Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad I don't write performance reviews at work . . . . .
Gwen Ferris is newly promoted at a major US pharmaceutical company and it's well deserved, she works hard and she needs the extra money. However, her happiness is short-lived, she has to give one of her team a `poor performance' evaluation for his annual review and she is not looking forward to it. Gwen knows that Stephen thinks that he should have got her job and he has...
Published on 21 Oct. 2012 by Emile Zola reader

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars terminated
I really enjoyed this book, it is well written & I will look out for anymore books written by Simon Woods.
Published 11 months ago by D. I. Priestley


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad I don't write performance reviews at work . . . . ., 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Emile Zola reader "Gervaise" (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Terminated (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Gwen Ferris is newly promoted at a major US pharmaceutical company and it's well deserved, she works hard and she needs the extra money. However, her happiness is short-lived, she has to give one of her team a `poor performance' evaluation for his annual review and she is not looking forward to it. Gwen knows that Stephen thinks that he should have got her job and he has never been short of speaking his mind.

From the very first page this is a tale of calculated terror and the action escalated right to the end of the book. I don't want to give any of the plot away so I will just say that the menace that begins on page one continues throughout. I never thought I'd ever want to kill someone but the sheer evil and unrelenting predatory actions unleashed by the malcontent in this book got me thinking.

I really liked the concept of the plot; under certain circumstances I'm now convinced that something so routine as a performance review could be a catalyst for some of the events described here. This book would make a first-rate film and I recommend it to anyone who likes a fast-paced thriller and doesn't mind violence on paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Discovered something new, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
Harry Job - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminated (Kindle Edition)
I started to read this book as it was only 99p and it looked to me a good read for my first kindle book. My first thought was that it could bore me as this is the first book I have read in this genre however I was wrong. The characters are very interesting and relatable, the thing I liked about the characters/plot is that despite making one of the characters abnormal, Simon Wood kept it believable and didn't go overboard with it.

I would recommend this book for anybody from the age of 16; I am 16 but I don't think many people younger than that will enjoy this book as much but if you haven't read a book like this before then this is a great place to start and an absolute steal at 99p!

I can't wait to download Simon's other works and I hope there is more coming soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary and gripping!, 7 May 2013
By 
A. Douglas (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminated (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book grabs you from the first page. Stephen or Steve (just to his friends) is middle aged, experienced and good at his job. It's his people skills that let him down. He has a quick temper, doesn't quite fit in at work and loves to point the finger. Gwen, is younger more dynamic and wants the whole workplace to get on. She implements changes that work. Gwen is promoted to manager and Steve is not. Although this happened a few months ago, his displeasure rears it's ugle head when his review with Gwen sees him needing to improve.

He hates Gwen for having his rightful job. He is the one holding the company together and he is not happy because Gwen got his job just for being female. Obviously this is not the case but Steve wants things to change. He threatens Gwen and scares her into giving (what he believes) is a good review. Steve is a clever man. His dad has never been proud of him and has always looked down on him. Steve wants to turn these tables.

I was gripped all through this book. You want to keep reading because everyone has been in that situation at work where you think your boss isn't treating you like you dererve and you want to do something about it. Most people do not do what Steve does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 6 Sept. 2013
By 
Cathy "Audiobook junkie!" (Ilminster, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminated (Paperback)
Once again Simon Wood takes the reader on an exciting, tense and page turning journey. From terrorisation to murder, a psychopath with a deadly grudge becomes more and more out of control and seemingly unstoppable. Gwen, who unwittingly unleashed the monster inside Tarbell, finds her life going from bad to worse. She is also dealing with the repercussions of a trauma in her youth and as events become more nightmarish she resorts to desperate measures which leads to a thrilling conclusion. Unputdownable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Good Guy to Have Working for You, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Terminated (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I first came across this author recently when I read his first novel, Accidents Waiting to Happen. That was an enjoyable book too, but quite a light read. Terminated is even better and, I would say, has a lot more depth.

Gwen is a supervisor at a pharmaceuticals company. She makes the mistake of giving a poor review about one of her subordinates, Stephen Tarbell. Unfortunately she has chosen the wrong guy as Tarbell proves to be psychotic and vindictive in the extreme. He makes it his mission in life, not just to get his own back, but to totally destroy Gwen's life. This is very well written, tense and absorbing, and the reader is really able to share Gwen's feelings of helplessness and hopelessness. There are also insights into Tarbell's background which, whilst one can never feel sympathy for him, help to explain why he is the way he is.

Gwen is made of stern stuff though and has no intention of rolling over and giving up. Once Tarbell has overstepped the mark once too often, she realises that the only person she can rely on is herself. Once this happens the story races towards an action packed and page turning climax. This is an impressive book which does not lag at any stage and I would recommend it as a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Fiction, 31 Mar. 2013
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Terminated (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like other Simon Wood novels the basis of the plot of `Terminated' is fascinating and intriguing, it sets off at a cracking pace, and it keeps this up throughout to a gripping climax. These are essentials for a good thriller and any implausibility is well within the bounds of fiction. It is always clear who are the baddies and who are the goodies, yet author Simon Wood skilfully employs characters who are not themselves flawless to foster empathy and to build up credibility. The victim is Gwen who is threatened and attacked in her workplace, but happenings spill over into all parts of her life. The story is cleverly told from viewpoints of criminals and those attempting to protect Gwen with tension, twists, turns, and terror abounding until the denouement arrives fairly suddenly - but with all loose ends satisfactorily tied up - what more do thriller fiction readers require?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and scary, 3 April 2013
By 
Keith Lawson (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminated (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Simon Wood is an expert in telling atmospheric, gripping tales of everyman (here everywoman) who gets caught up in dramatic events beyond their ken. Here, Gwen Farris is giving an appraisal review on one of her team - the guy who got passed over for the promotion she got. No one could imagine how this would turn out and the stalking and fear generated wracks up the tension. I wondered how the drama could be stretched to a full book, but SW is an expert at plot twists and turns towards a dramatic ending. How Gwen finds inner strength, but is still an average woman - not a martial arts gym bunny - who has no skills to call on except her own grit and determination. How deviant and twisted the antagonist becomes. The side stories that reveal more of each of their lives. 100% entertaining and 100% scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminated (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic story with well thought plot. Enjoyed it immensely & would definitely recommend to fellow crime buffs. Not for the faint hearted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminated (Kindle Edition)
I continue to enjoy this Authors books and I will continue to read them, easy to read and follow. Feel too many words needed when you are asking for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terminated, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminated (Kindle Edition)
A fast paced thriller which was hard to put down. Quite believable but some points had me thinking 'really?' Surely you wouldn't do that?
Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a good read.
Will look for other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terminated
Terminated by Simon Wood
£1.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews