Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£10.99+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2012
Fantastic bullet hell game.
I love Dodonpachi, Deathsmiles, Mushihime-sama Futari and now Akai Katana is another awesome title.

The 3 ships have some nice variation in speed and shot patterns.
For example ship A is the fastest and good for those who want to move around a lot.
Ship C moved a lot slower but from what I can tell has stronger firepower.

You can use the RT button for when you need to spray some shots whilst moving quickly around the screen.
If you press A you'll have a more concentrated firepower but will move slower.

You can use bombs as you would with many other bullet hell games but this game has a feature that was a real pleasant surprise... Summoning the PHANTOM, now this adds a really nice twist to the game in regards to how you deal
with the onslaught of bullets.

Whilst in phantom form your shot techniques change from a more defensive type or more aggressive type.
When pressing the button which promotes defense you can gather enemy bullets around the screen and attempt to manipulate them so that you have less chance of being hit.
Handy for when you feel that you really have no chance of avoiding damage.
Then there's a more aggressive type of attack you can do with the phantom which I believe may absorb enemy laser beams but correct me if I'm wrong.

Another nice feature is the three game modes. Each one has slight different variations to each level in regards to bullet patterns and difficulty.
There is also a novice option, plenty of options for screen adjustment and backgrounds.

There is however no online play from what I've seen so far which is a shame but at the same time I'm not really that fussed since I usually play bullet hell games single player anyway.
The option to play online would of been good though for those who have bullet hell buddies who live too far for local co-op.

The game doesn't generally have as many options in comparison to other bullet hell games that I've mentioned at the beginning of the review but again I'm not too worried about this since the game is so fun.
The main thing that keeps bring me back to this game is that I'm spoilt for options on how I can approach each barrage of bullets which is great... I like a nice bit of variation.

Great game, I well and truely recommend to all bullet hell fans!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
CAVE's latest is an absolute joy. There's many scenes of screen melting and host of bizarre and wonderful Japanese characters to love.

If you've played and loved any 2d shooter in the last 20 years you WILL love this. Lots of people will probably pick this up just for the easy achievements, but I'd love to see them 100% it, as completing the game without using a continue requires pure skill.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
Great shooter from CAVE but perhaps not as good as Pro Gear no Arashi. The game has beautiful visuals,great music a somewhat "odd" scoring system but you get used to it. Some stages feel very short and yes I do take in consideration that this is infact a arcade port. A big shame about the 4:3 ratio issue's so be sure to play this on a 16:9 monitor. This game also lacks the traditional attract mode, the menus are stylish albeit a little perhaps "bloaty" I prefer the old system. Anyways any fan of shooter genre should do himself a favour and buy this game!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
If like me you havent played a side scrolling shooter since the days of R-TYPE on the sega Master System then it may come as a bit of shock to you they are still making titles like that. The idea seems a little outdated but when done correctly marvelous fun can be had with it. I didnt have high hopes for this game i just saw it at a cheap price and thought why not give it a go. Im glad i did! There is very little story, cartoon graphics from what could be a PS1 game and The game can be played through in about 20 mins. Sounds poor doesnt it? It isnt! The simple control system works well and for some reason building up your score becomes addicted and after 1 play through you think to yourself ' I could have done better' and go again! This game is easily worth its cheap price so if you want to play something a little different this game is a good choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
You'll know if this game is for you if you like bullet hell shmups. This is the third CAVE game to be released for the 360 and is a horizontal shooter like deathsmilies.

CAVE make the best shmups in the bussines in my opinion and this is the best on the current generation of consoles.

The graphics are superb.

There are 3 game modes to choose from so plenty to keep you entertained. As with all shmups the gameplay is really addictive.

If you liked Deathsmiles or Don Don Pachi then this is the game for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Rising Star Games definitely know what they are doing, when it comes to SHMUPS. What a nice looking and sounding Bullethell-fest. But not as awesome as Deathsmiles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
If you like these type of games then stop looking and buy it! Great game, great reason to buy an Xbox even!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
Great little bullet hell shooter, and not nearly as difficult as I was imagining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
Great looking game for the 360.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
This game surprised me, I generally aren't a big fan of horizontal side scrolling bullet hells, but CAVE's Akia Katana is so well designed and fun to play that it's well worth been in any arcade gamers collection. While it has very good 2D eye candy and soundtrack, it's in the gameplay where it shines best, both in survival play where playing for score is a blast to play and unique. I wont go into detail as there are You Tube videos from Rising Star Games (plus tutorials ingame if you press B) but changing into phantom mode and correctly shooting to katanas into a mass of enemy is very rewarding to my inner 7 year old in Slash Mode. As is farming a screen full of bullets to cancel them into points in Climax and Origin Mode.

Playable in both 4:3 and Widescreen there are also novice modes for beginners so noobs can play.

To really get the most from this game taking 5 minutes to watch the ingame tutorial (press B in the main menu) and learn it mechanics and deep scoring system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)