Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starts off at a fast pace which lasts till the end
Other reviewers do not seem to realise that this is fiction. Accept the proposed scenario as something to hang the story on and enjoy.
I found that I could not put it down and kept looking forward to reading more.
Well recommended.
Published on 15 Dec. 2012 by ColinT

versus
112 of 120 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eyes wide shut
His eyes narrowed. His eyes widened. His eyes narrowed and widened. Occasionally widened and narrowed.

Her eyes glistened, sometimes glittered. She is really something, especially when explaining her theories for hours to him, while he's tied to the bed with his eyes narrowing. And widening.

When they have a pizza, with the distinct possibility...
Published on 11 Sept. 2012 by Ventris Arden


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 120 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eyes wide shut, 11 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WIRED (Kindle Edition)
His eyes narrowed. His eyes widened. His eyes narrowed and widened. Occasionally widened and narrowed.

Her eyes glistened, sometimes glittered. She is really something, especially when explaining her theories for hours to him, while he's tied to the bed with his eyes narrowing. And widening.

When they have a pizza, with the distinct possibility of hot lead being served with the cheese, they do spend a long, long time talking theories. Pizza would have got awful cold but their mouths narrowed and widened which helped.

He does, at times, bark, but mainly does gymnastics with his eyes although he knows a lot and is evidently a big fan of Wikipedia,able to recall gobbits of knowledge about, um, Nietzsche while his eyes narrow.
When his eyes widened for the zillionth time, mine closed and I didn't have to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter tripe, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wired (MP3 CD)
I'm two chapters in. The characters are one dimensional. The description is grating. The plot is ludicrous.

It's like Dan Brown Lite.

I mean truly awful. You can feel your brain melting as you're reading it.

The one saving grace is it was free when I bought it. That and I bought it on my kindle, so no tree died to make this awful, utter tripe.

Please, for the sake of your brain, for the sake of literature, for the sake of sanity, do not read this "book". Please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Nature of Human Nature, 16 Oct. 2011
By 
E. Phillips - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WIRED (Kindle Edition)
What if it were possible for mankind to live indefinitely and with unlimited intelligence?

That is the underlying premise of Douglas E. Richards' mystery/thriller Wired. The premise is undeniably captivating, but the execution of the storytelling was not all that it could have been. Not to say that the book was terrible by any stretch of the imagination, it simply fell short of 'excellent' - and it could have been - had a little more attention to avoidance of cliché, and the overuse of sometimes megalomaniacal exposition to impart character motivation, which was the only real problem that detracted from the action of the book.

Several reviewers have complained about stereotypical characterisation of the protagonists, both hero and heroine, within the pages of the novel, but sometimes that just works in a story's favour, and this seems to be the case with Wired, where the story and the ethical and existential questions raised in the ongoing plot become almost a character in their own right, and the actual characters merely a vehicle for the exploration of human nature.

The story is fast paced, and action packed in which Desh and Miller must use all available resources to stay ahead of a threat that seems to constantly mutate, as much as the DNA on which Miller has been experimenting. The story provides a thought provoking nudge toward real thought about our use of scientific advances that are fast approaching what many would once have considered 'science fiction' and to remind us of the dangers inherent in 'playing god.' Set this against an interesting blend of genres, (refreshing perhaps to see an author dare to bend the rules of genre division), including sci-fi, adventure, action and romance, and you have Richards' Wired, a promising, escapist read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good action, plot and characters lacking, 26 Feb. 2012
This review is from: WIRED (Kindle Edition)
This is an OK read if you a fan of action. Other than that the plot was farfetched, the characters were flat and the dialog lacked punch. It's perfectly fine if you're rained or snowed in for a weekend, although there are other books out there I'd rather have with me. The author's bio says this is his first adult novel after writing children's books. He writes well, so I suppose I would try another of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starts off at a fast pace which lasts till the end, 15 Dec. 2012
This review is from: WIRED (Kindle Edition)
Other reviewers do not seem to realise that this is fiction. Accept the proposed scenario as something to hang the story on and enjoy.
I found that I could not put it down and kept looking forward to reading more.
Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must read this book!, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WIRED (Kindle Edition)
What can I say about this book that will do it justice! It is an absolute brilliant read and once you start it you cannot put it down until you have finished.I can't wait to read the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good science thriller, 21 July 2011
By 
P. D. Morriss (the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WIRED (Kindle Edition)
This is a cat and mouse story, where the mouse is actually a tiger. The plot has several twists so you're not sure who are really the bad guys until you get close to the end. It also has quite a lot of talking in it, not just the action stuff, which I didn't mind. That's where the science part of this "science thriller" comes out. It's a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A unchallenging holiday read, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WIRED (Kindle Edition)
A well paced and not wholly daft in its subject matter. Definitely a quick read and if you don't allow yourself to get frustrated by the broad brush charachterisations and use of stereo types I.e. the often referred to threat of both the middle east and gay people then you'll probably get along just fine with this book. My final verdict is a diverting read but I wouldn't want to give it room in my home library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and refreshingly original!, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WIRED (Kindle Edition)
Unlike most of the free books for Kindle I've endured, this was fantastic. Gripping plot, well balanced, great pace so I read it in only a couple of sittings. My only criticism is that the characters are somewhat 2 dimensional, especially those other than the hero and heroine, but otherwise highly recommended and will be reading more of Mr Richards work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good and easy read., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WIRED (Kindle Edition)
it is OK, very easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WIRED
WIRED by Douglas E. Richards
£4.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews