Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation
This film is for anyone who wanted to know what happened to the characters in the original film 'American Graffiti'. The use of popular music from the period in both movies set the standard for later films but did it with more thought and vitality. Split screens were in vogue and are a bit over-used but do not detract from the movie. The sequences involving the...
Published 19 months ago by Bob Richardson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten but not all bad
Like The Next Sting, Texasville, The Two Jakes and, before long, Evan Almighty, More American Graffiti is one of those sequels to hits that most people not only didn't want but don't know even exists: certainly George Lucas seems happy to pretend it doesn't (it's conspicuous by its complete absence in the otherwise comprehensive 78-minute documentary on the DVD for the...
Published on 31 Jan 2008 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Bob Richardson (Eden Hills, South Australia, AU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More American Graffiti [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film is for anyone who wanted to know what happened to the characters in the original film 'American Graffiti'. The use of popular music from the period in both movies set the standard for later films but did it with more thought and vitality. Split screens were in vogue and are a bit over-used but do not detract from the movie. The sequences involving the Vietnam War are better than most films on the subject and highlight the waste and futility of that conflict now being repeated in Iraq and Afghanistan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten but not all bad, 31 Jan 2008
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Like The Next Sting, Texasville, The Two Jakes and, before long, Evan Almighty, More American Graffiti is one of those sequels to hits that most people not only didn't want but don't know even exists: certainly George Lucas seems happy to pretend it doesn't (it's conspicuous by its complete absence in the otherwise comprehensive 78-minute documentary on the DVD for the original film), a fate not even Howard the Duck or The Radioland Murders share among his oeuvre. No Richard Dreyfuss, and Ron Howard is little more than a cameo but the rest of the original cast are all present and correct - even an unbilled Harrison Ford turns up as a traffic cop - while Scott Glenn, Delroy Lindo and Rosanna Arquette provide the "they were around that long?" factor in the supporting cast. Yet the result is even more of a mixed bag than the original, with writer-director Bill L. Norton separating his main characters over four different New Year's Eves with wildly varying results: Paul Le Mat has now graduated to drag racing, perhaps the least cinematic sport ever invented, Cindy Williams and Ron Howard get mixed up in student riots, Candy Clark's hippie chick finally gets the message about her loser guitarist boyfriend while, in by far the best part of the film, Charles Martin Smith's Terry the Toad is doing everything he possibly can to get out of Vietnam. Shot in multiple aspect ratios from 1.33:1 to 2.35:1 and with some imaginative and often amusing split-screen work, the execution is often better than the material and it's more entertaining than you might expect, but there's little of the resonance of the original.

No extras on the NTSC DVD at all, though the original multiple aspect ratios are preserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Sequel, 18 Mar 2014
By 
David K. Thomson "dkthomson" (Aylesbury, Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More American Graffiti [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is one of my all-time favourite movies (along with the original American Graffiti). Absolutely brilliant music and a fabulous cast make this one of the greatest sequels of all time. In Blu-Ray multiply that by 100. An awesome televisual experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retro, 7 Mar 2014
By 
G. Lane (Llandudno) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More American Graffiti [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Not as good as the original, but still a real must watch. Star studded performance and excellent soundtrack, worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look but no comparison with the original, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Dr. David Griffiths (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This isn't a bad film but it isn't a great one either, certainly not by comparison with the original which is probably my all time favourite movie. I agree with Trevor Willsmer that the Vietnam sequences are by far the best. For me Charlie Martin Smith as Terry Fields is the real star. He proclaims himself a coward, tries everything he can to get out of Vietnam, saves the life of his arrogant and naive helicopter pilot, fakes his own death while perpetrating a glorious piece of slapstick on his CO and finally walks off into the jungle and, we assume, to a life of pleasant obscurity outside America where he would be considered a deserter. John Milner remains much as in the original although I found the storyline involving him and a non-English speaking blonde silly and irritating. Steve and Laurie have become a deeply unlikeable married couple on the verge of divorce and Laurie has acquired a younger brother presumably to make up for the absence of Richard Dreyfuss as Curt. Candy Clark as Debbie morphs from sassy platinum blonde to mildly pathetic, love-lorn exotic dancer who eventually finds a sort of happiness and Mackenzie Phillips, despite star billing, puts in a blink-and-you'll-miss-it cameo as a slightly more grown up Carol. Harrison Ford makes a brief reappearance as now Officer Falfa and John Brent, the wonderful car salesman in the original film, turns up as a snake-keeping strip club owner. It goes without saying that the music is wonderful and Wolfman Jack still howls in the background. Overall a decent film but not a patch on the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the original film, 13 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More American Graffiti [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I gave this only four stars because I don't think that it quite lives up to the original movie, don't get me wrong as sequels go it is a very good effort.
If you watch 'American Graffiti' followed almost imediately by 'More American Graffiti' the story follows along almost seemlesly, however there are certain elements that don't quite live up to the original.
I don't think that the script is as well written, the directing is certainly not as good even though the cast are still excellent in their respective characters it just lacks something that the original film had!
Maybe it is originality, maybe it is just the enthusiasm and expectations of the 60s captured so well in the original film, who knows? I lived through that era and the original film was just like being transported right back there via a time machine.
Perhaps 'More American Graffiti' reminds me of an era when we all started to grow up and stopped looking at everything through rose tinted glasses, all in all this is a good film and worth watching especially if like myself you lived through this very fast changing era it is very thought provoking.
I enjoyed it and it is well worth the price, especially the blu-ray version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so good as the first movie, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More American Graffiti [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
a more or less faithful sequel to american graffiti. it's worth to be seen by fans of the original movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing sequel., 10 Mar 2013
By 
I. Hazlehurst (Wirral. U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More American Graffiti [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I love the original American Graffiti film, so when I saw this in the Amazon sale, thought I would give it a go.
Nice to see some of the original cast in this and what the got up to after graduation, but the constant cut-aways to Vietnam are a tad annoying, despite the comedy.
All I can say is, buy it for the memory, but I'm glad I didn't pay full price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
By 
Mark Johnson "mac-collector" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More American Graffiti [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Good price and fast delivery. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
saw this movie on vidio many moons ago not as good as the original but explains the ending of the original movie titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More American Graffiti [Blu-ray] [1979] [Region Free]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews