Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, but obtain and read the manual if you are not familiar with rework stations
Nice unit for hobby use, works very well, but read the manual and carry out an electrical safety check before using.

No manual is supplied with the equipment (allegedly for ecological reasons). It is obtainable in English as a .pdf file by contacting SainStore via Amazon. It does not appear to be available on-line. As the high temperatures pose a risk of...
Published on 17 Mar. 2013 by PeterS

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be very Careful !
I should point out that I have had one of these for about 2 years but that doesn't mean it's any good.
Unfortunately the device is (was) supplied with a non-UK (Australian actually) plug fitted and an adaptor would have been needed to use it. Supplying devices with unfused non UK plugs and adaptors is not against the law as the onus is on the user to ensure safety...
Published 15 months ago by Dale A. Haines


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, but obtain and read the manual if you are not familiar with rework stations, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
Nice unit for hobby use, works very well, but read the manual and carry out an electrical safety check before using.

No manual is supplied with the equipment (allegedly for ecological reasons). It is obtainable in English as a .pdf file by contacting SainStore via Amazon. It does not appear to be available on-line. As the high temperatures pose a risk of injury or fire if the equipment is mishandled, this could be serious for an inexperienced user - the manual contains 10 well-made safety points on the first page. For hobby use or in limited workshop space it is worth fitting a baffle to ensure that the very hot air cannot impinge on potentially flamable surfaces or materials whilst the head is cooling down (it runs on until the nozzle air temperature falls below 100C).

A three core moulded IEC C13 to Type I plug (used in China and Australia) mains lead was provided with a well made adapter to UK 13A plug, so the unit was usable out of the box.

I carried out electrical safety tests before first use. Although the metal blower nozzle is correctly Earthed, the power connector Earth pin was not connected to the metal casing of the base unit on my example but was easily fixed. Otherwise, the quality of construction was good.

The temperature at 5-10mm from the end of the finest nozzle is close to that indicated by the front panel, which is ideal. The airflow is adequate for most purposes, including the removal of large BGA integrated circuits.

Excellent value, but take precautions before use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 13 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
I use hot air rework stations for my work repairing tvs, this unit cost a fraction of the price to the ones i use and performs fantastically great value for money, plenty of controllable heat available worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not full of hot air!, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
K. Jamison (Co. Down, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
Working with more delicate computer circuits forced me to look at alternate measures to soldering. After I received this item, it developed a fault and did not heat up.

An email to the seller resulted in a quick reply and so began an email conversation on how to reset the device.

Alas, despite a replacement part, it was dead.

The seller sent a complete replacement device which works magically and I have been able to continue my work with this very handy device.

Useful for when even the thinnest soldering iron tip is too broad for delicate surface mounted work, this is ideal and comes with a set of three nozzles to direct the heated air over broad or narrow areas to re-flow the solder.

I also find it handy on it's lowest heat setting (150 degrees) for heat shrink tubing and softening Polymorph when a tub of warm water is not to hand.

It is also a handy tool for drying the surfaces of circuit boards and testing temperature sensitive switches and components.

Just as several others have done, I had to retrofit the appropriate earth connectors between the metal casing and the earth point. Be sure to test the earth connection on each of the top, rear, front and bottom panels. The paint is a very good insulator - you will need to remove some of it.

I'm not just highly recommending the item but I am also recommending the excellent customer service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent rework tool for one-off jobs..., 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
The unit is compact and only require minimal screwing together - the side arm needs to be screwed onto the main body.

With variable temperature and airflow settings, it is easy to control the warm-bake-cool down cycle and you don't have to worry about blowing small components away when re-working. The first test was reworking the BGA chips on a PS3 motherboard and it did a flawless job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool & value for money, works well., 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
Short and Sweet review..

I have not had one of these before so took the plunge. It was setup in a couple of minutes and removing surface mount chips/components in no time.
It works flawlessly and has a good heat range.

I did receive 2 manuals in the box one in Chinese and the other in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be very Careful !, 22 Jan. 2014
By 
Dale A. Haines "master_ice" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
I should point out that I have had one of these for about 2 years but that doesn't mean it's any good.
Unfortunately the device is (was) supplied with a non-UK (Australian actually) plug fitted and an adaptor would have been needed to use it. Supplying devices with unfused non UK plugs and adaptors is not against the law as the onus is on the user to ensure safety. On mine I simply removed the non-standard plug and replaced with a 13A plug top and the correct fuse.
However it was whilst doing this I discovered another potentially lethal problem with the device.

I would also advise that anyone who already has one of these checks the continuity between the earth wire (Green/yellow)and the exposed metal of the front and rear panels. By law these and any exposed metal surfaces must be connected to a safety earth unless the unit uses some form of double insulation on the mains input.
This device does not!
Consequently a failure could render the panels live.
I added a protective earth to my unit and have used it occasionally ever since. I say occasionally since the mains transformer inside the unit is certainly not designed for regular or constant use at the current it needs to supply.
It works and it's cheap (but cheaper on Ebay) however it is not of the standard I would have expected by the manufacturer ATTEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and small, 30 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. C. E. Oates "Cornish walker" (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
I've got a large rework station that I use at work but wanted a small one for home use - this is ideal.
Cute thing I like is the capacitive handle switch - you pick it up and it starts.
Has cool down post flow and a few nozzles.
Ideal for smd work and plastic welding or indeed anything that requires controlled heat.
Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rework Station, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
The rework station purchased arrived on time and within a hour had paid for itself
Two laptop mother boards (video chip) reworked and now working

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007F9HM28/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot air solder blower, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Ken (Carlisle) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
Now everybody needs one of these, this is brilliant and so many uses and not just for soldering I use it for heat shrink tubing, and for temperature control heat on the replacement glass on my phone brilliant. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laptop repair tool, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New ATTEN AT 858D+ 858D SMD Hot Rework Digital Station Air Solder Blower Gun (Misc.)
If your into repairing electronic's and laptop, tablet etc this tool is for you. I have now repaired about five laptops which I reflow-ed the video chip, desoldered DC sockets. This item has saved me lots of time and money trying to replace motherboards.
Some chips can take time to get up to heat and a jig to hold the heat gun, like a little stand to take the strain of holding the tool over the chip. tip! practice on an old board to get to grips with the time it takes to reflow and desoldered..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews