Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Doomy Magnificence
Paradise Lost have recorded some great tunes and some great albums both before and after Draconian Times. Indeed, the last three CDs have seen them steadily crank up the grandeur and intensity of their music, and while they have been generally considered to be the godfathers of contemporary British doom, their doom has always had an edge to it, a bite in the songs, a...
Published on 23 April 2012 by M. Cobley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars deja vu
really enjoyed the last two outings, this is good, however,they tend to repeat themselves in their riffs. easily done wth dirges and doom tempos. they have a great production sound which does augment their epic approach. more harmony is needed to improve tonality and further beautify their sound.
Published on 27 Aug. 2012 by toshy boy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tragic Idol (Audio CD)
This is the Paradise Lost I used to love. This is mournful and melodic and not a duff track on here. Theories from Another World is simply a magnificent piece of music that gives you goosebumps. The whole album is full of beautiful riffing and solos to make you weep! The vocals really sit well with the music - these guys have really hit their sweet spot with this album. I admit I drifted away from PL after Draconian but this had me back in their fold big style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fantastic., 9 July 2012
This review is from: Tragic Idol (Audio CD)
I've been on the Paradise Lost ride since 1994 and it's been a wonderful, varied journey.

Tragic Idol is most similar to Faith Divides Us... where several comparisons can be made. Both albums contain ten songs, played on 7-stringed guitars and a 5-stringed bass, creating nearly 50 minutes of crushing heavy, classy, dark and melodic songs. This is moreso the case on Tragic Idol.

Many highlights abound; the chorus on first song 'Solitary One' is mesmerising, 'In This We Dwell' contains a minor lead which reminds me of the atmosphere of 1993's Icon, the hopelessness presented by 'Honesty In Death' almost hurts, the deviation (or bridge) in 'To The Darkness, as well as the lead at the beginning reminds you you're listening to a band very sure of themselves, it's pure PL heaven, and the Draconian Times-like chording on the title-song demonstrates the great variation throughout Tragic Idol.

The songwriting is excellent. Gregor Mackintosh has one of the best musical minds in metal. At a time when too many bands are trying to be complex it's refreshing to hear PL (particularly with this album and the last one) producing powerful, dare I say, catchy tunes in such a low key. Some progressive tendencies can be found; the meandering bass section after the first chorus in 'Fear of Impending Hell' and conclusion to 'Theories Another World'. Not overtly so, however.

The vocals by Nick Holmes are are unique. Generally, an aggressive, deep yell is used and some One Second-like clean singing appears on 'Worth Fighting For' and 'Tragic Idol'. His performance is first class.

I also very much like the artwork. It was unexpected, but the front displays very well the title.

Tragic Idol is a triumph. It possesses a purity seldom found in metal music today. It's gothic, doom metal with PL's signature melancholy, presented in a way so listenable as only this band can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best album since Draconian ?, 29 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tragic Idol (Audio CD)
A great return to form for PL, hot on the heels of the excellent Faith Divides Us...

Tragic Idol is a consistent, throbbing goth metal triumph which won't fail to please existing PL fans but may leave new listeners a bit cold, hence the 4*

Buy it; you can't go far wrong !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killer job, 23 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tragic Idol (Audio CD)
Tragic idol - album of the year !!! Paradise lost did great job !!! On of my favorite band. And of course limited edition is MASTERPIECE !!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How do they do it???, 19 May 2012
By 
Mr. S. Hill "Mordred" (Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tragic Idol (Audio CD)
These boys have been around for over 20 years now - and even better than that - they're British!!

20 years certainly hasn't dampened the quality of their music - and this is evident in this latest release. From the first chord and piano stabs of the opening track - you just know this record is going to br dark, opressive and intense - exactly what we have come to expect from these boys - and it's GREAT!! This record echoes Paradise Lost's doomy/goth metal past - but at the same time feels fresh and the production is superb (thanks again to Jens Bogren!)

Whilst this album is very heavy and doomy - it still has the trade mark Paradise Lost melodies - and melancholic lyrics that can bring a tear to the eye in a way no other band can. The contrast of "gruff" and "clean" vocals again is used to excellent effect on this album - and dare I say - in my opinion this could well be vocalist Nick Holmes' BEST recording performance to date - raw, powerful, angry and faultless!

There are NO fillers or weak tracks on this album - and it flows very well. Standout tracks for me are "Fear of Impending Hell", "Tragic Idol" and "The Glorious End" - the latter of which is just sheer Paradise Lost perfection - a Melancholic Anthem with jaw dropping lead work and lyrics about "dying" that leave you in an emotional heap at the end....

This album easily gets 5 stars from me - and if you like classic british doom metal or any kind of heavy metal - you MUST add this album to your collection - as it's sure to go down in history as a classic! * * * * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To the darkness, 11 July 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tragic Idol (Audio CD)
Paradise Lost have changed quite dramatically along the path of their career. From death/doom to almost stadium metal, through the electronic, guitar-lite sojourn of Host and then on to an almost industrial metal sound that slowly grew into a good, old-fashioned, crushingly heavy type of just good old, decent heavy metal. Of late they are not revisiting their old material but have become a very assured outfit that deliver the goods on almost every ocassion, as long as you are not expecting anything particularly groundbreaking. Faith Divides Us... was their heaviest statement of intent so far and was an almost perfect album in tone and consistency of sound and structure, as well as containing one of their very best tracks, being the title track. Tragic Idol is closest in tone to its predecessor but unfortunately pales in the former's shadow. It is not a bad collection, just a little 'ordinary' for want of a better description.

It, however does start very well and most of the first half is great, 'Solitary One' strating it all off in true goth-metal excellence. 'Crucify', while being very heavy and riff-happy, is still only a pleasing noise wrapped around an average song. The best tracks are 'Fear of Impending Hell' and 'Theories from Another World'. Both are similarly pacey, chunky, powerful and catchy. 'Honesty in Death' is as 'Crucify': ok but not a winner.

The majority of the last 5 tracks are all very middling. 'In This We Dwell' again has some very crushing guitar work but does not have the song to back it up, which is a shame as this album is HEAVY. Even the title track is just ok. The last 2 tracks are little more than dirges that never end up anywhere particularly interesting.

While not an unpleasant listening experience at all this is not one of their albums I would revisit in the future, which is a shame as most of their releases from Gothic through to Faith Divides... have all been consistently excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, but not great like Faith Divides Us..., 12 May 2012
This review is from: Tragic Idol (Audio CD)
There are Paradise Lost fans I consider their opinion, and then there are Paradise Lost fans who I really don't take seriously, ie, the ones who don't like Lost Paradise but think One Second and Host are amazing... I've found that the most narrow minded Paradise Lost fans are actually the ones who don't like Lost Paradise, their opinions on a PL album is based on how commercial the album sounds, or how 'cool' it is (in reading an amazon review for Lost Paradise, the girl gave the CD one star and said -- "It's just not cool guys"), whereas those who like all PL albums, from the Frozen Illusion demo onward, there opinion is broadly based on quality, riffs and song writing, thus those are the opinions I take into consideration...
So when there was all the excitement of 'Omg, the new PL is the best!' I knew I'd have to wait until I heard it myself before I got excited... or at least wait for the opinion of a proper PL fan. So...

With the fact that "In Requiem" was easily their best since "Draconian Times", and arguably their best since "Icon", as well as the fact that "Faith Divides Us - Death Unites Us" was / is my personal favourite PL album since "Gothic", as well as being one of my favourite albums', by any band, of all time, "Tragic Idol" was extremely anticipated by yours truly, but did it live up to expectations though?

Well...

The first song came on and I was scared. It was beautiful. Their doomiest song, since what, "Rotting Misery"!? Bliss! I thought to myself: Dear Lord! This could be their best effort since "Gothic". All it needs to do is better "Faith Divides Us" and this is going to be a masterpiece... The opening track is excellent, and set us on the way to another complete PL album... But even though (most) of the other tracks are really good, not too many live up to the standards of the opening track, or the tracks from the last album. The only song on the last album that I didn't think deserve six starts out of five was the title track, which was somewhat mediocre, but with so many other great songs, it was ok. This time around though, I feel the standard has dropped a little and only a few actually blew me away ie. "Solitary One" & "Theories From Another World". The rest were either pretty cool or in the case of the title track and "Worth Fighting For", two filler tracks that truly sound like b-sides.
Maybe I'm being a little harsh on the title track, but then again, maybe not. But "Worth Fighting For", god lord, is a song I hope they never play live, especially when they're so insistant on pretending they were never a death/doom band, and the first two albums really didn't exist, much to the delight of all their feminine fanbase.

Overall...

What Paradise Lost have done here with the follow up to "Faith Divides Us", is what they did with the follow up to "Icon". They did something, somewhat similar to the previous album, but dropped the intensity, and replaced the doomier riffs with more melodic lead lines. Where "Icon" and "Faith Divides Us" were heavy doom monsters, with depressive riffs and gothic melodies, "Draconian Times" and "Tragic Idol" are a lot more 'catchy' in a poppier way and less riff heavy, with more of a focus on melody. For some, that's great, for me, not so much as I'm more interested in their heavier/emotional side. But on the whole, both are great albums, but this is certainly not as good as "Faith Divides Us", and had it not been for "Solitary One" and "Theories From Another World", I'd probably have said "In Requiem" was better too.

In addition, the two bonus tracks (one original and one cover) are really not worth the time. Rather futile, although I do admit, I don't even remember what the b-side/bonus original track sounds like, whereas the bonus track on "Faith Divides Us" not only stuck with me straight away, and til this day, but it's one of the best songs on a damn near perfect album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tragic Idol (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tragic Idol (Audio CD)
Great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tragic Idol
Tragic Idol by Paradise Lost (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews