Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Phantom is Unmasked!
The best voice that has enchanted London's West End and all the major cities in Wales and the UK has created a glorious collection of songs. This lovingly recorded CD will keep on amazing song after song. It is impossible to select a favourite. "All I Ask of You" with Natsha Marsh is the best version of this song you will ever hear. "Down to the Sea" will raise the goose...
Published on 16 April 2012 by Mr. Raymond J. Chilton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I love Johns voice but this album disappointed it was almost as if someone had told him to reign back on the big vocals I felt there was so much there but it was reaching my ears..
Published 14 months ago by Sharpi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly AMAZING!!!, 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
I've just bought this after seeing John on stage twice, once in Les Mis in 2010 and again recently in the Phantom tour - he's just AMAZING both on stage and on a CD.
He brings to life any song with warmth, character & depth that not a lot of today's artists can manage, my only criticism is that there's 2 songs on here which were on his last album - Bring Him Home and The Music of the Night. I wish I could purchase the Phantom CD with him singing, there seems to be several available without him which is annoying seems as he's played the role more than anyone else.
Buy this CD and you will not be dissapointed, it makes me want to clap and cheer after every song & gives me goose bumps - I just love him!!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talent Unmasked, 2 May 2012
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
What better way to celebrate the start of a prestigious tour playing "The Phantom Of The Opera" nationwide (not to mention two concerts of your own), than to release your second solo album?

For a well known musical theatre star, some song choices seem compulsory. Still, this "Music Of The Night," threatens to eclipse the Michael Crawford original. Even braver, following it with "Til I Hear You Sing" from sequel "Love Never Dies" makes the listener wonder at what he would have brought to that role too. The answer may be found in an "All I Ask Of You" that clearly bewitches his Christine, Natasha Marsh.

Still with musical theatre staples, "Being Alive" moves from slightly stretched into a surprisingly effective begging treatment, while "Somewhere" sparkles both vocally and orchestrally, as a young man sets out his vision to moving effect. Often overdone "This Is The Moment" doesn't dwell on that key-change as lesser versions do - even if this reviewer still finds its continued popularity inexplicable. More successful, bonus track "Bring Him Home" refreshes the singer's claim on another leading role.

Demonstrating more imagination, there's a brace of numbers from lesser known shows. First, a highly successful collaboration with Bryn Terfel on "I Don't Remember You / Sometimes A Day Goes By" from revue "As The World Goes Round." A thrilling exploration of love in a surprising duet. Then follows "Down To The Sea" - an interesting introduction to "Kristina," suggesting a musical worth discovering.

Away from the theatrical, other choices on the CD are as unexpected as the small gift after track 14. First is 1947 Eden Ahbez creation "Nature Boy," which feels as dreamlike as any musical theatre piece. A surprisingly relaxed opening number, it's craftily positioned before a macho rendition of "Thunderball." Owen-Jones finds the `story' in this song, while the Welsh Session Orchestra (who accompany him throughout the album) produce a smart "Bond" sound for him.

Later, the Ham / Evans number "Without You" proves that musical theatre doesn't have a monopoly on setting loss to song, but that a musical theatre performer can find an extra dimension. This applies equally to closings tracks "Love Of My Life" and bonus number "Hallelujah." The first bookends perfectly the opening track with another, slightly less laid-back, wishful performance; the second revitalises a much covered song with a contemplative interpretation.

It's sadly rare in musical theatre for those who `take over' a role created by another performer to have their ideas recorded. Rarer still is a musical theatre artist who can bring those skills to other genres. John Owen Jones achieves both here, and his new disc should delight old fans and win new ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Music, 24 April 2012
By 
Julie Thomas "Kindle author" (Cambridge, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
This Cd is simply magical. John Owen-Jones has one of the most beautiful voices I've heard in a very long time and he puts so much emotion and acting into the songs, they tell you a story and touch your heart. Every track is rewarding and some will become favourites, one of the most beautiful and emotional versions of Hallelujah I've ever heard. Another worth the album price on its own is Till I Hear You Sing. If you buy one CD to last for years, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, Great voice!, 16 April 2012
By 
lizzie (north of north) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
Having bought JOJ's second album and loving the selection I was ready for this new album. The vocals and arrangements are lovely, with some highlighting his wonderful voice with just accoustic guitar. The song selection is great because it isn't all from the shows. John's voice is terrific with wonderful tone and tremendous power - and what a range! Be sure to keep listening after the last song for a surprise...with a delightful Welsh accent! I hope, however, that his next album will get away from the West End a bit. With his fantastic voice he could sing so many different types of music brilliantly and I would love to hear more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars john owen jones cd, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
It was a present for my mothers birthday after we saw him in concert and she loved it, very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
Beautiful voice and songs. But I miss some more well-known musical songs.
If you are a fan of Phantom of the Opera or Les Miserables you should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning performance from the other Welsh Jones boy, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
Excellent choice and arrangement of titles, Superb backing orchestra. Stunning vocalist. My introduction to this underrated West End musical performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic voice, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
If you like phantom you will like this, he has a superb voice and it sounds fantastic and is easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unmasked by John Owen-Jones, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
I saw him sing along with Only Men Aloud at their concert.
John made the perfect Phantom and Valjean and his voice
is just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a voice, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasked (Audio CD)
for years my daughter has been a big fan of his,then i saw him in phantom,now im a big fan of his too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unmasked
Unmasked by John Owen-Jones (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews