Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP DOC
You may well wonder if you can justify putting a music documentary in the cinamas before dvd/blu-ray release. Well when it's this good,yes you can.
After reading the warts 'n' all RITA MARLEY book "No woman,no cry",i did wonder if this movie would be as brutally honest about Bob,the negatives aswell as the positives. Certainly it shows mostly Bob as a good man,which...
Published on 9 July 2012 by BAZ316

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bob marley movie
Positive insight into bobs life. Could do with more detail about him growing up although it touched on it broadly
Published on 21 Sep 2012 by Frances


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP DOC, 9 July 2012
This review is from: Marley [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
You may well wonder if you can justify putting a music documentary in the cinamas before dvd/blu-ray release. Well when it's this good,yes you can.
After reading the warts 'n' all RITA MARLEY book "No woman,no cry",i did wonder if this movie would be as brutally honest about Bob,the negatives aswell as the positives. Certainly it shows mostly Bob as a good man,which of course he was,but it's not expecting you to think he was an angel,he didn't stick to just his wife,he liked his women and they liked him. This may've been skipped a little from Rita's book,but it gets to the point. The music is stunning,new tracks and old,some great footage and an interesting story well told. The interview with those that knew him are done with obvious love and affection for a true legend. From his upbringing to his adulthod,to his times with Rita to that shooting,his toe injury and of course his sad death. This explains why he is such a legend and why he will be missed,his music will live on,how could it not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive., 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marley [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
It is hard to see how this documentary of the late,great, Bob Marley could ever be improved upon.Marley's admirers are fortunate in having the services of a director of the stature of Kevin Macdonald to record the life,thoughts and music of one of the most important cultural figures of the late 20th Century.
Many film makers would have been overwhelmed by the scope of the project,but Macdonald,while deeply respectful,pays tribute to his subject from a standing position, looking him in the eye rather than from bended knees.

One of the strongest points of the film is it's well chosen interviews.Those you would expect are there,Rita Marley,Bunny Livingston and a clutch of Wailers,but also present and adding colour and flavour to the project are,Bob's Cousins,friends and lovers,even his first teacher,God knows how old she must be, but she talks well and even sings in a strong voice.

We see all of the defining moments of his life,his breakthrough to international acclaim,the assassination attempt,the Peace Concert (who could forget his calling Manley and Seaga on stage and forcing them to clasp hands despite their obvious reluctance ?) and the outpouring of grief mixed with celebratory pride in his life, at his laying to rest.

The music is very well chosen.Of course the hits are here,but so are little-known early songs.Music and visuals are carefuly blended to enhance our understanding of the man and his message.There is no question of an extended music video intended to promote a soundtrack album here.

Some may carp that the movie is too long,but a life of such importance demands a great deal of attention.

I suspect that what would give Marley the greatest pleasure about this production would be that it explores in depth , his Rasta philosophy and it's cultural,social and political context.

Genuine fans would not want this film to suggest that Bob was perfect,indeed he would be the last to deny he had flaws,there are hints of tensions in the Marley family,it could not have been easy to live in the shade of a great man.The overwhealming impression we get however, is that of a very human, and very humane, man.His last words in the movie,which come over as deeply sincere,tell us that he has no ambition but to see everyone live together as one.Sadly he was taken from us too early to winess this,but God,or Jah,grant that it one day may be so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of a kind - 9/10, 10 Aug 2012
By 
Ben (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Marley encapsulates the essence of Bob Marley. The music, the man and the legend.

The interviews are wonderful and feature some strong moments of joy, pain and love from those close to him.

The editing is top notch, it is expertly put together and really does his story justice.
Incorporating Marley's early music and his later tracks too, seeing where he was born and how he came into music was very interesting and really involved you from the beginning. We see how Bob Marley was a political force and we are also given an intimate look at his home life too. We see that he wasn't perfect.

If you love Bob Marley then there is no other film you have to see to really get the full story. It is clearly a film made with love and admiration for Bob's work, you will laugh and cry at this film and be left with a sense of admiration and appreciation.

The Blu Ray is great. The new interview footage is sharp, the music is crisp and the old footage of Bob in concert is beautiful. They have done a great job with the restoration of the clips of Bob doing interviews and the footage of the events that are described.

Bob Marley's legacy will never end and this documentary does justice to the man we all love.

Mind blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Intimate [If Not Romantic] Study Of Post-Colonial Jamaica, 29 April 2012
This review is from: Marley [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Marley isn't so much a music documentary, but an exploration of post-colonial Jamaica, and the politics that influenced the great icon. Some critics have criticised the film for not containing enough music footage, but honestly I thought there was more than enough. There are plenty of DVD's to be found of this material.

And you get everything you would expect from MacDonald: a classic Campbell-esque hero's quest, a search for belonging, fraught male relationships, spectacular cinematography, and a well aimed kick at American imperialism. It was nice to hear MacDonald's own voice in the film, he has a great voice and would love to hear him more.

My main critcisms are that this isn't as tight as MacDonald usually works, and I fear the resultant 'bagginess' stems from the family's involvement. The interviews from family tend to romantacise Marley. The most poignant interviews come from those Marley himself rejected: his band-mates from the Wailer's original line up, children who never knew the opportunity to have their father to themselves - even in his final days, and the wife who fails to convince the audience of her acceptance of Marley's affairs.

Be warned, this film is a butt-number at a running length of two hours and twenty-fine minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 19 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Marley [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Saw this at the cinema and was blown away by it. Will be buying a copy on DVD for posterity. If you think you know about the man behind the music there is more to learn here. If he had lived I believe he would have been up there with the great and good of our time. Watch it and I think you will agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Look At A Legend, 9 Jun 2012
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marley [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I'm not a big fan of Bob, I do like his music, especially his lesser known classics. He's always been a sort of enigma to me, yes, I knew he believed in Rastafarianism - but there were many things I didn't know.

This documentary lasts nearly two and a half hours, and looks at mainly where Marley came from, the problems he faced in Jamaica as a half-cast boy, and how labels didn't really show any interest in his music. We get some great commentaries from wife Rita, his son Ziggy and daughter Constance; who seems to be very American in her ways. There's also some of his musician friends like Lee "Scratch" Perry, Jimmy Cliff and some clips of Peter Tosh.

I'd say this is probably one of the more interesting documentaries I've ever seen, the cast seem so happy to talk, and they focus on the happier side of life rather than Marley's struggle to be accepted by even radio over there. Not only do they teach us about Marley, but there's a history of Jamaica here and we learn about the battles between two rival parties and how Marley wanted peace and didn't have a political agenda.

I'd pretty much say if you're a die hard fan you'll probably know everything in this film, I certainly didn't, and was amazed at what I saw, especially about Stevie Wonder doing a concert with him.

Hopefully this will look as good on DVD as it did in the cinema - the images were pretty much cleaned up and it looks magnificent - there was only some concert footage that looked a bit dodgy, but it has been lying around for 30 years or so; so you really can't expect much better. The sound was amazing too, you really need to experience this on a home cinema system when it gets released.

Altogether this was a pleasant pass time, informative and interesting, my only gripe is it is very much from the Marley side of the family and not really from other perspectives, otherwise it's good and worth a look in August.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley ... Legend, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. Aj Mills "Art Nut" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marley [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Really insightful and entertaining DVD review of the life of Bob Marley, would of liked more of the music though. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent DVD, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marley [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I personally think this DVD is superb. It has so much of Bob Marley's life from his early childhood memories to his death. So enjoyed, if you are a Marley fan you can't go wrong with this DVD. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what it says on the tin..., 9 May 2012
This review is from: Marley [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I saw this movie last night and have to say...I LOVED IT, but...i love anything about the man!!
I enjoyed the unseen footage and new interviews though thought there might have been interviews from more of his children, although Cedella and Ziggy were very honest about their father.
Having been to Jamaica, St Ann's and Marleys Massoleum this documentary really took me back, perhaps just me but i felt the same emotion in parts as i felt whilst visiting Bob's birthplace...if you have never had the opportunity to go....THEN.... YOUR MISSING OUT!!!!

Are you still here?....Go book your flights! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film arrived in excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marley [DVD] [2012]
Marley [DVD] [2012] by Kevin Macdonald (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews