Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2012
A review of Kathleen Wiseman's `By His Grace.'

What would you do to avoid becoming a Pastor's wife?

Four years ago, Grace Elliot made a huge mistake by breaking up with the man she loved, fled to England, and ignored her family.
When Daniel Morgan told her his desires to become a pastor, she ran away from him and her faith. When Grace learns her father almost died, she drops everything to go California to see him and her family. There, her sisters Amy and Caroline, Aunt Rose, and her father Victor welcome her back - but so much has changed she can hardly believe it. Her once wealthy family is broke and their land and house is now owned by the man she ran away from. She knows her heart still belongs to Daniel Morgan, but he confuses her with his bouts of cool indifference and obvious yearning. When Rose plays matchmaker by introducing her to a rakish lawyer named Jason Highfield, who is coincidentally the brother of a woman with sights on marrying Grace's father and Victor's personal attorney, Grace slowly learns of a conspiracy that could destroy her family and her life - for good.

On the whole, `By His Grace' reads like a Christian-oriented Lifetime movie. Decent, likable characters are threatened by bad ones, a mysterious trust fund fuels suspicion and greed, and an abandoned romance suffers obstacles and heartbreak before the story comes to its satisfying conclusion. While Christianity is definitely in the mix, it's not overbearing and actually enlightens the problems Grace and Daniel deal with during the book.

Ms. Wiseman has crafted a modern day Prodigal Son story with fleshed out characters, realistic events, and poignant moments that will keep you flipping the pages until the end. This is the first book of `The Morgan Brothers Series, with Caroline's Gift (Book Two), That Which Is Secret (Book Three), and A Mustard Seed (Book Four). If you're a Christian, or not, you'll enjoy the sweetness and the message of this book. Four Stars and only .99 cents on Amazon. What...a deal. :-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
What a nice read very nice I have not purchased the other books yet but I will.
Blending scripture with the developing story was great. A nice introduction to Kathleen Wiseman.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Did I enjoy this story and did I want to keep reading? Yes- but I have to say the characters were pretty bland. Having just read 4 Francine Rivers novels both the
Morgan brothers and the Elliot sisters were surreal in being almost too good to be true, there were no signs of any struggles that Christians have with temptation of various kinds. So it was fine for a low priced book, and a nice enough story but not very meaty in it's delivery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
The plot is fairly predictable, though the book feels incomplete. There are issues raised which are not resolved by the end off the book. As befits a Christian romance Biblical quotations begin each chapter. However, better proofreading would not go amiss. Samuel Pepys, the noted English diarist lived from1633-1703. His diaries were written between 1660 and 1669. They were not published in 1951 as the author asserts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Great family stories. The brothers were wonderful to follow.
Such lifestyle and christian imput into the storylineA very enjoyable book and series
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
A book I really enjoyed reading. this was the first time I had seen these christian romance books and I have since reading By His Grace downloaed to my Kindle books 2,3 and 4 in thr series
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
I read the book in 2 days, so must only be a 100 pages. Too short to be good in my opinion. A nice story however, but really needs another 200 pages adding to it to make worth the money, even the 69p which I think is what I paid for it. Also the shortness of the book raised questions like what do the Morgan Bros do? They are rich and religious and that's about it, empty and a bit boring. There are simply loads of characters, with bizarre OT names which cannot be developed in such a short story. I'm not sure I'd recommended it unless people like really short stories.

ps i'm not sure what the 1 star reviewer is talking about, not this book that is for sure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I absolutely loved reading this book. Very clean and kept the romantic story line, which was so good. Want a clean, novel...This is the book for you !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Great book! Can't wait to read the next in the Morgan Brothers series. I have now bought the rest of the books & give the first one 5 stars!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Really enjoyed this book knowing that there will be no violence or too overtly explicit sex,, feel written and believable characters
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.