Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the Summer!
The book begins by introducing us to the life of high-flyer Polly. She's moved away from the small village she grew up in, and now lives in a flash London apartment, gets paid a lot of money to work in the financial sector, and loves to live her life to the full - she's not afraid to splash her cash either. So when she is suddenly made redundant without warning, Polly...
Published on 15 Jun. 2012 by Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe"

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty summer time pleasure
Summer with my Sister is the first of Lucy's Diamond's books that I have read. I wanted a quick, easy read and it didn't disappoint.

The story focuses on Polly, an unlikeable character who finds herself at the top of her game working in `The City' making unspeakable amounts of money. Inevitably she loses her job, and with it her swanky London flat, designer...
Published on 29 July 2012 by Sarah Burns


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the Summer!, 15 Jun. 2012
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Paperback)
The book begins by introducing us to the life of high-flyer Polly. She's moved away from the small village she grew up in, and now lives in a flash London apartment, gets paid a lot of money to work in the financial sector, and loves to live her life to the full - she's not afraid to splash her cash either. So when she is suddenly made redundant without warning, Polly feels life crumbling around her, and is forced to return home to live with her parents. Sister Clare, a divorcee and mother of two makes ends meet by working as a doctor's receptionist, and making homemade gifts for her friends and family. When her successful sister is suddenly back in her life, Clare becomes resentful of Polly's attitudes, and the women fail to get along. But they are both hiding guilt over something that happened in their pasts. Will they get past it to finally realise the importance of their sister?

There was something about this book I just loved. I loved that there weren't too many characters to get confused with, I loved that the book had a point and got to it straight away re Polly and Clare not getting along as sister's, and I loved the development of the story as it went on. I found Diamond's writing was easy to read and enjoyable, and really brought the characters to life with ease. Polly was a bit of stuck-up snob at the beginning of the book, and as we aren't immediately told why, it's difficult to be sympathetic towards her in any way. I found Diamond's descriptions of Polly and her lifestyle really good, and made it vivid in my mind. It was hard to feel sorry for her, even when her life started crumbling, but something bout her made me like her in a small way.

Clare was the character I could really relate to - a single mum working hard to do her best for her family. She's bogged down with everyone else's perceptions of her and when an opportunity arises that could change her life, she's reluctant as she doesn't have the confidence. Also, she's resentful of Polly returning and acting like the world owes her a favour, and you can really sense that resentment through Diamond's writing. Both of these female characters seemed so realistic, and were both strong females who carried the book easily. The way Diamond progresses their relationships, both with each other and with the new respective males in their lives, was enjoyable, and I really loved the whole book, I couldn't put it down. The whole thing just felt very believable as I was reading, and I was really praying for a happy ending for the women!

This is a book I highly recommend for summer reading - it's a great read with lovely characters that will have you wanting happiness for both of them, especially as secrets are revealed during the book that are both shocking and heart-breaking - I was actually shocked when it was revealed as I hadn't expected it at all. The sisters, Polly and Clare were great characters, each with their own problems and resentful of each other's lifestyles without realising it. The book makes you realise the importance of families and siblings, and sticking together when you most need it. I loved every page, and this is most definitely Diamond's best book yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable!, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
C. Rucroft "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Paperback)
I have never read a Lucy Diamond before, despite having had 'The Beach House' on my shelf for a while. I was attracted to this one simply because of the beautiful cover. It really is lovely and very summery! The synopsis sounded good as well.

The story follows Poppy, a workaholic who, for reasons I won't reveal, has to move back home. Claire, her sister, is the complete opposite and not at all happy about her sister moving back home, especially as she hasn't paid a bit of notice to her niece and nephew since they were born! However, as the story goes along, they begin to appreciate each other more. There is also a more serious storyline which is dealt with really well. I like how this isn't just a 'light' read.

I really enjoyed this book and felt like I really got to know all the characters. I think Diamond's strength with this novel is that she hasn't got a great big cast list and this really allows you to build up a relationship.

A perfect book for Summer. I will be hunting out more of Lucy Diamond's work in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable feel-good read., 13 Jun. 2012
By 
C. Colley (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Paperback)
Sisters, Clare and Polly have never had what you call a sisterly bond, but that's all about to change.
Craving success, Polly had turned her back on her family several years ago. Her demanding, high powered job in London, with glamourous lifestyle to match helped her to forget the past and being successful was more important to her than anything else.
However, Polly's life changes when she loses her job and home. With no money and nowhere to go, she finds herself living back with her family.
Single mum Clare still lives in the village where Polly and Clare grew up. She struggles to make ends meet, working part time at the medical centre, but her parents and friends are close at hand and always there to support her.
Clare is not exactly pleased with the news of Polly's return and reluctantly decides to help out. Polly comes to stay for the summer - it's an eventful one, but by the end of it, the future looks better for both of them and in more ways than one.
This is a great read. I instantly warmed to Clare. Polly is not so easy to like initially, but she learns to be true to herself and as the story progresses, I really warmed to her.
The story has several themes; family secrets, sisterhood and romance, to name a few, and all combine to make an entertaining read. The story also has a deeper side and a good balance of funny/light and serious moments.
Yes, the plot is a little predictable on the romance side, but the believable characters and really good storyline make this book a very worthwhile read.
I've only recently discovered Lucy Diamond's books and have been delighted so far. Lucy's last novel, The Beach Café, is a wonderful read with a warm central character, and a stunning location - a café on a Cornwall beach. Pure escapism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice easy read, perfect for the beach, 30 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Paperback)
I've previously read other Lucy Diamond books and knew i'd like this one. It didn't disapoint, I read it really quickly and enjoyed it alot. Great storyline, a little predictable but then most 'chick lit' is!

The story revolves around 2 sisters, Polly who is a high - flyer in London and Clare, a single Mum trying to make ends meet and struggles with day to day life. The characters are realistic, down to earth and easy to relate to. When Polly is unexpectedley made redundant her life is turned upside down and she has to go and start a new life in the quiet village where she grew up. The story continues with Polly in an almost self discovery and Clare venturing into new territory and branching out doing new things.

It's a lovely, heart warming story and thouroughly reccommed for beach/pool side reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good read for your summer hols, 2 July 2012
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Paperback)
I'm sure most readers could reel off a list of authors for whom they are eagerly awaiting the publication of their next book, and for me Lucy Diamond is one of mine having read and loved all her previous books especially The Beach Cafe. In fact I think Summer with my Sister has been on my wishlist the longest as I added it as soon as I knew it was coming out.

Polly has always been the success story of the family, the small town girl who has made a name for herself in the big city but at what cost... She works non-stop and her friends are merely acquaintances really not anyone she can rely on in a crisis. So when her world comes crashing down around her when she's made redundant she realises she'll have to sell her flat and return home to her family as she has no-one else to turn to for help.

Whereas sister Clare is a single mum who struggles to make ends meet following her divorce, and her ex certainly doesn't make things any easier for her, but she has a great network of friends who support and help her whenever she needs them as well as her parents living nearby.

At first glance the sisters couldn't be more different but after spending many hours together over the summer, they begin to build a new friendship that they've never had before. Before long they are helping each other to rebuild their lives.

I have to confess that I didn't really warm to Polly's character but the more you got to know her the more she grew on you, whereas I instantly emphasised with Clare and wanted things to work out well for her.

This book had it all, family secrets, sibling rivalry as well as a love interest or two. The storyline flowed well and my only criticism would be that I wanted the story to continue, I could easily have carried on reading this for another few hours!

This is a wonderful feel-good book that I would have no hesitation in recommending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 6 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. It is a nice easy read about sisters, Clare and Polly who have never been all that close. The story line is a bit predictable, but that did nothing to detract from the pleasure of Lucy diamond's writing style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great book from Lucy Diamond!, 2 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book via Kindle for an easy-reading summer holiday book. After reading a few of Lucy Diamonds books before, I was sceptical. I couldn't work out how there would be much of a story between two sisters, but I was proven wrong. I was hooked on this book from the minute it started! I loved the difference between Polly and Claire, and slowly finding out what tore them apart.

Another amazing well-written story from Lucy Diamond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read by a fave author, 2 July 2012
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Kindle Edition)
Once again Diamond comes up trumps with her latest offerings.

I really enjoyed this book and got through it in just over a day.

I really liked the main character and the storyline.

As always easy to read and can not wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sentimental read by Lucy Diamond xXx, 1 July 2012
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Kindle Edition)
I loved The Beach Cafe by Lucy Diamond last year and so it didn't take much persuading for me to buy her recent release Summer with my Sister.

It is quite clear from early on in this book that the two main characters Polly and Clare are two polls apart and they clearly do not get on and yet they are sisters! Polly has been living away from the family village and her parents are very prod at what she has achieved in her high powered job. Soon Polly's world is turned upside down when she is unexpectedly made redundant and with no other option she has to head back to live with her parents but she can't bring herself to tell her parents the truth.

Sister Clare is bringing up her tow children alone and is trying to hold a part time job down at the local surgery but it is getting harder to try and make ends meet. When she finds out her sister is coming back to stay with their parents she is less than excited about seeing her and instantly is curious as to the real reason of her sisters stay.

Will the sisters be able to put their differences aside and help each other out of their current situations?

When I first met our little workaholic Polly I have to say I didn't like her character and this was a little worrying as one of the most important parts of a good book is having a likeable character, but luckily as the book progresses and Polly returns home her character begins to change and I started to warm to her character. I instantly warmed to Clare who was a very realistic character struggling to juggle work and family life whilst trying to make ends meet something the majority of us can relate to.

The storyline wasn't too challenging and made for a great light hearted read, there were only a handful of characters which I love as there was no problem trying to remember who was who. I loved the build up the author created around the situation involving the girls brothers death this is what kept me turning the pages eager to find out what had happened.

This story is full of heartache, romance and family secrets which all rolled into one created a great sentimental read. I really enjoyed this book and it is well worth a read, but I still say The Beach Cafe is my favourite by this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good light read, 5 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer with my Sister (Kindle Edition)
A new author for me and a first download for my kindle. Normally I am drawn to books by the cover but with the kindle I am finding this changing, I look at the cover on Amazon and read the blurb but after downloading a few books at a time I cannot remember which is which, so approach each book with an open mind and no expectations, as by then I will not even know the genre.

I was please by this book. I too have a sister and some of the strands of rivalry and abosolute support sitting side by side ring true for me, as do the feelings of blame, grief and one-up-man-ship.

I would definately recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Summer with my Sister
Summer with my Sister by Lucy Diamond
£4.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews