Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs To Make The Heart Beat Faster, 29 Oct 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
Norwegian singer/songwriter Susanne Sundfor pulls out all the stops
with her new album 'The Silicone Veil'. Epic songs for a truly epic
voice. This young woman has a fine set of pipes with the kind of upper
register which makes the blood course faster through our veins and sweat
break out on our brows. These ten tracks have a haunting pulsating presence;
their mesmerising melodic inventions and densely brooding beats framing
vocal performances of quite extraordinary intensity. With nods here and
there to seventies prog-rock and a curiously folksy undertow these songs
have an almost organic quality which lingers magically in our mind's ear.

Take a number like 'Can You Feel The Thunder', a simply stunning composition,
where a rolling piano line and iridescent string arrangement hold Ms Sundfor's
glorious voice aloft like sun breaking through billowing storm clouds. The
instrumental interlude, 'Meditation In An Emegency', which follows maintains
the sublime mood until the grinding riff and driving percussion of 'Among Us',
with its complex harmonies, hits us like a hammer blow between the eyes!
'Rome' is another perfectly-wrought sonic wonder, full of echoing otherworldly
rhythms, shimmering synths and a vocal turn bursting with deftly articulated
emotion. So too the sublimely simple but bewitchingly uplifting introduction
to title title track 'The Silicone Veil' which employs a gently plucked harp to
stunning effect until the full force of the central melody sweeps us clean away.
Best of all, perhaps, is the plaintive 'When'; a song to warm the coldest heart!

A remarkable achievement. The album is deservedly destined for my year's top ten.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
A very different sound and something new every time I listen. A worth while investment for anyone interested in something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Silicone Veil, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
I bought the cd after hearing Susanne Sundfør interviewed on the Dermot O'Leary show and him playing one song and I'm so glad I did. I love her voice and the electro pop element of some of the tracks, which surprised me having only heard White Foxes, and the haunting melody of others. However, my partner thinks it's 'ok' and my teenage daughters think it's 'just weird'! Definitely an acquired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the year!, 6 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
Susanne Sundfør has one of the greatest voices in music.
I love every second and every minute in it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We love this, 28 Jan 2014
By 
G. Walker "greyone" (Mirfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
My wife asked for this for Yule after hearing the White Foxes track used by the BBC. This CD is very different and takes a few serious listens to really get into it, but this is well worth the effort. Initially White Foxes is the stand out track, but that is only due to the familiarity, once you are into the CD all of the tracks are of the same high quality.

Simply put, we all love this CD, go on give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of an album that won't disappoint, 6 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
I've been listening to Susanne's music for a number of years now, courtesy of a Norwegian family member, and have to say I love everything about her music. The lyrics are often haunting but the electronic side of things brings a whole new dimension to the songs. I would say, personally, that this album isn't as good as The Brothel, but is better than Take One which has less of an electronic element.
For anyone that finds this music strange it can take a few listens before the sheer brilliance of it grabs you and keeps you listening again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something actually sounding original in 2012?, 14 Jan 2013
By 
M. G. Raven (Shoreham-by-Sea UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
Like at least one other reviewer here, I came to this CD via an interview with Dermot O'Leary and one song, the astonishing and almost operatic White Foxes. I still remained unprepared for a glorious collection balancing electronica, piano, harp and more. The fusion strikes me as quite unique, thus rendering the search for a comparable artist as a reference point redundant. My album of 2012 (and I thought I hated electronica!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNIQUE VOICE, 20 Mar 2014
By 
DEANO. "D.Lester." (Oldbury, West Midlands.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
I would like to put this album forward for your consideration, a beautiful voice, quite unique and crystal clear.
Great songwriting, well worth adding to your music collection. Enjoy.
Deano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A talent in this jungle of showmen!, 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
Susanne Sundfør has dominated the Norwegian music scene, ever since the magnificent "The Brothel" was released in 2010. With her versatile, yet recognisable voice, and vastly impressive musical talent, the expectations were great before releasing "The Silicone Veil" two years later, in 2012.

The Silicone Veil is something more. Sundfør beautifully narrates a journey, through the northern forests, the snow covered fields and local fauna. To warmer destinations, vivid images from the city of love and a bull run in Pamplona. The Silicone Veil is a melancholic, mythological work, with references bigger than the artist herself. The name in itself, "Silicone Veil"; a question on life and death, a Shakespearean reference to "to be, or not to be". Can The Natural and technology co-exist? Are we truly free or forever bound to others?

This is an extraordinary album, a magnificent, most personal piece of work. The composition is stellar. A tale of the banality surrounding love and hate, of where humans fall short and of hearts made of glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silicone Veil (Audio CD)
Thank you BBC trailer department for using White Foxes on the `Original British Drama trailer' as I might have otherwise never come across this incredible talent, and that would have been tragic.. Okay, OTT maybe, but Susanne Sundfør is one of those artists that makes you feel excited for the medium of music and song. She crafts works that are dense and complex, weaving a constantly changing tapestry of sound, yet they remain accessible and instantly rewarding, however, repeated plays gives the greatest reward, as the songs sink into your soul. Her voice has control, range and power, that is guaranteed to make the hairs on the back of your neck tingle

The Silicone Veil is one of those albums you want to play again as soon as its finished and is nothing short of a triumph... I hope, like me, the BBC trail brings her a new audience, and the recognition she deserves outside of her home country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews