Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly as good as 20 yrs ago
I saw this at the movies in 1990 and it made a big impact on a 20 year old. 20 years later some schenes arent that controversial as they were then but it is still a good road movie.
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Anitastone

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the director's cut, sadly
The film is 5 stars, this BD release is sadly 3. This is the regular theatrical cut of the film, and not the director's cut, so some of the violence is trimmed back in small ways and in the case of the shotgun scene has the added optical to obliterate the gush of blood. The BD transfer is extremely good, the film looks and sounds as amazing as it did on the big screen...
Published on 2 Nov 2010 by P. Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly as good as 20 yrs ago, 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: Wild At Heart [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this at the movies in 1990 and it made a big impact on a 20 year old. 20 years later some schenes arent that controversial as they were then but it is still a good road movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight fun and a trip into the heart of the weird and not so wonderful., 29 Feb 2008
This review is from: Wild At Heart [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
It's true to say that Wild At Heart is perhaps one of David Lynch's more-flawed cinematic endeavours, with many of the scenes, and indeed, the film as a whole, seeming incomplete or lacking any real purpose. One criticism of the film that tends to crop up most often is that the whole thing smacks of "weirdness for weirdness sake", with Lynch failing to tie his strange characters and their surreal situations to any kind of real narrative... which, I suppose is true. However, despite these flaws, the film is still a great deal of fun, and although the whole thing is ultimately very silly, it still has enough bizarre high-points, set-pieces, sight-gags and cameos to make the whole thing ultimately worthwhile.

I suppose the film is best described as a vicious black-comedy, though the emphasis there is on 'vicious'. Lynch also makes allusions to the 'lovers on the run' genre of crime filmmaking popular in the 60's and 70's, taking it all further into the realms of the bizarre through his own cinematic obsessions (like deformities, arson, small-town Americana, detective fiction, good versus evil, car-accidents, etc), as well as more arcane references to Elvis, voodoo, incest, and the Wizard of Oz. It's a surreal trip, best summed up by the film's repeated mantra "wild at heart, weird on top" with Lynch seemingly revelling in this carnival of grotesques, whores, thugs and criminals, all gathered together in small-town New Mexico under a haze of blood and sex. American film critic Roger Ebert mockingly referred to the film as a "lurid melodrama, soap opera, exploitation put-on, and self-satire", which to me, sums up the film's most successful attributes. The plot takes off from films like Thieves Like Us, Bonnie & Clyde and Badlands, pre-dating Oliver Stone's similarly over-the-top dark-satire, Natural Born Killers, with two star-struck lovers hitting the road in an attempt to escape from the pressures of the modern-world (parole, poverty and an over-bearing mother). Lynch lays on the melodramatic clichés in broad stroke, to the point where all narrative references are to be taken with a pinch of salt... for example, it's not enough for our hero Sailor to be a murdering jail-bird from the wrong-side of the tracks, but he has to have a loving, sex-kitten girlfriend from a well-to-do neighbourhood with over-protective loved-ones. Admittedly, Lynch does subvert this almost saccharine depiction of moral family values by offering a flashback, in which our heroine, Lula, is assaulted by a predatory uncle, while her mother is later revealed to be a drunk, manic-depressive with mafia ties, which again, is all part of the joke.

There's also the spirit of the 50's, with Fredrick Elmes' colourful wide-screen cinematography bringing to mind the Technicolor melodrama of Hollywood's golden age, and the films of people like Nicholas Ray, Elia Kazan and Douglas Sirk. There's also the obligatory references to the feckless youth of Brando in The Wild One, or the self-aware pastiche of Coppola's great film Rumble Fish, with the characters here looking and sounding like they've walked out of the pages of a lurid slice of pure pulp fiction. Of course, this is another problem that some viewers have had with the film, with Lynch offering no real characters - as he had done with masterpieces like The Elephant Man and Blue Velvet - and instead relying on arcane ciphers and bizarre caricatured grotesques. Again, this is all part of the fun and not really intended to be taken entirely seriously, with Lynch and his actors keeping the film moving from one out-burst of random surrealism to the next; with a number of humours and/or terrifying iconic performances from this esteemed, though certainly eclectic, cast of characters. The centre of the film, and indeed, the real focus of our attention, is established and sustained well through the relationship between the characters Sailor and Lula, which is developed surprisingly well through the strong and fearless performances of Nicolas Cage and Laura Dern. Dern has never looked more stunning in a film as the sensual and unhinged Lula, whilst Cage reminds us of what a strong and intense character actor he used to be in the days before he switched to shallow Hollywood blockbusters. Both actors have a great chemistry with each other, and create a believable relationship in spite of the over-the-top abstractions and dramatic flourishes called for by Lynch's script. Amongst the supporting players, Harry Dean Stanton is a joy as the hound-dog private-investigator Johnny Farragut, who is sent looking for Sailor and Lula by his lover, Lula's mother Marietta Fortune, who is brought vividly to life with a grand-standing over-the-top relish by Dern's real-life mother, Diane Ladd.

Add some bizarre cameos from Lynch regulars, like Sherilyn Fenn, Jack Nance, Freddie Jones, Grace Zabriskie, Isabella Rossalini, Sheryl Lee (here continuing the Oz references with her climactic appearance as the good witch), J.E. Freeman, Crispin Glover (in one of the film's most bizarre scenes, as Lula's troubled cousin Dell), and an extended appearance by an unrecognisable Willem Dafoe, who's character Bobby Peru meets one of the most outlandish and overly violent sequences ever witnessed on screen. Certainly this film doesn't quite floor-me with it's madness as it used to when I was 14 or 15 (and would watch this and Blue Velvet pretty much religiously), with Lynch subsequently out-doing himself with the modern masterpiece Mulholland Drive. However, this film is probably more fun, and doesn't take as much concentration to really follow or get into it.

Ultimately, the film works depending on how much of Lynch's bizarre creations you can stand; with the film falling somewhere between the darkly-comic satire of Twin Peaks at it's most wittiest and the dark, industrial nightmare of Lost Highway, only with a more linear plot. I still think it's a great deal of fun, and will undoubtedly appeal to die-hard Lynch fans or those with an interest in cult American cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mildly surreal David Lynch classic, 28 April 2006
By 
Dr. C. S. Walker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild At Heart [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable film that is well written, cast and acted (Willem Dafoe's performance is classic and shows Nicholas Cage's in his best role to date). Perhaps unusual by David Lynch's standards, the film is only mildy surreal with a storyline you can follow. Would recommend to anyone except parents, too weird and violent, and work colleagues who might think you're a bit odd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the director's cut, sadly, 2 Nov 2010
By 
P. Edwards "cinemarts" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The film is 5 stars, this BD release is sadly 3. This is the regular theatrical cut of the film, and not the director's cut, so some of the violence is trimmed back in small ways and in the case of the shotgun scene has the added optical to obliterate the gush of blood. The BD transfer is extremely good, the film looks and sounds as amazing as it did on the big screen. Definitely worth having until the DC gets the BD treatment, but hang on to your DVD DC as well until it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extra's are a superb package on this disc., 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild At Heart [DVD] (DVD)
Nice to see a proper remastered DVD release for this Lynch classic, including lots of fab extra's!
The interviews with the cast and crew are REALLY entertaining, and Willem Dafoe in particular tells some great anecdotes about his time filming his legendary character role as the nasty Bobby Peru.
David Lynch is so damn interesting and I love hearing him interviewed.
Even Laura Palmer from Twin Peaks (the Good Witch in this movie) shares her thoughts on the filming of this movie.
I was VERY happy with all the extra's on this collector's edition and the movie itself looks wonderful in its remastered format.
Now if only Mr Lynch would give "Lost Highway" this kind of DVD collector's edition treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This whole world's wild at heart and weird on top", 12 May 2009
By 
a1ex8 (Leeds, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild At Heart [DVD] (DVD)
As always, David Lynch is on top form, and Wild at Heart is yet another stunning film added to his list.

Lynch as always has managed to create and craft a unique blend of bizarre visuals, strange and akward characters, a unique and individual story line, popped them all into his cauldron, added a touch of transcendental meditation, lots of coffee, and out popped this gem. I cannot rate this film enough. If you haven't already seen it, do so.

Nicolas Cage as Sailor is absolutely fantastic, Willem Dafoe's character as Bobby Peru is disturbing but excellent, and Laura Dern (a Lynch regular) as usual is superb.

The film focuses around the weird and wonderful journey the two main protagonists Sailor (Cage), and Lulu (Dern) embark on to escape Lulu's Psycopathic mother (Diane Ladd).

The two main characters; Sailor and Lulu, are completely and passionately in love with one another. Unfortunately, Lulu's incredibly psychotic and domineering mother (Diane ladd) can't bear to see them together, and hires a notorious, and sinister hitman to track them down and kill Sailor.

Lynch, obviously highly influenced by the film The Wizard of Oz has used heavy allusions of this in Wild at Heart, and has used his unique directorial skills to offer the viewer a 'slightly' different take on the original.

As you can guess already, I'm a huge Lynch fan, and luckily, watching this film may help people to follow suit. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wicked and Wild, 31 May 2007
This review is from: Wild At Heart [DVD] (DVD)
It helps watching the trailer first for this Nicholas Cage film. The theme song,'Wicked Dream' is so enthralling.

This is a romantic, abstract, Lynchian Wizard of Oz. It can get heavy, apart from our lovers, everyone here is totally and abundantly cookoo, especially Lulas Mum for a start, she is the wicked witch in her head. William Dafoe's part is really haunting too, especially how he is introduced to us, the way he comes out of the dark.

It needs to be watched many times so as to understand the full essence ofthe film which can be very dark at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A ride on the wild side, 30 Jun 2003
This review is from: Wild At Heart [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you like violent, funny and erotic movies then you're like me and you will love this film. Kicking off with an excellent cast headed by Nickolas Cage, Laura Dern and Diane Ladd (nominated for an academy award), this film takes a ride on the wild side. Following the lives of two lovers eloping from an angry mother, this film is quick to establish an emotional side with many classic songs along the way, only to end with murder. The film established director David Lynch as as a reputable movie maker and since its making, this 'Bonnie & Clyde road movie' has had ideas borrowed in many a film. With the release of this film on DVD fast approaching, you should be quick to snap it up as I feel that the new format will do the film no end of good. This movie should most certainly be at the top of your hit list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The movie is five stars, this blu ray is barely three. This is the worst blu ray!!, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just got to say I was VERY excited to finally get this awesome David Lynch classic on blu ray! This is one of my favorite "wierd" movies from Lynch. When I watched this bare bones blu ray, I couldn't help but noticed how lack of detail in most of the picture. It is as if someone turned the sharpness all the way down when tranfering this to this format. Why would Universal use DNR (digital noise reduction) when they normally do not!? There is so little detail that it made me sad that this classic got such a shoddy transfer to blu ray. The colors don't even stand out. And David Lynch knew how to use color in this masterpiece. The ONLY thing good about this disc that it is anamorphic (finally) and in its original 2.35 widescreen format. But having the anamorphic picture does not help in any way, in fact it brings out the ugliness in the transfer.
I hope Universal remasters this title for the upcoming David Lynch box set on blu ray. And not take out the detail and grain like they did on this first go around. Wonder what Lynch would think if he saw how drab his film could look. The non-anamorphic DVD blows away this rubbish! The Laserdisc, even with bleeding colors, looked better (and its not upconverted to 1080p).
Also to note, my HD TV is properly calibrated and I have watched some awesome looking blu rays on it. This is not one of them. Please Universal UK, fix this terrible transfer the second time around.
Why hasn't anyone else stated this problem in their reviews? Or am I expecting too much with blu ray? I expect the film to look its best, not like this. And I realize it was made in 1990, but it has to look and sound better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Game= wicked movie, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: Wild At Heart [DVD] (DVD)
It is quite sad when you type in 'Wild at Heart' you get a photo of the annoying untalented Amanda Holden. Moving swiftly on, this is a review for the (talented) David Lynch 1990 movie and not the BBC cheese-fest of the same name.

Anyhoo, I was fumbling around my dvd collection last night in a drunken state, and i reluctantly decided to play 'Wild at Heart'. I was pleased with my movie choice because 'Wild at Heart' is a stunning movie on many different levels-- Direction, soundtrack, characters, plot, sub plot, dialogue, and weirdness.

"One of these days the sun's gonna come up and burn a hole clean through the planet like a giant electrical x-ray.
Sailor: I wouldn't worry about that, Peanut. By then people'll prob'ly be drivin Buicks to the moon".

It is a road movie with the usual David Lynch surreal characteristics. The movie is about Sailor (N.Cage) and Lula (L.Dern) who are running away from Lula's lunatic mother. THis movie has some odd dialogue, a dwarf, weird characters (that dont serve any purpose) e.g. Crispin Glover (Cousin Dell)- "I'm making my lunch!"

Ha.... Crispin Glover keeps cockroaches in his underpants for some bizarre reason.

Bobby Peru is a revelation with his stumpy teeth and his dyed hair. Peru (Wm.Dafoe) is the greatest character creation in the history of motion picture (in my humble opinion). He is a disgusting, egotistical, misogynistic, violent, perverted, lunatic weirdo.
"Ya know, I sure do like a girl with nice teets like yours who talks tough and looks like she can duck like a bunny. Do you duck like that? Cause if ya do, I'll duck ya good. Like a big ol' jackrabbit bunny, jump all around that hole. Bobby Peru don't come up for air."

He is also a bank robber hwo drinks Jack Daniels - "Speaking of Jack, One eyed Jack's yearning to go a peeping in a seafood store!"

There is a happy ending --I'd like to apologise to you gentlemen for referring to you all as hoomosexuals. You taught me a valuable lesson in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild at Heart [Blu-ray] (1990)
Wild at Heart [Blu-ray] (1990) by David Lynch (Blu-ray - 2012)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews