Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introducing Translation Studies
I was recommended to read this book as part of the background reading for an MA course in translation that I've just started. It is most informative on the history of translation. The writing style is easy to understand, despite the complexity of the subject matter. I haven't tried the ITS website revision material yet but if it's anything like the book, it'll be useful,...
Published 23 months ago by quad1234

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars BORING
Loads of boring information. Irrelevant, chaotically presented, when are these types of books going to become more interesting and engaging?
Published 15 months ago by FinnoSwede


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introducing Translation Studies, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was recommended to read this book as part of the background reading for an MA course in translation that I've just started. It is most informative on the history of translation. The writing style is easy to understand, despite the complexity of the subject matter. I haven't tried the ITS website revision material yet but if it's anything like the book, it'll be useful, easy to use and a good way of revising the written material. I already have several books by the same publisher, Routledge, and find their style of presentation excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be scared because of the intro chapter!, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have heard from a lot of fellow students that the first chapter put them off completely with this book! Don't let it scare you, the following chapters are quite easy to read and learn. One of the way to deal with this problem is to skip the introduction completely for the first reading, it makes a lot more sense when one has read the whole of the book first. Munday has the habit of pack jamming a lot of information and what appears as random highlighting of words but once the reader gets used to it, this book is very good and definitely a valuable tool for anybody studying or just interested in translation studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I do like Munday's!, 11 Oct 2013
By 
F. Monaghan "OU Frank" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Translation Studies: Theories and Applications (Kindle Edition)
Jeremy Munday has written a state-of-the-art overview of translation studies that will be essential reading for anyone with an interest in the field.
He covers the development of the subject from its beginnings with Cicero to its current position a a fully-fledged academi field if enquiry, to which his own work as theorist and translator have added considerably.
Each chapter provides an introduction to key developments in the subject with leading theorists given their due so that you can follow the course the topic has taken, particularly over the last fifty years or so. The case studies amplify the theory adding flesh to the bone.
Scholarly, wide-ranging and lucid it's hard to imagine a better introduction to the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars BORING, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loads of boring information. Irrelevant, chaotically presented, when are these types of books going to become more interesting and engaging?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this is book is a great introduction to all translation studies. IS clear, with examples, case studies and online extra support. Recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful book, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a general textbook, perfect for those starting to study translation or anybody with an interest in the subject. It explains the main theories in the field in a clear and easy to understand way. Some things are overlooked or not explained in much detail, but it is overall a good read for those that are looking for a general overview of the main translation theories and need a book that points them to the correct secondary texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have to have!, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one is excellent for people who do not know anything about translation theory. It is also a very good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dryest read ever, 21 Feb 2014
By 
L. Bathurst - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Translation Studies: Theories and Applications (Kindle Edition)
A dull and dry introduction - put me off studying the theory of translation completely. There are many other more accessible, more useful and better written translation books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews