Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unshed Tears
Unshed Tears is an amazing tale of a girl's survival of the Holocaust. It is intense and harrowing, but ultimately inspiring and full of hope.
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by Yasmin Dix

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Completely spoiled because of awful formatting
I was so looking forward to reading this book but it was completely ruined for me because of the atrocious formatting. Some pages had alternate lines with only one word, words ran in to each other, paragraphs broken. This formatting (or lack thereof) made it impossible to read seamlessly and meant it was difficult to get right into the story and it just didn't flow. I...
Published on 18 July 2012 by I Love New York


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unshed Tears, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: UNSHED TEARS (Kindle Edition)
Unshed Tears is an amazing tale of a girl's survival of the Holocaust. It is intense and harrowing, but ultimately inspiring and full of hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unshed Tears, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: UNSHED TEARS (Kindle Edition)
This is an easy book to read but at times quite harrowing. The love story is unexpected and hope shines throughout the book. This is the true story of the holocaust. Buckets of tears were shed whilst resading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unshed Tears, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: UNSHED TEARS (Kindle Edition)
A view of the Holocaust seen through the eyes of a child. Very moving in the simplicity of its telling..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Poignant Legacy, 30 April 2012
This review is from: UNSHED TEARS (Kindle Edition)
A very moving insight into the holocaust and its devastating effects on the families and individuals that had to endure it. It serves as a poignant legacy to all those who did not return from the camps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, disturbing, uplifting, 21 May 2012
By 
The G-Man (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: UNSHED TEARS (Kindle Edition)
This extraordinary book moved me,a somewhat cynical 49 year old male, to tears. Several times.

Edith Hofmann wrote this book when she was 19, just a few years after the war. At the time she was told no-one would want to read it as no-one was interested in the war any more. So she put her book away in a drawer and there it languished for 50 years.

It's written in third person, as a novel, because she was frightened for her safety. But that in no way reduces its impact and it's clear all along that she writes from (recent) personal experience.

She wrote in English, and as she had been studying the language for just two years her writing is, to begin with at least, rather awkward. But her story soon absorbs the reader and minor issues of grammar or syntax quickly become irrelevant.

Whatever I expected of this book, I did not expect a love story. That's only part of the book, and in page number terms only a small part, but it's clear that had Edith not met him, and had his faith in her not restored her faith in herself, she would probably not have survived.

What moves me the most is the sense of hope that fills the book, faltering only occasionally and then only at the darkest of moments and only briefly. This is what makes the book so inspiring.

For me, Edith Hofmann's book is on a par with Anne Frank's diary. It's different, not least because Anne Frank's diary does not include the time she spent in the concentration camps whereas Edith Hofmann's book does, in graphic and sometimes difficult-to -read detail. Anne Frank's diary is on many people's must-read list. So too should be Edith Hofmann's moving and extraordinary book.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unshed Tears (Kindle Edition)
The workds "amazing" do no justice to this story. Thank you for sharing such a personal and tragic story, its something I shall never forget (and something that must never be forgotten). It is a must read for anyone that needs reminding just how lucky we are now days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: UNSHED TEARS (Kindle Edition)
The story centres around Judith, a young Jewish girl and her experiences through the second world war.

This is a brilliant book that really brings home what life was like during the war. Although there is a lot of tragedy throughout the book there is also an underlying message of hope and perseverance.

My only criticism is that it doesn't seem to have been formatted for the kindle properly and there were a lot of instances where the space between words had been missed out.

Apart from that it's a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly absorbing, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: UNSHED TEARS (Kindle Edition)
loved it, loved it, loved it, this book moved me to tears as many of the holocaust books have done in the past,made me laugh and filled me with admiration for this young girl, even though its style was rather simplistic it completely drew me in and made the whole story come to life. To read of an account like this from ghetto to concentration camp through to liberation just made me want to know more of judiths life after the war had ended, all written by a 19 year old girl amazing .i would highly recommend this , only critiscism was the kindle format was jumpy and had spaces which was annoying as it spoiled the flow of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bushes tears, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unshed Tears (Kindle Edition)
Such an amazing book heart rendering I struggled to put down such fight for a young girl her descriptions so clear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good book, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unshed Tears (Kindle Edition)
This book, although it is very said how one human being can treat another,I could not stop reading it brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unshed Tears
Unshed Tears by Edith Hofmann
1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews