Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like to remember things my own way...
This fine DVD re-release for Lost Highway will hopefully open it up to a wider audience. Alongside Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me, this is one of Lynch's most significant unsung works. A critical and box office catastrophe on release, it has in recent years thankful been reassessed in some quarters. Lost Highway was an experimental film, genuinely before it's...
Published on 10 Feb 2006 by P. Cox

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Runs at wrong frames per second speed
One of the advantages nearly all Blu rays have over regular UK DVDs is that they play back at the original theatrical speed of 24 frames per second (24 FPS).This is the speed that the film or digital camera shot the actual movie, and the speed shown in all US and UK movie theatres.
All DVDS on the PAL TV system play back at the faster,incorrect rate of 25 frames per...
Published 10 months ago by akjohnson


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lost in translation, 27 July 2006
By 
Spilbo (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost Highway [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
There is a lot of advice 'out there' explaining how to unwravel the plot of this film, my advice is: don't even try to fathom it there cannot be one definitive answer, just buckle your seatbelt, hang on, and enjoy the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars only because it is Lynch, 17 Nov 2009
By 
F. Panin "FabioStar" (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Highway [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I love David Lynch and I have seen a number of times Mulholland Drive (well, you need to do that to understand it...). However, this movie contains too much of metamorphosis and time jumps for my taste. Too much is left to personal interpretation or speculation. Just one tiny example: what is the Mistery Man wispering to the sax player towards the end? We have no clue - but does it really matter? In fact this is the bottom line of this movie: a mastercraft of movie making, sounds, pictures, which all stir the viewer's emotions and keep him/ her chained to the chair for more than 2 hours - but little of all this makes sense. The whole plot makes no sense. No messages can be drawn (it would be too easy to say, for example, a man can never possess a woman, or each of us has different personalities - this would be coarsly simplistic).
If it was not Lynch, I would rate this movie 2 star maximum.
Watch the movie, free your emotions for a while, then have a shower and come back to reality. And if you are not convinced by this, stay away from "Inland empire".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars here comes the fear again, 12 Aug 2002
i'm doing my dissertaion on Lynch films but...what the hell is going on here. great film. if a film doesn't make you think, it can't gain classic status (in most cases). i can make most sense, but i just need something to make it all click together. utterly engaging,as you'd expect from Lynch, and i know this is a common phrase but, classic lynch. fans won't be dissapointed. the story is about...well duality and is perhaps more film noir than anything lynch has previously done - the femme fatale,the classic cars, the job, all connotating classic 50's noir are present. if you like noir, though don't expect it here, in the typical sense of the word, and if you like your films easy on the brain-try it and be enlightened by what else is out there. funny, confusing, scary, sexy,and testing. you cannot do without seeing this - even if just for robert blake's fear inducing 'man'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynchian Nightmare...., 29 April 2005
By 
Mr. S. P. Gander "jim fear" (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Highway [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I love this movie, as select scenes, and as a whole utterly immersing piece of film. It's one of those rare films that after viewing will infect your mind for days.
The subtle performances at the begining from Bill Pullman (yes BILL PULLMAN) and Patricia Arquette perfectly convey an eerie and tense atmosphere which only helps the build up to the "transformation". The lighting is superb, the characters - especially the Mystery Man who'll live inside my mind forever, the pacing - which allows for a steady build up of angst and paranoia until complete realisation and the utter enjoyment of how personal this film feels.
This movie is so good,its hard to tell you why without you watching it. If your already a fan of Lynch and have seen Mulholland Drive and haven't got round to this yet then what have you been doing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Highway [Blu-ray] (1997) (Blu-ray)
Not yet watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Linear? Uh NO., 11 Oct 2003
By A Customer
I believe that trying to make sense of Lynch films is a pointless act and Lost Highway is no exception. This film is far from linear but I think that's why Lynch fans like his films. A break from the normal structure of Happy - Struggle - Resolving Struggle - Happy again, is needed and a great experience. Film is powerful and if it doesn't make you think, ask questions and evoke then what is the point? Sure, I like mindless love stories and comedies like the rest of them but films like this are important for the industry and audience.
However, some people can't take this sort of style. I watched it with a friend not long ago to see her reaction. She was so frustrated and bothered because there was no resolution and she just didn't understand it. You really do either love it or hate it.
Personally I loved it. The scene between Robert Blake and Bill Pullman at the party within the first 20 mins of the film was so scary to me that it brought a tear to my eye, and it takes a lot for a film to get that sort of reaction from me.
Whether you embrace the confusion or reject it, finding out is an experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick arrival, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Highway [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Arrived at my home within days of ordering with a lovely hand written postcard and invoice. Things should be hand written more often, gives the service a warmer feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT!, 7 Sep 2000
By A Customer
David Lynch at it's best! This is the best film I have ever seen from Lynch and now I finally have it on DVD! It's a MUST HAVE for Lynch fanatics (like me...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Highway [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
If you are a David Lynch fan, then you'll love this film. Strange, confusing and will keep you thinking long after you've watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Mathias Palmberg (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Highway [Blu-ray] (1997) (Blu-ray)
First off, the movie is a stone cold classic and one of the greats. So it is sad that this Blu-Ray edition is not the one I was hoping for. The PQ is alright but the image is too bright and grainy and lacks the clearness and depth you'd expect from a great transfer. The sound is however better in 2.0 LPCM which is sometimes really good. So don't waste your money if you already own a decent DVD-transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Highway [Blu-ray] (1997)
Lost Highway [Blu-ray] (1997) by David Lynch (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews