Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weller continuing to push the boundaries
Massive Weller fan, as I am, I have to give Paul a huge amount of credit for continuing to expand and explore the limits of his compositional ability and sound. This is a raw, uncompromising album and has divided fans and critics alike. It's a challenging but rewarding album if you give it time and effort. If you're expecting a "Wild Wood" or "Stanley Road", however,...
Published on 31 Dec. 2012 by Andy Sweeney

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DONT BUY
thought i was buying a cd but was giving a disc you would expect free from daily mail ,made of cardboard dont buy
its from canada so would cost too much to send back JOKE
Published 1 month ago by gary morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Listen without prejudice..., 24 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
Originally, I was going to write a fairly lengthy list of negative things about 'Sonik kicks'. I was going to say how too many of the songs are distinctly average by Weller's standards, how most of the album is grossly over-produced with fussy and unecessary sonic (sorry, soniK) embellishments...tape loops, backwards guitars, voice distortion, jarring echo noise and random sound effects, and how unfocussed it all feels musically with too much dabbling in different styles veering from manic high-speed stomps through reggae-on-valium to mawkish ballads.

Here's the thing, though -- I quite like this album. All of the above reservations are true to a greater or lesser extent, but d'you know what? I don't care. The songs are delivered with such conviction and enjoyment and contain so many unexpected little twists, surprise codas, clever instrumental diversions and musical tangents that it keeps your interest piqued more or less from start to finish. It's not his greatest work and the song quality is uneven and noticeably improves in the middle section of the album, but the songs are interesting, engaging and never over-stay their welcome. Weller obviously had a blast recording it and I have enjoyed the last four weeks listening to it.

At some point I would love Weller to strip it all down again, just plug in his guitar and record something straightforward and direct, but in the meantime this will do very nicely. Put aside your expectations of what Weller should and shouldn't be doing (the one star reviews bear witness to this attitude) and just enjoy it for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DONT BUY, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAUL WELLER-SONIK KICKS (Audio CD)
thought i was buying a cd but was giving a disc you would expect free from daily mail ,made of cardboard dont buy
its from canada so would cost too much to send back JOKE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a bit different from jam and style coucil. some ..., 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
a bit different from jam and style coucil. some of the songs sound a little off tune. still an icon going on strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF THE 'TRILOGY', 19 Mar. 2012
By 
COLSEE "colsee" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
Hands up, I wasn't expecting this. Followed Weller since day one and I found 22 Dreams very dreary yet still it is held up as one of his best. Liked WAKE UP THE NATION but felt a bit forced at times.
This is a hybrid of both but the best bits and more. Without a doubt one of the best of his career to date.

I read somewhere that he reads his reviews on places like this.
Well if you are reading Paul, well done mate, superb stuff.
One tip for the future , avoid dreary vocals as so many of recent albums have had, this one hasn't.
Meant in the best possible way as you are still my hero !!
Sad for a 50 year old !

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another example of why we love the man, 27 Mar. 2012
By 
John P. Spelling "spelldorado" (victoria, australia.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my copy of this album turned up thismorning in the post.
i've listened to it around about 10 times
& this is really growing on me more & more,
to where i just had to come back to amazon
& see what others think ...
i love Paul's experimental ways.
we have all his 90's albums,
& if you don't wanna move with the man,
well you have all the old stuff to listen to.
Personally i love all his work & am excited
when i read of a new album in the making.
What's Paul gonna do next ??
He has suprised me at times but has never,
NEVER let me down ... i love this album,
& i also don't mind the cover.
Can't wait to watch the dvd.
Thanx Paul for ALL your music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now thats entertainment !, 4 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
Never in a million years when i purchased the "in the city"LP back in 77,would i have expected its songwriter in chief, 35 years on creating such a diverse and edgy album has sonik kicks,Mr Weller i doff my hat,to the knockers would you have preferred the formulaic Phil Collins sorts,sticking to the same old same old,album after album year afer year,till enough is enough and celebrity in the jungle or big brother is the only hope of staving off oblivion,"evolution is the solution".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Guv'nor, 2 April 2012
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
6 or 7 plays and this reveals itself to be up there with the best stuff of the man's entire career. Amongst the experimentation are some fantastic songs with even the short instrumental pieces adding to the overall mood. For me this is as step up even from the last 2 albums, themselves hugely enjoyable. Strangely Weller's vocals sound like they did in his Jam days but in songs that are totally modern. Best listened to as a complete piece rather than isolated tracks as it makes more sense. Fantastic that he still cares enough about music to be making stuff this good after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Doug Futers "obidoug" (Munich, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (MP3 Download)
Having detested Weller since the demise of Jam, I was overwhelmed by Wake up the Nation and this is nearly as good. Not quite as up as WUTN, there are a number of different styles, including songs reminiscent of the Modfather in his earlier solo days which I didn't previously like.

A fine album and I am hoping for more in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
s good as ever always a little different but never a disappointment. Looking forward to seeing Mr Weller play live again in July at Westonbirt Arboretum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonik Kicks, 6 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonik Kicks (Audio CD)
never fails to produce quality! Weller's ability to produce something NEW album after album is a credit to his thinking! The most prolific songwriter of genuinely great work Britain has ever produced!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sonik Kicks
Sonik Kicks by Paul Weller
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews