Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real adventures in one of the most beautiful and most dangerous countries on earth
Having been on one of his trips from Nairobi to Cape Town, one of which one of his stories comes from, I know Mat Dry is an incredible man with an amazing fascination with all things living from beasts, to creepy crawlies - and he'll happily find you one! There was nothing better than being guided by someone this is truly fascinated and in love with what they do, but also...
Published on 16 July 2012 by GreenFair

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars average read
I thought the book became a little predictable as it went on, have read better books on S Africa & Tanzania
Published 13 months ago by Terry A Oates


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real adventures in one of the most beautiful and most dangerous countries on earth, 16 July 2012
Having been on one of his trips from Nairobi to Cape Town, one of which one of his stories comes from, I know Mat Dry is an incredible man with an amazing fascination with all things living from beasts, to creepy crawlies - and he'll happily find you one! There was nothing better than being guided by someone this is truly fascinated and in love with what they do, but also great with people. And this has gone with him into his book. He laughs as himself about his almost obsessions and it is these that occasionally get him into trouble - but in his eyes it will always have been worth it.
The stories in this book are real, just imagine if your life was like that! Real adventures in one of the most beautiful and most dangerous countries on earth and Mat is part of it every day.
A truly wonderful man, with an amazing life in an incredible country, who now has a book to capture it all.
It's a great read about real stories in Africa.
JF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THIS is Africa (Kindle Edition)
Fab book...makes you feel like your there with the author.Anyone who loves wildlife must read! We must protect the wildlife for future generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THIS is Africa (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this book down. Every chapter telling a different and fascinating story of adventures that Mat had as a safari guide. Very easy to read being interesting, funny and at times sad. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection of stories, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author is a great story teller, it is very easy to get completely taken away by all the different characters (both human and wildlife) that are encountered. With a keen eye for the weird and absurd it is very clear that the author really loves the continent and all its inhabitants, which shines through all the stories.

A must-read for anyone who has or will travel through Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well-written, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THIS is Africa (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating tales from the bush, nicely recounted. I enjoyed the anecdotes, which were portrayed drily and humourously. A good, light read, but well-written and packed with information and interesting facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, 29 April 2012
Got this book through my American friend as wasn't available on the UK Amazon website when published and it was definitely worth the hassle. Read from the book from the front to back in one go as it is a real page turner. Felt teleported to Africa while laughing and crying through the read. Mat educates you about Africa, animals, nature and his passion in more ways than expected. Warning - once you read this book, you will be booking an experience of a lifetime with TIA Safaris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, hilarious and heart wrenching, 1 April 2012
This review is from: THIS is Africa (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Fascinating, hilarious and heart wrenching. It gives you a real flavour of the wonders of safari in Africa and why Africa is so special. Because it is written by a safari guide himself, it also makes it an authentic, thought provoking, and inspiring read. If you are thinking of going on safari in Africa, do read this first, as it will be the perfect preview to the exhilarating experience that lies ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Africa Calling, 21 Mar 2012
This review is from: THIS is Africa (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read, I've been on a tour with Mat & this book takes me right back there, his enthusiasm & love for the African bush/life comes through in every story. If you like animal/travel stories, you'll enjoy this. Just wish it was longer - look forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Africa by Mat Dry, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THIS is Africa (Kindle Edition)
I loved every minute of this book , it made me giggle and it made me cry . it was so well written I felt I was there . I wish I was there and could have met George
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Africa, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THIS is Africa (Kindle Edition)
This was a fabulous book. I would really recommend it .I could not put this book down and read it right through in one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THIS is Africa
THIS is Africa by Mat Dry
4.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews