here comes across as both unexpected and nonsensical. So essentially that's strike one for this movie. Anyway moving one what we have is the main dilemma found in Scar's prodigy, a young cub named Kofu who we never quite understand where his father came from (no other male lions in the original). When Kiera befriends Kofu and the two escape a brush with death, we have the plot set up when evil Zira enters and finds a possible way of getting Kofu to be welcomed into Simba's pride via friendship with his daughter. So far, despite the plot hole of the outsider's we're doing OK so far. However despite Zira's training Kofu for a couple of years to hate and kill Simba the dilemma of Kofu sways far more when he returns to the Pride Lands and saves Kiera from a wildfire that his own allies began to create the situation in the first place. And so we have a developing love story and Simba's conflict over whether to trust the chosen heir of Scar. The film panders out with a conflict between the three, father, daughter and enemy's prodigy until we get the rejection of Kofu after a brawl with the enemy, resulting in a confirmed love and a final, disappointing fight before antagonists dealt with and a rushed ending.

Lion King 2 a Disney sequel at least doesn't look terrible, certainly not as paper thin as the Aladdin Sequels and whilst not as spectacular or well made as the original, stands out visually - with the exception of the fire - believe me it sticks out worse than a badly placed Timon and Pumba gag. The film's music is less suffice and less memorable, but serves to advance plot at least. The characters from the original whilst having little to do for the duration is a shame but then again the new ones can at times be engaging, the new lions, whilst having alliances and intentions that sound more like fan-fiction than anything else show a genuine kind of menace for the duration (it's a amazing what a bit of starvation and exile can do to a lion to make them feel so insane). The movie's weakest moment however lies in its climax, a loose morale of us being them whilst just having so little scope or for that matter tension compared to the fulfilling finale of the original. Maybe its loose source material, bad screenwriting or just being made with a television mentality, debates could be made. And if praising this movie it does at least find a means of killing Andy Dick, even if he is in Lion form, having an annoying antagonist played by him taken out is - nice.

So overall, whilst flawed in many ways, bad screenwriting, the plot comes from nowhere and the visuals aren't as impressive first time round, its an overall satisfying Disney sequel and one of the better ones around. I for one enjoyed this as a kid and growing up further and enjoying it less, in retrospect considering the other direct to video films, this one at least presents an alternative conflict, some menacing and developed characters and was a legitimate sequel to a very hard to follow classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 27 April 2010
By 
A. Cleeve (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A good movie. Must see movie to watch as a sequel The Lion King classic. Must buy movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion King 2 - Simba's Pride  [DVD]
The Lion King 2 - Simba's Pride [DVD] by Darrell Rooney (DVD - 2012)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews