Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A working class man reaches the dizzy heights of stardom
Written in a language that anyone can understand. Michael Caine dispels the untruths that have been written about him. He lays on the line his heart felt life story from his acting "debut" at the age of three right up to the the "discovery" of his half brother David. It will leave the reader laughing out loud and at times holding back the tears. His account spans an era...
Published on 5 Oct 2003 by Gerard Behan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Came by snail mail
Book fine but came after it was required for a Father's Day present. I will have to keep it for a Xmas present now. It was supposed to be in stock and it was only after I'd finished with the order that it was shown as coming after it was required. Very disappointed as this is the first time this has happened on Amazon.
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by superpamuk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A working class man reaches the dizzy heights of stardom, 5 Oct 2003
By 
Gerard Behan "Gerry Behan" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
Written in a language that anyone can understand. Michael Caine dispels the untruths that have been written about him. He lays on the line his heart felt life story from his acting "debut" at the age of three right up to the the "discovery" of his half brother David. It will leave the reader laughing out loud and at times holding back the tears. His account spans an era that most readers will find nostalgic to say the least. How the son of a market fishmonger hob nobbed it with the greats of Hollywood and the British Royalty. If you want to know Michael Caine this is the only book to read, especially if you want to know "what his life was was all about".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all about Caine, 17 Sep 2002
By 
Rob Mynott (Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
This book is simply amazing. Never before have I laughed so much from what I have read, or been touched by some of the things that Michael Caine has written in this amazing book. The section where he describes the death of his father is particularly touching. This however is an up-lifting book, and it has to be the funniest I've read. Comparisons with Niven are fully justified, and Caine's easy-going persona comes across well wonderfully the printed page.
In short, buy this book. If you're a fan wanting to know the score from the man himself, or if you're simply looking for a truly entertaining read, then this has to be the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely entertaining., 19 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
What's It All About is a terrific read. Caine is both witty and entertaining in the role of raconteur - one which he clearly enjoys. Much like David Niven before him he manages to combine the ordinary facts of his life and experiences with just the right amount of name dropping. Stars parade in and out of his stories but you never lose sight of the real star of the book - nor does he ever lose sight of his origins. You sense that he is still bemused by his own success and still grateful for all he has got. Only pick this book up if you have a little time to spare as I promise you, you won't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gentleman, 2 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
Michael Caine is as funny, kind, intelligent and endearing as he is on film. Some of his stories made me howl with laughter. His memories of the making of Zulu (one of my favourite films) was very funny. For a person to fight as he has done throughout his life and career and to still be going strong in top selling films today is truly remarkable. This book simply has to be on everyone's reading list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true Icon......, 22 Jun 2010
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
This is a great book. Charting the history of this true Icon's childhood years through to his rise to fame.

I found that this book was a true "page-turner". Michael details his close run thing with fame and introduces a host of colourful characters throughout. I have to say that I can still remember the way he dealt with a "top" Holywood star that was behaving like a spoilt brat - sheer genius.

I haven't read this again in many years but there are so many passages that I can recall vividly. If you haven't read an autobiography and wonder whether to bother read this now. It really is an amazing insight into a genuine star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Nothing To Everything, 4 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. S. C. Bailey "Just your average Englishma... (Woodford, Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
The Story of how Maurice Micklewhite became Sir Michael Caine, a rags to riches story told by the great man himself.

Lots of name droppings as you's expect from a star but the story of how he got the Name Caine & the Story of His unknown Disabled Brother are very poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic reading (up there with David Niven's books), 9 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
If you liked the books by David Niven then this is a gem . It's so well written that you visually see every page happen . If you don't laugh out or wipe your eyes then you have no feelings . The gas mask from when he was a boy had me falling off my sun lounger in Maderia . A first class well written read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 28 Feb 2011
This was very enjoyable. I read it ages ago and have bought it to recommend to my son and read again when he has finished! It is easy to read and very interesting. Well written and one of those books you carry around to read when you have a moment. Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's it all about, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Having read the book I recommend this audio version,having the book read by the author himself (Micheal Caine) is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Michael Caine rating, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's It All About? (Kindle Edition)
Michael allways feels sorry for himself from his childhood to his days of paying tax ,his early life was no different to mine and many others ,most of us would love to be paying supertax there are many. not earning enough to pay any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa89d768)

This product

What's It All About?
What's It All About? by Michael Caine
4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews