Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Introduction to Brush Works
Aquarelle Maxi Cities is a kit of three pictures, each depicting a City from around the world - London, Paris and New York. The scene from each picture includes the name of the city and landmarks or icons/flags from the city in question. The detail in the pictures is outlined in fine white wax which acts as a slight barrier to the traditional "Paint by Numbers" sets...
Published on 26 April 2012 by Wobette

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not such a great splash
I read rave reviews about how easy this product is and was hoping it would encourage the children I work with to paint.It seemed like it was a foolproof way of painting , that anyone could do.
The set itself is sturdy enough with 3 watrcoloured card with a pre filled design, embossed on and of a reasonable size. It contains 4 inks of blue, yellow, pink and red , a...
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by pepemia


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Introduction to Brush Works, 26 April 2012
By 
Wobette (The Wild West) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Aquarelle Maxi Cities is a kit of three pictures, each depicting a City from around the world - London, Paris and New York. The scene from each picture includes the name of the city and landmarks or icons/flags from the city in question. The detail in the pictures is outlined in fine white wax which acts as a slight barrier to the traditional "Paint by Numbers" sets.

The paints themselves come in small squeeze bottles and there is a clear mix chart which gives you a lot options. They mix cleanly and wipe away from the mixing tray quickly.

The big educational value for this painting set is helping children to understand brush works painting in a single direction and how to build layers of colour. This is great introduction the basics of watercolour with some fun colourful designs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of recreational fun for non artists, and the results always look quite good, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As you can see from the photos, there's not that much in the beautifully presented Ravensburger 27 x 36 x 5 cm Aquarelle Maxi box. This World Cities set contains three 30x24cm canvas boards (London, New York & Paris), a double ended paintbrush with two strengths of bristles, the liquid ink (paint), a pallette and a water mixing pipette. As well as this Aquarelle World Cities Maxi set, there are other Aquarelle painting sets in this series, eg: Maxi Beach Paradise, Midi Safari, Midi Dolphins, Midi Horses, Midi Fairies, Mini Kitten, and Mini Roses, all for ages 8+. Aquarelle Maxi 30x24cm board sets and Midi 18x24cm board sets have three paint boards in the box, whereas the mini sets only have one small 12x8cm board.

The three watercolour canvas's are pre-printed with a thin white wax outline, acting as a guide for the picture, preventing the colours from running. Like any wax/paint painting, the wax becomes a white outline, adding detail to your painting. You can follow the colour guide or mix the watercolour inks to any colour you want. There's no numbers on the board as the ink has a see through quality, and the wax outlines mean that the results always look good even if you overlap the edges unlike painting by numbers and their far thicker oil paints - so youngsters and those with more limited hand control still get something good to take home. Although the box says ages 8+, it also states children will need adult supervision, probably as the water colours require mixing and they are so runny. The painting techniques using water colours aren't quite the same as with thicker paints and you might want a bit of practice before you get started. You also need a bit of patience to let things dry before continuing in that area. There's on-line YouTube videos to show you how to use the sets, and the colour guide (completed pictures) are best viewed at Ravensburger on-line rather than using the small images on the box. We found it useful buying a few extra paintbrushes.

My 17 year old daughter loves sewing and crafts, and she went for this World Cities set and enjoyed painting the boards, probably as a way to chill out during her A levels and remind her of happy Primary School days. My son is more into creating real art, and is doing GCSE Art. He sticks to a blank canvas, a pencil and his sets of acrylic paints, so this Aquarelle set didn't interest him that much. One thing against these Aquarelle sets is that the themes aren't that boy friendly. We didn't find the price too high for a few hours relaxing entertainment, and it certainly was less messy and smelly that the old painting by numbers oil sets or traditional large pots of poster paint (although the Aquarelle water colour paints are quite drippy). My 75 year old father-in-law also quite enjoyed painting one of these Aquarelle sets, although he would have preferred one with steam trains. So we rated the set 4* for those young at heart who don't normally paint, and reasonable value at a fiver per canvas, £15 the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not such a great splash, 18 Jun 2012
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read rave reviews about how easy this product is and was hoping it would encourage the children I work with to paint.It seemed like it was a foolproof way of painting , that anyone could do.
The set itself is sturdy enough with 3 watrcoloured card with a pre filled design, embossed on and of a reasonable size. It contains 4 inks of blue, yellow, pink and red , a pipette for water and a mixing tray- and a chart of how to mix the colours.
Initally this seemed great and as the card is ebossed in such a way that even if you paint ove it , the lines stay clear.I meet so many children who say they cant draw or paint I thought this would be ideal.

One of problem lies in that it is watercolour and most kids are used to block paints at school- watercolours require an almost oppoiste technique, where you apply more colour and lessen instead of little colour and build up.
However the biggest problem is there is no clear coloured page of the finished imagine for the kids to copy the colours from. And worse no explination of how to use watercolous or how to paint with them.
We chosse the new york one to start with , but the image on the box was blocked out and the kid I was working ith got frustrated at not knowing what to do and having to image to copy.
The other problem is you have to let the paint dry in ertain areas for instance when you are painting a section yellow- like thebridge and it merges into the bluu buildings. Although wtercolours dry rapidily because the are water based they also undry rapidily- ie when you go to put another water based area near them. This meant frequently the colours ran often- and we keeped ending up with greeen lights on the bridge !

Also the children got frustrated- as well as fascinated at mixing the colours. And it took a lot longer to mix colours up due to them being so condenscened and having to mix with water. There was lots of paint- but only one reversible brush.

Personally I think this is a great idea- but needs clear instructions, tips and a picture to copy from.
Also it is not exactly ideal for children , as watercolours are a hard and frustrating medium for children to understand. Personally the kids opinion and mine was noraml painting was easier and more fun. Maybe a better set for adults ( i used it with a 13 year old ) or those with a basic knowledge of watercolours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but .., 21 Mar 2013
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Good way to get to see if you're any good at water colouring technique. You can concentrate on brush and colouring method with the templates before advancing to more ambitious work. I think tho the number of templates is a bit on the stingy side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hours of fun, 5 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. Gail Brewster (Doncaster UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities kit comes with three pre-printed canvas boards with pictures of London, New York and Paris. (They look like paint by numbers but without the numbers) A double ended brush, one hard bristle the other softer bristle, a small palette, a pipette and four water colours in small squeeze bottles - The paint is very thin and ink-like and goes on the canvas really well. It mixes well to make a whole range of shades to get the desired result. A comprehensive instruction booklet is included which gives ideas on how to mix different shades and colours.

The design on the canvas is created using colour repellent white wax lines, which stay visible even when painted over therefore retaining the detail of the picture even if you go over the lines and these special lines really do help achieve an impressive finish, although I wouldn't say they avoid colour blending 100% because I found on a few of the smaller more detailed areas the paint started to blend but if you let the paint thoroughly dry in these areas first or give it a quick blast with a hair dryer then it's not so much of a problem.

The kits are educational as they help children to learn about colours and how colours can be mixed and changed into different colours. they also help with dexterity and hand eye coordination. The Aquarelle kits are aimed at children aged 8-13 but adults can enjoy them just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for budding artists, 22 Jun 2012
By 
Fiona Millar "cookiemum" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My kids loved doing these watercolour paintings, they felt very proud of the results they achieved. The colours provided are supplemented by the information leaflet giving tips for mixing paints to get other colours, along with some great educational info on different kinds of watercolour techniques. The pre-printed picture helps to give them the confidence to know their painting will look good, and they learned lots while using it. Would definitely buy more in the range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Child with an Autistic Spectrum disorder delivers a masterpiece!, 22 May 2012
By 
Karen Baxter (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I chose this for our foster son (age 14) who has been diagnosed with an autistic spectrum disorder, he shows a great interest in art but becomes easily discouraged when things go wrong.

The Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities painting kit is an innovation in painting on canvas. It comes with three canvasses each pre-printed with a thin white wax outline which prevents the paint from running into other areas, a double ended paintbrush, liquid watercolour ink in various colours, a palette and a pipette.

It also comes with full instructions and you can either mix the inks using the colour chart provided or if you feel adventurous mix your own colours.

As soon as the kit arrived our foster child could not wait to get started, he managed to complete the first picture (Paris) in just one night following the colour chart, it looked really professional and he was very pleased. The next night he started the New York canvas and again (this time over three nights) produced another professional looking painting. Finally he completed the London picture, this one he took exceptional care and mixed his own colours without following a chart.

He spent almost a week on this one and when he presented this one to me (he wouldn't let me see it until it was finished) I was absolutely thrilled, although I live in Wales, I originally come from London and my foster son had produced a masterpiece, the colour scheme is superb.

Educationally this painting kit has taught our boy the patience in seeing something through to completion, imagination in colour mixing and confidence in his own ability.

So to sum up ... an excellent and imaginative tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 April 2013
By 
T. Hatchman "tina-Niko-Hatchman" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
I have a number of the Aquarella products. My daughter and myself both love art. This is a fantastic way to get the kids started. I cant fault this set if you want to have a go at water colours. Its so much fun. Maybe one day your budding picasa with thank you for it.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For budding young artists, 27 Sep 2012
By 
Chocolate Drop (wolves, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You get two pre-printed boards, a set of paints, a mixing palette and brush.
The boards are great, the idea is that the outline of the picture is printed in a sort of waxy substance which is paint-resistant, so minor slips with the brush don't ruin the picture, and this is very effective.
What I particularly liked was the excellent instruction book, from which my daughter was able to follow step-by-step instructions in colour-blending techniques, colour gradation, and also warercolour painting techniques.
The artist is able to blend colours to create something completely unique as opposed to with old-fashioned 'paint-by-numbers' kits.
Great set for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent confidence builder for children, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Jason Gaston "Jay & Jenny" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As my title depicts this product is an excellent way for children to build there confidence when it comes to artwork and use of color etc it also gives them some insight into how certain colors are made using 2 or 3 different colours. The kit itself consist of 3 boards each with a picture (in this case) of a famous city complete with flag, iconic images/landmarks and name of city (again quite educational) the paints at first glance do not seem to be adequate to recreate the images on the front of the box it is only when you reference the included colour chart that it soon becomes apparent you have all the colours you need so long as you mix them corectly.

Overall I think this is a very good product, well thought out, well put together and having to mix the colours yourself really does keep a child a little more interested and gives them a better sense of achievment as no everything is done for them. On and educational level it is a way of learning without even realising it due to fact that a child is concentrating on what they are doing rather than consciously being aware of what they are taking in.

Good product, good results and my kids had a real boost of confidence and sense of achievment with there creations. 100% recomneded and definately something I will purchase in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ravensburger Aquarelle Maxi World Cities
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews