Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Earth Strikes Back ...
Ian Douglas likes the theme of humanity against a huge galactic empire where the American military by human ingenuity and flexibility overcomes both the aliens and the stupid civilian administration that tries to lead them astray. The civilians are not so over the top stupid this time but that is not to say they are smart.

Center of Gravity starts in the...
Published on 12 Mar 2011 by cybermage.se

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit too much disbelief required
As with the first story the enemy remain largely faceless and unknown though that is changing. It remains focused on the actions of the Carrier America, her Admiral and fighter pilots. As with the first book whilst the combat is engaging and quite well written you still have to suspend a great deal of belief. Fighters seem to spends hours in engagements with greater...
Published 11 months ago by Charles Singleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Earth Strikes Back ..., 12 Mar 2011
By 
cybermage.se (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ian Douglas likes the theme of humanity against a huge galactic empire where the American military by human ingenuity and flexibility overcomes both the aliens and the stupid civilian administration that tries to lead them astray. The civilians are not so over the top stupid this time but that is not to say they are smart.

Center of Gravity starts in the aftermath of Earth Strike and Admiral Alexander Koenig and his crew are officially the heroes that saved the day. The closeness of it all scares the political leadership so much that they want to pull more forces back to defend earth, a posture that would put the center of gravity of the conflict right on top of earth. Admiral Koenig knows a strong defense is futile against an aggressor with overwhelming resources. He has to take the initiative and bring the fight to the Sh'daar. He eventually gets a reduced task force he has to sneak away with fully knowing that an order to stay and bolster earth defenses is only hours away.

As usual in Ian Douglas series the focus is on the military actions with vivid descriptions of combat and what is happening with the people involved including the alien point of view. The humans are a bit bland compared to the aliens' interesting psychology. Ian introduces a few more races and starts to reveal more about the Sh'daar, the mystic race leading the galactic empire and their motivation behind the edict against transcendence technologies that started the war.

The humans all have their struggles beside the obvious military ones Alexander struggles with the death of Karyn Mendelson in the recent destruction of the synchorbital military base Phobia above Mars while Lieutenant Trevor Gray struggles both with prejudices against Prims and his feelings for Angela who he had to enroll for to pay for the treatment that saved her life but also made her another person, a person not in love with him.

Center of Gravity was all in all an enjoyable read but it is on familiar grounds. I hope Ian Douglas deviate more from the formula in forthcoming books. I still want to read the next book No Return when it comes out in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining series, 26 Mar 2011
By 
B. Bello (Stourton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the first book in this series some time ago and frankly was not really impressed. I had decided to not bother to read the second book as it just was not anything special. I had really enjoyed Ian Douglas's original three series and this new series seemed to be a rewrite of the last of those. But I then found myself with nothing to read and ordered book two and am glad I did. The second book builds the story nicely and I think is a better book. It has more and better action sequences with more interesting aliens. I will definitely be buying the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit too much disbelief required, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre of Gravity (Star Carrier, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
As with the first story the enemy remain largely faceless and unknown though that is changing. It remains focused on the actions of the Carrier America, her Admiral and fighter pilots. As with the first book whilst the combat is engaging and quite well written you still have to suspend a great deal of belief. Fighters seem to spends hours in engagements with greater numbers of enemy fighters and capital ships yet lose only 50% yet when capital ships engage each other within moments mutual destruction seems to account for a great deal of the enemy fleet and friendly fleet. The main character regularly criticises the failing of civilian leadership to give him the force ratios he requires, somehow the America Battlegroup still gets through with relatively light loses against opponents if matching or greater technology and greater numbers.

Whilst elements of the tale and well written I found I had to suspend disbelief far too often for this story to be as enjoyable as other space yarns of a similar ilk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dull, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre of Gravity (Star Carrier, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
repeats itself again and again and again god , very tedious read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Centre of the Trilogy, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre of Gravity (Star Carrier, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book does a very good job of not only continuing from the first book but also setting up the next. Still hard to see how just a trilogy is going to be enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A. Space tale. ,romp. with. loads. of. STOMP., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre of Gravity (Star Carrier, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
What. Is. not. to. like, Ian. Douglas. as. a. writer. has. got. the. lot,pace. ,spies. romance, heroes, deep. plot,, astrology, battles, @'''''''''
Peter Halley. Already. recommend. to. our. son. Bryan.

'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SCIENCE FICTION? THEORETICAL SCIENCE FACT!, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre of Gravity (Star Carrier, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
No warp drive, no mythical 'force', just plain hard theoretical physics! All the space travel contained within is well within the current area of accepted theoretical physics. It just makes the story more possible and believable. The characters are well rounded REAL people and Earth's "Back Story" all to believable as a possible future for us. Why not?

The story itself is very enjoyable; earth against 99% of the known galaxy. Of course we'll win..........won't we?

Am reading the fourth book now with the fifth pre-ordered. Can't get enough! Who needs Jedi knights and Klingons on the starboard bow? Not me, no Sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Centre of Gravity, 9 Oct 2013
By 
S. Pentney "The Scribe" (The English Riviera) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre of Gravity (Star Carrier, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another of the line of books continuing the story by Ian Douglas. I find them an excellent read and have read most of them. I can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star carrier, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre of Gravity (Star Carrier, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Great read bring on the next one, not going to win any awards but entertaining none the less. I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Centre of Gravity, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre of Gravity (Star Carrier, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Centre of Gravity by Ian Douglas.
The second book in the saga. It continues in the same way as the first and is in fact a direct follow on. Well written and clean enough in content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews