Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great from CAVE
Fantastic bullet hell game.
I love Dodonpachi, Deathsmiles, Mushihime-sama Futari and now Akai Katana is another awesome title.

The 3 ships have some nice variation in speed and shot patterns.
For example ship A is the fastest and good for those who want to move around a lot.
Ship C moved a lot slower but from what I can tell has stronger...
Published 23 months ago by Leon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fast game where beginners die every 5 minutes
I've played this game for about 4 hours and the reasons I didn't like it is:

1) the dialogue is not in English
2) there appears to only be 6 or so levels with 3 characters
3) there is only 2 choices of guns
4) you can only shoot forward
5) the storyline between levels is in pictures
6) it's like an iPhone game, so it shouldn't cost more...
Published 3 months ago by reviewer 687534


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great from CAVE, 15 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana (Video Game)
Fantastic bullet hell game.
I love Dodonpachi, Deathsmiles, Mushihime-sama Futari and now Akai Katana is another awesome title.

The 3 ships have some nice variation in speed and shot patterns.
For example ship A is the fastest and good for those who want to move around a lot.
Ship C moved a lot slower but from what I can tell has stronger firepower.

You can use the RT button for when you need to spray some shots whilst moving quickly around the screen.
If you press A you'll have a more concentrated firepower but will move slower.

You can use bombs as you would with many other bullet hell games but this game has a feature that was a real pleasant surprise... Summoning the PHANTOM, now this adds a really nice twist to the game in regards to how you deal
with the onslaught of bullets.

Whilst in phantom form your shot techniques change from a more defensive type or more aggressive type.
When pressing the button which promotes defense you can gather enemy bullets around the screen and attempt to manipulate them so that you have less chance of being hit.
Handy for when you feel that you really have no chance of avoiding damage.
Then there's a more aggressive type of attack you can do with the phantom which I believe may absorb enemy laser beams but correct me if I'm wrong.

Another nice feature is the three game modes. Each one has slight different variations to each level in regards to bullet patterns and difficulty.
There is also a novice option, plenty of options for screen adjustment and backgrounds.

There is however no online play from what I've seen so far which is a shame but at the same time I'm not really that fussed since I usually play bullet hell games single player anyway.
The option to play online would of been good though for those who have bullet hell buddies who live too far for local co-op.

The game doesn't generally have as many options in comparison to other bullet hell games that I've mentioned at the beginning of the review but again I'm not too worried about this since the game is so fun.
The main thing that keeps bring me back to this game is that I'm spoilt for options on how I can approach each barrage of bullets which is great... I like a nice bit of variation.

Great game, I well and truely recommend to all bullet hell fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Condemn me to (bullet) hell!, 27 May 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Akai Katana (Video Game)
CAVE's latest is an absolute joy. There's many scenes of screen melting and host of bizarre and wonderful Japanese characters to love.

If you've played and loved any 2d shooter in the last 20 years you WILL love this. Lots of people will probably pick this up just for the easy achievements, but I'd love to see them 100% it, as completing the game without using a continue requires pure skill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Akai Katana, 18 May 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana (Video Game)
Great shooter from CAVE but perhaps not as good as Pro Gear no Arashi. The game has beautiful visuals,great music a somewhat "odd" scoring system but you get used to it. Some stages feel very short and yes I do take in consideration that this is infact a arcade port. A big shame about the 4:3 ratio issue's so be sure to play this on a 16:9 monitor. This game also lacks the traditional attract mode, the menus are stylish albeit a little perhaps "bloaty" I prefer the old system. Anyways any fan of shooter genre should do himself a favour and buy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Real Good Fun, 11 April 2013
By 
A. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana (Video Game)
If like me you havent played a side scrolling shooter since the days of R-TYPE on the sega Master System then it may come as a bit of shock to you they are still making titles like that. The idea seems a little outdated but when done correctly marvelous fun can be had with it. I didnt have high hopes for this game i just saw it at a cheap price and thought why not give it a go. Im glad i did! There is very little story, cartoon graphics from what could be a PS1 game and The game can be played through in about 20 mins. Sounds poor doesnt it? It isnt! The simple control system works well and for some reason building up your score becomes addicted and after 1 play through you think to yourself ' I could have done better' and go again! This game is easily worth its cheap price so if you want to play something a little different this game is a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bullet hell madness, 5 Feb 2013
By 
M. Hoorens (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana (Video Game)
If you like these type of games then stop looking and buy it! Great game, great reason to buy an Xbox even!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite games on the 360. Truely great playing for score, 30 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Akai Katana (Video Game)
This game surprised me, I generally aren't a big fan of horizontal side scrolling bullet hells, but CAVE's Akia Katana is so well designed and fun to play that it's well worth been in any arcade gamers collection. While it has very good 2D eye candy and soundtrack, it's in the gameplay where it shines best, both in survival play where playing for score is a blast to play and unique. I wont go into detail as there are You Tube videos from Rising Star Games (plus tutorials ingame if you press B) but changing into phantom mode and correctly shooting to katanas into a mass of enemy is very rewarding to my inner 7 year old in Slash Mode. As is farming a screen full of bullets to cancel them into points in Climax and Origin Mode.

Playable in both 4:3 and Widescreen there are also novice modes for beginners so noobs can play.

To really get the most from this game taking 5 minutes to watch the ingame tutorial (press B in the main menu) and learn it mechanics and deep scoring system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CAVE shmup, 6 Sep 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana (Video Game)
You'll know if this game is for you if you like bullet hell shmups. This is the third CAVE game to be released for the 360 and is a horizontal shooter like deathsmilies.

CAVE make the best shmups in the bussines in my opinion and this is the best on the current generation of consoles.

The graphics are superb.

There are 3 game modes to choose from so plenty to keep you entertained. As with all shmups the gameplay is really addictive.

If you liked Deathsmiles or Don Don Pachi then this is the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fast game where beginners die every 5 minutes, 13 Jan 2014
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Akai Katana (Video Game)
I've played this game for about 4 hours and the reasons I didn't like it is:

1) the dialogue is not in English
2) there appears to only be 6 or so levels with 3 characters
3) there is only 2 choices of guns
4) you can only shoot forward
5) the storyline between levels is in pictures
6) it's like an iPhone game, so it shouldn't cost more than a pound
7) I couldn't save half way through a level
8) I couldn't save at the end of the level
9) it took under half an hour to complete the whole game.
10) you move slower when shooting

Good point:
1) you have infinity continues.

Conclusion:
This game is will be good for fanatics. You may enjoy this game if you're a perfectionist willing to spend hours learning the complex patterns which enemy fire makes, once these patterns have been learnt you may gain enjoyment from not dying regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buen juego, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana (Video Game)
Totalmente recomendado.
No te arrepentirás de la compra.
El envío rápido y seguro por, solo tardo 3 días en llegar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab186a44)

This product

Akai Katana
Akai Katana by Rising Star Games (Xbox 360)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews