Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Wonderful!
I was initially attracted to this novel as Edward, the narrator, has Aspergers (like my son). Maybe I'm a sucker for punishment but I like to know how ASD (Autistic Spectrum Disorder) is presented in fiction - sometimes authors hit the nail on the head e.g. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time which was equally enjoyed by my son and I, whilst others really...
Published on 8 Aug. 2012 by Lovely Treez

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 600 Hours of Edward = 6 Hours of My Life that I won’t get back
Edward Stanton is a 39 year old, unmarried man who lives in a house bought for him by his father, living on a credit card paid off by his father. Edward has Asperger Syndrome. 600 Hours of Edward is a story narrated by Edward, showing the ways in which his life changed over a 25 day (600 hour) period.

Whether or not the reader will “get” the book...
Published 13 months ago by MisterHobgoblin


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Wonderful!, 8 Aug. 2012
By 
Lovely Treez (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was initially attracted to this novel as Edward, the narrator, has Aspergers (like my son). Maybe I'm a sucker for punishment but I like to know how ASD (Autistic Spectrum Disorder) is presented in fiction - sometimes authors hit the nail on the head e.g. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time which was equally enjoyed by my son and I, whilst others really miss the mark and one can't help suspecting they're using it in an effort to make their novel quirky, to give it a twist. Edward passed our stringent authenticity test and I think he will endear himself to many, many readers.

Aspergers does not define Edward but it's part of who he is and it explains his love of facts and avoidance of ambiguity. Yes, he can be blunt, lacking diplomacy but it's his OCD which dominates his life. He lives apart from his family and communicates with his father through a solicitor - he'd love to have a better relationship with his father but it takes two to tango. His days are structured around various "data collection" - recording his waking time, the daily weather statistics, compelled to watch old videos of the 50s/60s US police drama, Dragnet, at 10.00pm each evening without fail. He has a vast collection of letters of complaint, letters which he composes to various individuals who have slighted/offended him in some way but which remain unsent, on the advice of his therapist!

However, life is about to change for Edward who, at 39, has led a reclusive existence with very little human contact. His first experience of internet dating is an education. A new neighbour brings new opportunities for interaction. It's not an easy transition but Edward starts to emerge from his cocoon and stamp his personality on the world.

600 Hours of Edward is an excellent debut novel with a narrator whose personality will immediately engage the reader. It made me laugh out loud at times and even sniffle a little but ultimately it left me feeling positive and optimistic. If you enjoyed Heft by Liz Moore I think you will be equally enthralled by 600 Hours of Edward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 600 Hours of Edward, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a wonderful, moving, sometimes funny and often sad, novel about Edward Stanton. Edward is a middle aged man who has obsessive-compulsive disorder and Asperger's syndrome. I was drawn to the novel as my nephew is autistic and my godson has Asperger's, but I was also wary that the author might not have presented the conditions correctly. In fact, the author has written a book which is sympathetic without being patronising and absolutely brilliantly written.

Edward lives alone, after a series of complaining letters led to a lawsuit which caused his politician father embarrassment. Now his father pays for his house and expenses, plus visits to the helpful Dr Buckley every week, but deals with him mainly through his lawyer, while his mother delegates all important decisions concerning her son to others. Apart from a difficult monthly dinner with his parents, and the visits to Dr Buckley, Edward lives a solitary life. Then things begin to change when Donna Middleton and her young son Kyle move across the street. It is impossible not to read this novel and remain unmoved - Edward is a delightful character and, as he deals with situations which would cause many of us distress, anger or difficulty, you applaud his coping mechanisms and ability to rationalise the crazy world we live in. I think this is an important book, as well as being interesting and well written. It is a good story, incredibly well told, and I am glad I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and touching, 4 Sept. 2012
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Edward is approaching forty, he is single and lives alone in Billings, Montana, he has Asperger's syndrome and obsessive compulsive disorder. He likes routine and order, he likes facts and not suppositions. He leads a life regulated by his needs for a schedule, by his weekly visits to Dr Buckley and his nightly 10.00pm viewing of a recording of a Dragnet episode, strictly in the correct order. The appearance of Kyle, a nine year old boy who has moved in across the street starts in motion a series of events that could lead to a dramatic change on Edwards life.

Edward would like two things, a girlfriend and the approval of his father. He tries his own way to solve the former, the latter seems out of his hands. His father, a County Commissioner, communicates with Edward by letter through his attorney; he has only a few memories of happy times with his father. As the opportunities for friendship open up, Edward finds that such things are not plain sailing, but he is making progress.

Covering 600 hours, or twenty five days, this is an engaging and touching novel, well and correctly written (just as well, for Edward is a stickler for correct grammar!), one is quickly drawn into Edwards life and routine, and soon hoping that he will break away from the regulating factors in his life achieve his goals. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, funny, brilliant, 24 Aug. 2012
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
600 Hours of Edward is the touching story of 600 hours (or 25 days) in the life of Edward Stanton. The title isn't a co-incidence; Edward likes to count. he likes order, predictability and routine. Edward eats the same thing for breakfast (cornflakes) and dinner (spaghetti), every day. He paints his garage once a year. This nearly-numbing level of structure serves an important purpose in Edward's life. You see Edward is autistic and has OCD, and his rituals and routines, (along with daily medication and weekly visits to a therapist) help him survive the modern world.

When we first meet Edward at the beginning of the novel, we see that these routines have paved the way to a life style that is trouble free and managed, yet dull and isolated. He has no friends and is has a distant relationship with his parents. However, during the titular 600 hours Edward begins interacting with his new neighbors, a single mother and her young son, and slowly, Edward starts to connect with other people. Not everything goes well, but over the course of the 600 hours, we see a transformation in Edward. His relationship with the mother & son shows signs of developing into a meaningful friendship, and all the while, Edward slowly, on his own terms, starts to particpate in a society in which he was merely a spectator.

The story is well written and well paced, but with just the right amount of emotion it's hard not to cheer for Edward and the remarkable 600-hour journey which he makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Unusual But Very Worthwhile Book, 6 Sept. 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When we first meet 39 year old Edward Stanton he is leading a very well ordered existence, with minimal human interaction. His style of life is strongly influenced by his Asperger's Syndrome and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. As a result what he trusts most are facts and data, and he has a very repetitive existence with numerous rather idiosyncratic rituals. These include visits to the supermarket where he buys the same items at the same time each week, recording his wake up time each day (7.38 being by far the most usual time), and watching an episode from Dragnet, at exactly 10pm each evening, but only the colour episodes made between 1967 and 1970 about which he has almost encyclopaedic knowledge having watched them so often.

However, all this changes when a young neighbour, Kyle, approaches and speaks to him. From then on Edward can choose to risk the uncertainty of dealing with other people, with the rewards or heartaches that this may entail, or reject this new avenue and stick to his routines. However it is clear that he feels that he is missing out on something as he has recently been visiting internet dating sites. None of Edward's issues with dealing with people have been helped by the odd, standoff relationship he has with his parents, in particular his father, who he meets with once a month and who regularly communicates with Edward via his lawyers.

This is a fascinating book, heart warming at times, quite funny at others but also very sad in places. It is certainly outside of my usual comfort zone of reading matter. However, one of the pleasures of the Amazon Vine programme is that you are sometimes jolted out of your usual pattern, much like Edward was in this story really, and discover a really worthwhile book which is how I would categorise 600 Hours. Incidentally the title is an allusion to Edward's preference for accurate details and exactitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Perfection, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Kindle Edition)
Review of '600 Hours of Edward' by Craig Lancaster

My own personal top three books of all time has been pretty stagnant for many years. Now one has to make way for this absolute masterpiece. My guess is that anyone who has read this has already given it a glowing review and there is probably little I can add.

However, it is an exquisite piece of work. Twenty-five days in the life of Edward, an Asperger's Syndrome sufferer...twenty-five days in which he experiences several new 'intrusions' into his orderly life. Twenty-five beautiful chapters, almost identical in length. Twenty-five episodes of Dragnet (each, of course one of his favourites).

And finally of course, six hundred divine minutes that you will devour in one sitting and never want to end...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Alexander Bryce (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Kindle Edition)
Through lack of knowledge , I started with Edward Adrift ( see my 5 star review ) which is the second "Edward" book. It reads well as a stand alone novel, but having now read "600 Hours" a lot of the pieces have fallen into place so if new to Edward I suggest that you start at the beginning with this one.
Craig Lancaster writes of this Aspergers sufferer with a gentle kindness putting the reader into. Edward's shoes and seeing life through Edward's eyes as he copes with functioning with his neighbour Dawn her son Kyle, his parents, his therapist and everyone else he comes into contact with.
This physical giant of a man has a naive almost childlike, literal attitude to life, but there is an underlying high intelligence . His attempt at Internet dating borders on hilarity, but in a nice way. His relationship with his wealthy, high powered father is a definition of sadness.
This is a fine interesting, humorous story which must also help the cause of Aspergers or any other mental illness sufferer. Beneath their outward difficulties they are people like you and I with feelings, ambitions and desire to be part of society.
I would have given 5 stars, but for the explanation of each Dragnet episode. I realise that Edward's addiction to this show is germane to the story, but I think that the detailed retelling of each storyline was unnecessary.
This is however a small criticism of a superpower piece of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm mentally ill. I'm not stupid," in Edward's' words, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Presented in the form of diary "600 Hours of Edward" is an imaginative, appealing, and interesting novel. Our main protagonist and the one making the diligently detailed entries is 39-year-old Edward Stanton, a man who is captive to his condition Asperger Syndrome and obsessive-compulsive disorder. We the readers are privy to 25 days in which Edward's life is dealt several unexpected turns. Edward records them in his diary, and vexes about how to deal with these disruptions to his self-imposed carefully managed life. His method of coping is governed by a cerebral style that will seem unconventional to most readers, but at the end he gets there and he figures out how to acclimatise to his socially changing environment. We see Edward through his own very unique lens on life, and how he then acts, or should I reacts, on what he has learned. As he concisely puts it, "I'm mentally ill. I'm not stupid."...Our author Mr Lancaster has created a wonderful character and placed him in a memorable story. The book contains humour, sorrow, courage, and insight. Following Edward on his journey is wearing, yes, but an eye opener to his perception of his own little ecosystem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 19 Sept. 2012
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
39-year old Edward Stanton has lived alone in the house his father pays for since the `Garth Brooks incident,' eight years earlier. His aspergers and obsessive compulsive behaviours mean that his life is very ordered. He likes facts. Edward usually wakes up at either 8:37, 8:38, 8:39 or 8:40 (8:38 is the most common, although he wouldn't like to predict. He prefers facts.) He records the previous day's weather, eats spaghetti eight times a week and watches his favourite TV show Dragnet, every night at 10pm.

600 hours of Edward equates to 25 days of his life as Donna and her nine-year old son Kyle move in across the road puts his life into chaos as his routines get interrupted and Edward is forced to think about whether he can accept other people in his life. Craig Lancaster injects humour into what could be a sad story with the repetitive nature of the book and the situations Stanton gets himself into, including his foray into internet dating and the letters of complaint he writes (but doesn't mail) every night. I would highly recommend this book as a great insight into ASD and OCD but above all a book about human emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded all expectations, 28 July 2012
By 
S Finnerty "Steve" (Hedge End, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 600 Hours of Edward (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the story of Edward Stanton who is a middle aged adult who happens to have obsessive compulsive disorder and Asperger's Syndrome. As a result he likes facts and predictable routines so despite being clever and funny he has difficulty communicating with people and this has held him back. He relieves some of his frustration by writing letters of complaint but one of these to the well known Country and Western singer Garth Brookes escalates to the point where he faced legal action. As a result his father decides he needs to move out and sets him up in his own place. Through these changes he enters into Internet dating and befriends his neighbor and her son. The book guides us through 600 hours of his life at this turning point in Edward's life. This is a funny and sometimes moving read and is an interesting character driven novel. The author shows an excellent understanding of Asberger's and OCD and how they are interpreted by the character and those around him. I started this book with little expectation but read it very quickly which is always a good sign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

600 Hours of Edward
600 Hours of Edward by Craig Lancaster
£1.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews