Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rising stars!
Bob Harris got this young trio onto my radar a week or two back. This is American country music but popularised to the max. It is a very enjoyable offering indeed. All of the songs on the album appealed pretty much straight away. The young lady's vocals are simply stunning throughout. The songs are fine but none are truly remarkable and the same holds true for the band -...
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by Dr D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad listen
If you like the Dixie Chicks and Lady Antebellum then this may be worth a listen as a new Country band! The album is very pleasant although not quite in the same league as the aforementioned or probably many others but as I said youthful new country group it is ok!
Published 15 months ago by Sarcy77


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rising stars!, 19 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Band Perry (Audio CD)
Bob Harris got this young trio onto my radar a week or two back. This is American country music but popularised to the max. It is a very enjoyable offering indeed. All of the songs on the album appealed pretty much straight away. The young lady's vocals are simply stunning throughout. The songs are fine but none are truly remarkable and the same holds true for the band - all fine but nothing mind blowingly memorable played. Everything seems to be a platform for the vocals and because of this, there is a slightly "samey" feel when you consider the package as a whole. Not a major complaint, just an observation. I'm loving the album a lot. Pity the show in London tomorrow is sold out - I would have loved to see them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Band Perry (Audio CD)
I have a general rule, if i like two songs off an album i just buy the songs. If i like three or more i buy the album. And its always a nice bonus when i like every song on an album as i do with this one.

Kimberley, has a great voice, that helps in making a couple of quite ordinary songs sound really good. And the songs Quittin' You, If i die young, and Hip to my heart are just great songs that i'll listen to forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Next Big Thing!, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Band Perry (Audio CD)
The Band Perry are a new country trio who are going to have a very long career in country music judging by this fantastic debut!
It includes the massive hit single If I Die Young,which has sky rocketed the band to an impressive level for newcomers to country music.
The rest of the songs are mainly uptempo and mid-tempo,such as You Lie,Miss You Being Gone,Postcard From Paris,Walk Me Down The Middle and the incredibly catchy Independence.
The album ends with the sorrowful Lasso.
Kimberly takes the lead vocals on all songs with brothers Reid and Neil providing the harmonies.
Plus all songs were co-written by the three of them.
The album is produced by Nathan Chapman(Taylor Swift) and Paul Worley(Lady Antebellum) which will give you an idea as to what their sound is like.I can see The Band Perry in the future having the same kind of success that Sugarland and Lady Antebellum are currently enjoying.
Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to this little gem.

Prime Cuts: If I Die Young, Postcard From Paris, Independence, Lasso.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Band Perry (Audio CD)
I found them from watching some videos of Shania Twain. She recommended them and I just feel in love with "If I die young" I listened to their songs on You Tube and then found the album.

The group are fantastic. Give them a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Talent, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Band Perry (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this band because this band has all the VALUES I consider important in a band or artist. To me, yes it is about the music most of all but to make me really fall in love with a band is everything else, which most artists forget about. These things being stage presence, devotion to fans and the talent to create their own music. They only have one song on this album they weren't apart of writing and I hope they keep this up with future albums.

Note worthy songs to listen to are 'When I Die Young' and 'Double Heart' However my favourite is 'Independence'.

I love this song. What I also think is amazing is this was co-written with The Henningsens, who are amazing and have worked with them on many of their songs. This song is beautiful lyrically, musically etc etc. I say that a lot about songs but it is. Again this song is amazing to see live as well. I think what works with their music is the ability it has to be played live.

A lot of music that gets written and recorded nowadays is edited a lot, re-mastered, tweaked and effects added that cannot be created live. Their music, however, does not come across that way. Of course it is cleaned up etc but they are still able to create the 'album' effect live. I hate going to a show and half the song is missing or it sounds messy etc because most of it is edited. You do not get this with them, which I think is another reason I like them so much.

But going back to the song, I love the message in this song. It's about discovering the world for yourself even if it means you return home at the end. I like the fact that it still holds the idea of family as important as well with the line 'leavin' with question marks and momma's blessing'.

But what I love most about this song is the chorus. It's just fun with its repetitions and helps create imagery. The repetition of 'gun' and 'stone' gives the feel of a gun being shot or a stone skipping across the water. It works well because it does not feel that they have been put in for the sake of it. Sometimes I feel repetition can be lazy but it definitely is not here. Overall, this song is very pretty and is great to sing loudly on a summery day. It's also good to sing when you're in the UK and the weather is pants so you really want to get gone =P

I think The Band Perry are so much more than a band who make and perform music. They are hard working individuals that deserve every success possible. An opinion I will keep, so long as they stay true to who they are and do not get lost under ego and other peoples work. So go buy this album, you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 21 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Band Perry (Audio CD)
Really enjoyable. Some upbeat and some slower songs. Nice harmonies, fantastic lead singer. Similar to Taylor Swift if you want a comparision,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Quirky, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Band Perry (Audio CD)
I love the sound of The Band Perry, but I think it's really the lyrics that make the album. It's funny and quirky, with wit and truth interwoven with strong vocals. Excellent for all country music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence!, 7 May 2014
By 
Dougie BLAKELEY (Paignton, Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Band Perry (MP3 Download)
This debut by the family trio includes the single "If I Die Young" and is an excellent introduction to their music. They are an up and coming country/rock band and all the songs on this disc are high quality, impact numbers. This is mainly due to the powerful voice of the female lead singer.
Hopefully, their next album, Pioneer, is as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars THEY NEED LOTS OF WORK!, 1 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Band Perry (MP3 Download)
Heard this band play 'live' on the BBC 2 when they broadcast the C2C concert a couple of weeks ago.
The singer, who sounds OK on the album, was absolutely dreadful.
Her pitch was terrible and hard to listen to.
They're a young band so maybe she'll improve (although you either have an ear or you don't), but they're not representing their album very well like they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Band Perry (Audio CD)
I already had the Pioneer album and hadn't heard anything from this one so decided to buy it on the strength of Pioneer. It didn't let me down. Awesome album. Arrived within a couple days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Band Perry
The Band Perry by The Band Perry
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews