Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HTC One S
Recently upgraded to the HTC One S from an HTC Desire. It was very much a toss up between the HTC One S and the HTC One X but I didn't feel that the One X had enough extra benefits to justify the extra cost. Plus I don't really need quad-core processors as I don't do much gaming on the phone. I also felt that the One X was a bit too large for comfort whereas the One S is...
Published on 20 May 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would get 4 stars is not plagued by homescreen bug
Pros:
Design, weight
Look and feel: nice to hold, perfect size
Snappiness: really fast, no lag
Sense IU 4.1, a nice addition to ICS 4.0.4
32GB internal memory
Very nice screen
Good camera

Cons:
Homescreen bug: ruins the experience (see comment)
Battery life is poor, not replacable
No microSD slot
Signal...
Published on 9 Sep 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic phone!, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC One S Sim Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I love this phone, best one I've ever had and I've had a few. As regarding operating systems I personally prefer this Android phone over my last iPhone 4s as it's more 'open' and versatile, obviously this is just my personal opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a multimedia phone - only 10GB available!, 5 April 2012
This review is from: HTC One S Sim Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Reluctant to go for the new 'HTC One X' because of old Tegra3, poor battery life and its size being a bit too much - 'HTC One S' having none of 'One X' disadvantages I ordered one (s) week ago - not from Amazon though.

Good news is that I successfully refunded mine today as missold :-).

Bad news is 'HTC One S' comes with 9.9GB of usable storage space only! Advertised 16GB of storage is nowhere to be found, not even 14.9GB if I make calculation in GB instead of GiB being the usual 'cheating' by manufacturers. I do acknowledge there is 2GB on top just for appz, but that goes without saying as it is not easily accessible (ext4 partition). HTC One S does not come with any sort of expandable storage either.

I had to heavily cut down my storage requirements when making buying decision as I have used 32GB microSD before. I planned to convert part of my FLAC music library to AAC to go around that with 16GB limitation and waving goodbye to my x264 video collection. And now it's not even 16GB but hey ho 10GB as scientists at HTC can't do math! Once the user partition is formatted all you can use for data is less than 9.9GB - nearly 40% less!

Ask yourself a question what's the point buying a multimedia smart phone if you CAN NOT use it for multimedia. Provided 9.9GB is insufficient by todays standard for anything from pictures/videos/music/podcasts/e-book to maps. In age of 64GB iPhones and 64GB microSD cards available HTC does need a wake-up call.

OTOH if you plan to use 'HTC One S' for phone calls, messages and navigation only, this is a piece of marvel device with black one being ceramic finish unlike silver/grey one. It comes with surprisingly good battery life, very fast 28nm S4 Krait SoC that is better than old quad-core marketing from NVIDIA and with an excellent AMOLED screen - regardless of what Apple fanboys on Engadget or TheVerge say about its Pentile matrix.

For the rest of you - stay away from One S - as you can barely use it for anything else but calls, text messaging and not demanding (space wise) applications. Just using this phone to take photos and record videos will fill its 10GB in no time. Then again, I don't need to spend £400+ to do just that. HTC = Have To Compress?

Hurrraaah to 2012 with 10GB! ..and Dropbox my..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Phone locked to T-Mobile, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC One S Sim Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I ordered the HTC One S after reading all the reviews and making sure from the product description that the "Sim Free" phone will in fact not be locked to any service provider.
But Alas my phone arrived today and it is locked to the T-Mobile network.
It is very disappointing as this is not mentioned in the item description and the product title is highly misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So many annoying issues !, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC One S Sim Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
First of all, the phone is really great, fast and responsive but...

there is a well known issue with connectivity, well known at least among the users because it seems that HTC is systematically denying the issue.
This video explains the nature of the problem very clearly:
[...]

Seems that it occurs when there is low signal.
Summary of the problem:

1. Occurs on EDGE/low signal
2. Solved if in WCDMA mode only

Please note, this makes the phone completely unusable.

Update:

I had this phone for a bit more than 6 months now and sadly I have to report another big issue with it.
The phone just stopped working, it simply would not re-boot properly anymore. I had to perform a hard reset to get it back to normal and obviously this completely erased all my holiday pictures.
A further issue is with the Airplane mode. It simply swtiches on randomly in the morning and prevent the phone from connecting to the network.
It takes a number of attempt in order to get it back to normal.
Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chipping on the Black version and S/N beginning in 23..., 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC One S Sim Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I bought this product through Amazon as a preorder.
First handset worked beatifully but started chipping within a week on the top and bottom areas. I had already purchased a screen protector for it so the rest of the phone was fine.

Phone was replaced by Amazon in a week, and second handset was ok, no chipping, BUT, had a terrible battery and wifi did not work properly. It dropped while using the phone and on idle. Only way to keep it going would be to put the wifi setting on increased power, and that drained the battery even more.

A third phone was sent to me by Amazon and this one is working perfectly, BUT was chipped around the USB port from the box!!!

I have to say, all phones sent by amazon to me, were having S/N going backwards. So in other words, the 1st handset i had was a later S/N and the third one i got was an earlier one in production...

Anyway after discussion with Amazon, they are not able to provide a newer S/N phone and have offered to refund me within 30days if i am not satisfied.
I am now looking around to see if newer S/N phones have been out in other retailers to see if i am going to yet replace this phone again!!!

I used to have an HTC phone (desire-z) and have had no issues with it, however, i must say for a top of the line handset, i would expect HTC to have delivered a better product. 415GBP for having to go through all this, is not worth it.

Amazon has dealt with it very nice on their behalf, and i hoped to have still been able to get a handset through them, if the serial number was right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close but no cigar HTC., 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: HTC One S Sim Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I've been using the HTC one s for a few months now, and I love it!
-The battery life is solid (not good but definitely good enough)and the phone feels premium. Like a cool pebble.
-Aside from that it's nice and snappy, you can really see the difference from the previous generation of android phones.
-A lot of reviewers complain about the screen, I don't see it myself, it's clear and vibrant.
-The camera is passable also.

Now for the bad points
-HTC's software is awful. Way better than it used to be but still slow and frankly ugly (there are some pretty parts like the flip clock but way too many bulbous round buttons and colourful 90's style icons)
-The plastic trim around the screen isn't completely flush with the device, it may seem like i'm picking holes here but it's been a real deal breaker for me. Coming from an iPhone where nothing creaked, the whole device felt solid and delicately engineered, htc is getting closer but they're still not there.
-The sim card/camera lens cover is a little creaky and loose, but this will vary unit to unit.
-The front camera traps so much dust, needs to be cleaned a fair bit and it's difficult without a sharp implement which could scratch the lens cover.
-The aluminium is not quite as durable as they'd like you to think. There is some silver starting to show through where the treatment has worn off, that said it's still mostly the same smooth pebble that arrived, mostly.

Other notes:
I was really having trouble liking this phone until I rooted it and put a different ROM on, most of you won't do this so please try a few other android brands before settling on HTC, choosing software that isn't slow or buggy or ugly or just counter intuitive is so important to how you will eventually see your phone.

This review may seem really negative but if you look at the actual substance of these complaints they really aren't deal breakers. While this may not be anywhere near the best phone on the market, if feel it stands up near the big players (HTC one X+, iPhone 5, Samsung galaxy s3) and with the phone getting so cheap so fast, i'd say it's a good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: HTC One S Sim Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I've had this phone a week now and moving from the iPhone, I have to say I'm glad I did. lightening fast downloading even via mobile web in a bad signal area. extremely clear screen and even with standard HTC headphones - Beats Audio enhances music extremely well. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC One S Sim Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
sim locked. rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Delicate, expensive screen., 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC One S Sim Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Beware, the glass screen is very delicate and unlike the iPhone is very expensive to repair - £150! Otherwise it's a very nice phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swap for iPhone, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After 3 weeks of owning this phone still trying to get used to it, iPhone was so much easier to navigate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews