Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Very funny. Brilliant
Published 3 months ago by david rayner

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basically the movie that started the hbo series 'girls'
If you like 'Girls' the HBO series you'll like this. This movie is the movie of 'girls' the series basically without the gratuitous scenes. Arty, I liked it all in all
Published 22 months ago by Straighttalking


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basically the movie that started the hbo series 'girls', 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Furniture [DVD] (DVD)
If you like 'Girls' the HBO series you'll like this. This movie is the movie of 'girls' the series basically without the gratuitous scenes. Arty, I liked it all in all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Furniture [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Furniture [DVD] (DVD)
Lena Dunham is just superb! If you're a fan of Girls, this is an ideal film! Very witty and odd humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Furniture [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it. I love Lena Dunham n whole cast anyway that's why I purchased :)) wd b interested in anything she is involved in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unsettling...but enteratining, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Peter of SE7 (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tiny Furniture (DVD)
Apart from her small cameo role in "The Innkeepers" Lena Dunham has never crossed my path before - unlike Praise for Lena Dunham and her ensuing Celebrity status (I have never seen "Girls"). So, let me just say that I found her to be a charming screen presence, and a fine writer of comedy. "Tiny Furniture" is, on the whole, a much better example of the genre than, say, "Frances a", if only because most of the characters who inhabit this film are nowhere near as sociopathically unlikeable. That said, I am not too sure I would want to spend too much more time in the company of Aura and her family and friends, a feeling reinforced by watching the 5 short films by LD in the DVD extras. A one-night stand with Aura is quite enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Received both season 1&2 for Xmas., 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Furniture [DVD] (DVD)
Girls is a great tv program and because I knew that Lena had written Tiny Furniture I had to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen without the charm, 7 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Tiny Furniture [DVD] (DVD)
Lena Dunham seems to be everywhere at the moment, so it was timely to catch up with this, her directorial debut. It didn't really work for me. It's about rather self-indulged middle class New Yorkers (think Woody Allen but without the charm) who lead rather pointless lives. The central character (played by Dunham) is a dysfunctional, infantile girl given to a rather sordid private life. The film did hold my attention to the end, though I didn't find it that funny or illuminating. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Random but mildly eventful story, 6 Sep 2012
This review is from: Tiny Furniture [DVD] (DVD)
It's a curious independent movie that falls into the usual traps of its type.

1. Too amorphous and plotless for its own good.

2. It shies away from any big dramatic fireworks, as if it's embarrassed that someone might say that it was unrealistic. Even when people are shouting at each other it's still grounded in the mundane reality of a quick loss of temper followed by apologies.

3. The ending is unsatisfying. The exact end point is precision picked for maximum randomness so that every single audience member can go, "What, was that it?"

The female characters were well drawn and had a warmth to them. The male characters on the other hand were all unpleasant and highly unlikeable. I don't know if it was because she couldn't write rounded male characters, or she was trying to make a point. Perhaps it's an accurate depiction of confusing, seemingly inscrutable male behaviour from a woman's perspective?

Not much of a plot emerged, and it was hard to be certain were the film was going as it didn't have a clear destination. There is a lack of focus on what the film is actually about. I guess it's mostly about her "romances", but neither of those two plotlines came to much of a conclusion.*

The title is a little pointless as the model furniture is a small detail of no significance or importance. There is no thematic relevance to her mother photographing them.

It was made on a shoestring budget of $50,000, and two of the main cast are the mother and sister of the lead actress-writer-director. Most of the movie was shot in their own home.

Apparently it was filmed using a very cheap, standard domestic high definition camera called a Canon EOS 7D Digital SLR. Visually it's a well photographed movie. It's not dingy or bad looking. I assume proper lighting equipment was used to make it look that nice. I thought it was odd that they filmed it in 2.35:1 widescreen, which is rather wide for a film that consists mostly of people talking.

The editing was often quite minimalist with some scenes shot as unbroken long takes. They were not riveting to look at, but she never held them so long that they became annoying.

The film was okay and the story was mildly eventful. The characters were interesting so I was never bored or left wondering why I was watching it. Although it doesn't add up to much in the end, I found it to be consistently entertaining.

SPOILERS

* One character just dropped out of the film before the end. The other situation was kind of left hanging. Well it was resolved in some ways I suppose. The film left it up to the audience to work out what, if anything, was going to happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Furniture [DVD] (DVD)
a real insight into the world and thoughts pre Girls - love her writing. she is wonderfully selfish x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Furniture [DVD] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiny Furniture [DVD]
Tiny Furniture [DVD] by Lena Dunham (DVD - 2012)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews