Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (183)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! Unbelievably Good!!
Before I go on to say how impressive this item is, may I recommend that Amazon block people from reviewing before the product is even released because anybody who left a negative review obviously had no idea what this box set was going to be like.

Now thats out of the way,the box set is stunningly presented in a faux leather case which is huge (seriously...
Published on 13 Sep 2012 by Daniel John Clark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Items
I was really disappointed when I opened the box to find out the a lot of the extra materials were not there. It was very clear that somebody removed them. As far as the discs go, there is tone of bonus footage and documentaries which is really awesome.
Published 22 months ago by Claudiu Cioba


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! Unbelievably Good!!, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I go on to say how impressive this item is, may I recommend that Amazon block people from reviewing before the product is even released because anybody who left a negative review obviously had no idea what this box set was going to be like.

Now thats out of the way,the box set is stunningly presented in a faux leather case which is huge (seriously finding a place for it is difficult!). When you open it up it is the inside detail is phenomenal, the creators have really thought about what Harry Potter fans would like and it looks and feels like an actual prop from the film with its Hogwarts and House Team emblems right down to the handles to each draw which are metal.

Now to the actual content, spread across 4 separate draws, each film comes in a fantastically presented in a hard back photo album type case consisting of 4 or 3 disks (DVD, Blu Ray and Special Features disks for each film) depending on the film (see list contents for full breakdown), and each 'album' has full colour pics and info from the respective film. Towards the top of the box are two 'pop-out' draws which contain your Ultra-Violet code which is present in the form of a scroll tied with ribbon (this will never be opened by me as I have no idea what Ultra Violet is! But it looks good :)and the Horcrux necklace (RRP £30-40 in Harry Potter world and this one looks even better).

In the other draws are a map of Hogwarts and its grounds as well as a blue print of the castle as well as a several books about the films (again see full list of contents). The best touches though are the 'hidden disk' which is especially made for this box set and contains hours and hours of never before seen special features and the 'hidden compartment' within the case (again it shows just how big this thing is and also what detail and effort they've gone into with thing.

I can say hand on heart it is the greatest film box set I have ever seen, let alone purchased and it is honestly a snip at £180, especially considering each box comes with a numbered certificate as they're limited edition. I'm a huge HP fan but as resisted the tempation to buy any of them on DVD because I wanted them in a box set but even after over 10 years of waiting this surpasses any expectations!! If you love Harry Potter you must own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am Amazing Collector's Piece, 28 Mar 2013
By 
D. Hook "hooksan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read a few of the more 'disappointed' reviewers on this product, but still purchased it for my wife as she is a huge fan and we both wanted the films in Bluray.

When we received this and unboxed it we were blown away.
The first thing I recommend is to check the dimensions. This box is MUCH arger than expected. It really is a feature piece. Each film (3-4 disks each) is separately boxed and presented (not in a bluray box but in a beautiful collector's book with information and pictures etc).

The box itself is very high quality. Each of the drawers and sections are robust, and some of the drawers are spring-locked.
All of the other extras included are very high quality considering the price.
One of the maps is printed on cloth rather than paper. The other is very high quality and thick paper. The books are lovely, and well presented.

When you consider the closest comparison to this boxset is the limited edition complete film collection (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Harry-Potter-Complete-Collection-Numbered/dp/B005GTJEZC/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1364474268&sr=8-4) which is currently £84 (and does not have the 3D versions of Deathly Hallows 1-2) - The extra £55 for all the extras, the 3D versions, the books, the neckalce, maps and the box/presentation generally is a steal in my opinion.

If you just want the films there are much cheaper ways to get them.
If you are a Potter fan who wants a truely collectable box set that will take pride of place in your room, this is an amazing product and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good at its ever going to get, 23 Aug 2012
By 
Mark Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me be clear up front, i am a huge harry potter fan, and i like many others was eagerly awaiting the definitive box set release we all knew was coming. It was worth the wait, to all of you who think a better box set is coming, I'm afraid you will be disappointed. Warner home video have confirmed this is as good as its going to get. However they also confirmed that a more cost effective set, minus the memorabilia and extravagant packaging would be released following the sale of all 63,000 sets.

For anyone complaining about the price, i believe this future set is for you. This set is purely for the die hard fans, like myself. It is also worth noting that the 63,000 copy limitation applies to the entire planet, and so only a fraction of that will be sold within the uk. Also, all 8 pieces of memorabilia are exclusive to this set. Another horcrux locket was available for purchase through the noble collection, but the one in this set is different and of higher quality.

I also urge all of you saying that the set looks flimsy to view the unboxing video of the set, which shows the cast exploring the contents. It is quite honestly the most impressive, highest quality release i have ever seen on home video, justifying its hefty price tag.

I also find it absurd that several people have given a one star review on a product that is still weeks away from release! These reviews are done by bitter consumers complaining about the price, and are bad mouthing it for that reason alone. If you cannot afford this set, several other releases exist for you to choose from, be it the standard box set or the ultimate edition releases. Or you could wait for the future, more simple set.

Unless you are a huge, die hard potter fan, this set simply isn't aimed at you, so please stop complaining. Giving the product a one star review isn't going to make warner re-evaluate their pricing or marketing strategy, all it does is make this set look bad to possible buyers, which is entirely unfair. I am thrilled with this set, and am willing to pay the high but reasonable price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word amazing, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me start with that I was in two minds whether to get this box set or not, I already had the limted edition box set that came out last year and all the ultimate edition years 1 to 6, I came across the video of the cast unboxing this on youtube and was blow away with it, so I sold all ulitmate editions and my limted edition box set to get the wizard's collection and I am happy to say I DO NOT regret this one bit!

The wizards collection is out of this world. It so big . the guy who delivered it was struggling to get it out the van! it was really heavy. Every film came in cases made up like a wizard book , really good quality. There a lot more blu ray in this collection, with the ultimate there was only one disc which was the film which was in blue ray but with the wizard's collection the creating the world of harry potter documentry is blu ray too which I like. The collectable are really good quietly and the art work is wonderful

If you are a Harry Potter fan and love all the extras then its worth the money and have been watching all afternoon and evening and this was only the deathly hallows extras!

Its an amazing box set to have. I would give it a 10/10. Only problem is trying to find a place for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it!, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I bought I thought it was too expensive for a product like this, but the material of the actual box/drawers is very very nice and even the new content (which always will be little for every fan) shocked me with some revelations/secrets of the production.
Just saw the Bonus Disc and the first part of the documentary "Creating the World of Harry Potter", which is in "Year 1", but I liked very much. Just disappointed that the Special Features DVD of Philosopher's Stone is the same released with the movie in that kind of "game" you have to go through.
Plus, the memorabilia is very nice. The locket is beautifully crafted, the Label Collection and the Artefacts books are also very beautiful.
It worth it and it's a collector's complimetary acquisition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Happy USA Customer!, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got a tip off the USA Amazon.com site that it was cheaper (with shipping) to buy this from Amazon.uk, if you wanted the Blu Ray version. I took a chance and I'm so happy!

The discs DO play on USA Blu Ray players, the DVD's will NOT as they are region 2, but that's fine, I have the regular DVD's in region 1 in several different sets.

This set is really done well. Top quality! I'm happy, because so many sets came in cheap cardboard with plastic hinges, this one does not! Love the extras, although I haven't opened each one yet.

I can't say I "love" the price, but I'm a Harry Potter fanatic and I had to have one, plus I now have them all on Blu Ray (well over $100 if you buy each one on Blu Ray by themselves)! Woo!

I saved $150 USD by buying from Amazon.uk vs Amazon.com. I also like the fact I now have "The Philosophers Stone", in the USA it's "The Sorcerers Stone". I assume JK Rowling intended it be the first one, so this is a really nice keepsake in itself. It's also fun knowing I got this from the UK where it all started!

Should you spend your hard earned money, drain your savings account for this once in a lifetime, one of a kind (okay 63,000 of a kind - yeah so much for the only 8000 are being made as advertised) set? YES! I got #36,XXX, so there are only about half left!

I can't wait to watch them one by one in order and in Blu Ray! Finally, a set worthy of the Harry Potter franchise. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My Harry Potter Wizards collection arrived this morning (day of release) at 7.20am. I could not believe how early it was, I was so excited. After I signed for my parcel, I was handed a HUGE box, the first thing I noticed was it weighed a tonne! I kicked the front door shut and went to the living room to open it.

First of all, I have to say, WOW it's MASIVE! Stunning to look at. Well presented and very well made. It comes in a box, and well packed inside with polystyrene packaging, and wrapped in tissue paper. Then once you have opened it very carefully, you are greated by a huge, heavy and incredibly large box. It's the biggest box set you will ever seen in your life!!! It's so well made and SOLID!

The attention to detail is just stunning. Yes they have got the house colours right. The extended versions of Philosophers Stone & Chamber of Secrets, are just so fantastic. With so many scenes accurate to the books. I have really enjoyed watching them today.

Once you open the lid, the flap at the front is magnetic, so it clicks open and clicks shut. The lid itself is on hinges so opens and closes with ease. The secret compartments/draws need to be pushed in for it to click out to open. Each film is in its own little solid book with all the other disks relating to that spefific film. Just incredible. I have not yet opened the rest, as I am savering each moment.

For £177 it is a complete steal!!! It's well worth the money, and with most of them sold already, best get yours today, as tomorrow, they will be gone!

Just for reference, I have number 30'877
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than I expected, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I pre-ordered this product quite a while back and there had been many times when I had considered cancelling. The reviews on here and on Amazon US made it difficult to enjoy the build up to the release, which made me doubt getting it entirely. However, I stuck it out and received the item today. Boy, all those doubts were for nothing.

The pictures do not do the case justice. The designs of everything is so cleverly produced that it looks like something you would see displayed in the actual film. Yes, it may be cardboard but it's DURABLE. It doesn't even feel like cardboard, nor does it look like it. The packaging as a whole and how well protected the items come in the actual box set make it well worth the cost. (My box was even placed in the delivery case upside down and there was no damage to it). If you're not a dedicated fan to the franchise, then it probably wouldn't be worth it. But if you are, get it while you can.

So, so pleased with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can I just say that this is absolutely enchanting, magical, great, awesome, ... (I could go on for ages you know)
It arrived in a huge box which was so heavy, way bigger than I had expected !
Inside the box was another box surrounded by airfilled cushions, inside that box was the Harry Potter box which than eventually contained the Wizards Collection box, so it was definitely securely sent :)

And then the magical discovery of the Wizards Collection began !
I found the locket and the scroll with the UV-codes, opened the drawers and thus found all the books with the discs inside them.
I found the sketches inside an envelope and found a book with all the labels they used in the movies, and more importantly the certificate of authenticity, it's really marvelous !
I found the hidden disc which contains never-before-seen extra's.
Then I started freaking a bit, because I hadn't found the cloth map of Hogwarts and its surrounding areas, nor the Hogwarts blueprint, nor the book with props and artefacts..
But then I saw another compartment, which I previously hadn't recognized as being able to open, and there it was !

As one Potterhead to another, if you're thinking about buying this, stop doubting and just do it, it's worth every single penny !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Boxset Ever created., 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WOW!!!!! Perfection. What can I say, a great way to finish off an amazing saga. I bought the limited edition box set of harry potter before this and something felt missing and it also felt a bit rushed. But this boxset if perfect. It feels like time and effort went into creating it for the fans. It maybe the most expensive boxset ever create but id say it worth every penny. If i had been Warner Brothers I would of sold it for at least triple the original asking price because its really that good and valuable. Cant say how much I recommend this item. Would advise getting one sooner rather than later as there are on 60000 and one day it will be worth a considerably lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter Wizard's Collection [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Harry Potter Wizard's Collection [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Robbie Coltrane (Blu-ray - 2012)
Used & New from: £392.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews