Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life as it should be
Simon Yates has come a long way since his adventure with Joe Simpson recounted in the latter's 'Touching the Void'. The legend started there and the docu-film added to the mystery surrounding the duo. Simpson went on to write his life in several very good books, but Simon Yates had limited himself to three. This one shows a sea change in his life and his priorities with a...
Published 9 months ago by Paul Comerford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'Against the Wall'
I like Simon Yates writing style and found the stories mildly interesting but they lacked any real focus compared to 'Against the Wall' as there is no clear objective here, just an account of various climbing expeditions/speaking tours. Pleasant enough but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to read about exciting climbing adventures.
Published 6 months ago by A. Linton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life as it should be, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Within (Hardcover)
Simon Yates has come a long way since his adventure with Joe Simpson recounted in the latter's 'Touching the Void'. The legend started there and the docu-film added to the mystery surrounding the duo. Simpson went on to write his life in several very good books, but Simon Yates had limited himself to three. This one shows a sea change in his life and his priorities with a family to support and the higher mountains slipping from the radar.

However, 'The Wild Within' is the perfect tale of his last decade. Yates's response to his new circumstances has not been to shuffle off to an office to fade into the beige of tedious normality, but, with the support of a good partner, has made a living doing what he loves and has involved his children, where possible to join him. Instead of tutting under the brow of a wise old grandfather, I understood absolutely that he is giving his children the best start possible. He is doing something the rest of us could take notice of - expanding his youngsters' mind by allowing them to see the world, the wild world and this book is a joy to read. He manages to mix high adventure, family life, candid takes on the lecture circuit and the difficulty of making a permanent home in the village he loves.

He paints a wonderful picture of the remote Tierra del Fuego and his love of that part of the world. He shows how natural it is to place the world in front of one's children and allow them to enjoy what is there. After one long climb he staggers back to the yacht so necessary to travel near Cape Horn to be greeted with, "Hello stinky bum" - children keep your feet on the ground.

I admit to being a Simon Yates fan. I climbed with him in Scotland for one memorable week and he signed his first book, 'Against the Wall', for me. I recently attended his lecture to go with this new book and he remembered me after 15 years. He's not changed at all. He is quiet, honest, and has a very dry sense of humour. His book expands on his lecture and I would encourage anyone to see him if possible. He is my sort of chap.

This book has enough for mountaineers, travellers, treckers and adventure tale readers. The pictures are beautiful and he gives great value to his friends and climbing companions. I have no problem recommending this book - it is a lovely read from a lovely chap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great read, 31 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Wild Within (Hardcover)
Remember this past decade? The ever accelerating development of electronic mass communication... foot and mouth... wars in the middle and far East? None of us can forget the incredible greedy and self-serving folk who've left our entire world in searing debt and financial difficulty. Its not just the West that's felt its impact.

I doubt I'll ever climb a mountain or see the wilderness surrounding it in the exotic places Simon encounters. I've known pristine snow in a wild place, crystalline and finger-freezing with beauty beyond description. We all witnessed it last year with our own heavy blanket of UK snow... those few moments where no footfall has left its mark and it's been full of wonder, before practicality stepped in! Most of us decided that moment was enough and we'd like to get back to 'normal'. Simon, well he's just passionate about these wild untouched places. He has the poet's ability to describe such scenes.

The third book describes 'his' decade, and its such a good read. Its definitely about climbing, but also details the real and complete man including life at home in the UK - and worldwide - with his young family; the logistics of his lecture tours, adventure trips when guiding groups, and of course his own climbing challenges - all of this done in between writing books!

There is great camaradarie in Simon's world and it shines through, whether it's meeting new acquaintances, negotiating with enablers [boats, planes etc], or with old friends. I guess practical people who are often faced by danger really know how to get on and get things done without procrastinating! They also know how to relax and enjoy life too.

Simon goes to wild places full of danger, changeable weather conditions, with personal and physical challenge, and he loves it. I've read Simon's other two books and, as enjoyable as they were, this book reveals the complete man. Its so refreshing to find someone with such honesty, integrity, and personal responsibility writing about the past decade of his life and work.

This is a book about climbing, but its also very much about a life lived in all of its aspects... work, skill, family, relaxation and challenge. It has an ending worthy of "Raiders of the Lost Ark!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Wild Within (Hardcover)
I have read both of Simon's other books and this one, is the best BY far! It is an excellent mixture of climbing adventures in obscure places,family life, and wry observations of our increasingly complex communications driven world. The book's strength lies in the way Simon manages to marry these all up. One minute you feel ensconsed in a snowy vast and beautiful wilderness, and then you have an anecdote about satellite phones and boilers breaking down! Very human, very warm and very funny, and well observed.
Even if you have never stepped foot upon a mountainside, you will love this book; and chuckle at Simon's observations of life in our instant communication driven world. The contrast of wilderness,and personal shines through. He has captured the balance of becoming a parent,and at the same time remaining true to himself, and family with sincerity. His quest for both discovery and zest for life, sustains this book and shines through. I found it an uplifting and invigorating read, mixed with some fine benchmarks for us to hang on to in this increasingly complex world.
Why no voting buttons? We don't let customers vote on their own reviews, so the voting buttons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'Against the Wall', 20 Feb 2014
By 
A. Linton (Manchester, Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Within (Kindle Edition)
I like Simon Yates writing style and found the stories mildly interesting but they lacked any real focus compared to 'Against the Wall' as there is no clear objective here, just an account of various climbing expeditions/speaking tours. Pleasant enough but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to read about exciting climbing adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Within (Kindle Edition)
Keeps you engrossed,, shhows enterprising nature of Nepalese Sherpas nature to spread skills where ever difficulty columns exist there you will find the best Sheerpas their boss's and team

Who is the better climber, trail breaker, safety rope set
term,, load climber. Who carriend resTHE NEPAlESE SHERPA

SECOND IN KINE FOR POWER STRENGTH AND COURAGE IN BATTLE. IS THE GURKA.

Please worthy of mention are the. Pakistani, Indian and Chinese Cookies, all carry the least, moan the most and deserve least mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The wild within, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Within (Kindle Edition)
As I have read most of the mountaineering books out there this one rates quite well, and flows OK. It takes in other adventures mostly getting to the climbing location by boat or otherwise.
Would recommend to the armchair mountaineer like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok - but not brilliant, 19 July 2012
By 
Colin Winship (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Within (Hardcover)
Having read, and thoroughly enjoyed, Simon Yates previous 2 books I had similar expectations with this book - unfortunately it did not happen. The books lacks any of the excitement or suspense that were evident in "Against the Wall" and "Flame of Adventure" and the result is a very ordinary book detailing trips to some of the lesser known peaks in Tierra del Fuego the Canadian Rockies and Greenland. The climbing done forms a small part of the book and perhaps that is why I finished it with a sense of disappointment not enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but no White Spider, 16 April 2012
This review is from: The Wild Within (Hardcover)
I am a fair armchair climber and have amassed a collection of mountaineering literature in my time including Simon's two other books. He can tell a story but I was left a bit short changed with this book. He describes his climbs in an almost matter of fact way and I was left with a sense of anticlimax. I presume this is due to his modest nature but I'm sure there was a lot more to hear. He undoubtedly is an accomplished climber with a wealth of experience under his belt and I wish I could know more hence 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wild Within
The Wild Within by Simon Yates
8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews