Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like to remember things my own way...
This fine DVD re-release for Lost Highway will hopefully open it up to a wider audience. Alongside Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me, this is one of Lynch's most significant unsung works. A critical and box office catastrophe on release, it has in recent years thankful been reassessed in some quarters. Lost Highway was an experimental film, genuinely before it's...
Published on 10 Feb 2006 by P. Cox

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost Highway.
I have wanted this film for ages as it is my 3rd fave film ever!
But to have to 'fiddle' about, changing the language to English, then having to remove the Czech subtitles was a little disappointing.

The price was close to an English language version, but every penny counts! Wish I hadn't counted now!!

The provider sent me my film but with a...
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by Pank


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like to remember things my own way..., 10 Feb 2006
By 
P. Cox "post-grape" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This fine DVD re-release for Lost Highway will hopefully open it up to a wider audience. Alongside Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me, this is one of Lynch's most significant unsung works. A critical and box office catastrophe on release, it has in recent years thankful been reassessed in some quarters. Lost Highway was an experimental film, genuinely before it's time, and is, in most respects, still way ahead of the pack.
Bill Pullman stars as Fred Madison, a man with a marriage that is falling apart and a crumbling psychological state. Convicted of the murder of his wife (Patricia Arquette), he is put on deathrow, where he goes through the most uncanny transformation...
Much has been said before about the impenetrable nature of Lost Highway's story. And while it is not an easy film at times, there is a strong narrative which makes sense if you engage with it. However even if you don't fully 'get' it, Lost Highway is still so rich. One of the few films I can think of which is actually just as enjoyable if you don't know what's going on. The tone achieved by Lynch in the opening 40 minutes is awesome and remains just about the best sequence in cinema of recent times.
This is a film where all the elements are alive for the viewer. The sound design is meticulously thoughtout to help build the mood and every single shot is just gorgeously framed. The three leads are terrific, and rewatching this edition I continue to be surprised that Balthazaar Getty hasn't broken through since.
But how does this edition compare to the one before it? Very well. The picture has been cleaned up quite a bit (the deep blacks of the opening credits made me wonder exactly what ratio the film was in for a moment). This being a David Lynch DVD the extras aren't exactly overflowing, but the second disc has some nice interview segments and is in keeping with the level of depth Lynch fan's will have come to expect from other recent special editions.
Lost Highway. A modern classic. Definitely worth your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This standalone release Blu Ray does not freeze!, 10 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having purchased and returned the debacle that was the David Lynch Blu Ray boxset, I just wanted to write a quick review to confirm that, unlike the boxset version of Lost Highway, this standalone release is NOT faulty, and does not skip/ jump/ freeze at the (approximately) 1hr 20min mark.

As far as I'm aware, Universal have yet to give an indication of when they'll sort out the problems with the boxset, so I've started to purchase them individually. Please also note that the standalone Blu Ray's DON'T come with the postcards of the disc covers that come with the boxset, which is a bit of a shame, but I'd prefer a working film to a postcard.

Although I haven't purchased it yet (and am unlikely to at this stage), I understand that the sound issues with the Fire Walk With Me Blu Ray release are on both the boxset AND standalone releases, so I'd guard against purchasing that one yet, as we all know how important sound is in a David Lynch film!

Five stars, of course, for a fantastic film. As you'd expect from Lynch: weird, wonderful, and able to get completely under your skin. Others have written much better reviews of the film itself. I just wanted to clarify on the technical issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Release at long last....., 11 Feb 2006
By 
I'm not going to review the film because if you're looking at this you already know what it's about! (or go to imdb.com)
Instead I'll review the DVDs.....
Just watched this new edition, released in UK 6 Feb 2006, last night on 80" screen. Looks and sounds fantastic!
No cigarette burns (as per old R2 & R4) or any film blemishes or artifacts at all. Anamorphic 2.35:1.
Daylight scenes looks fabulous, but in some of the darker scenes (mainly in their house) there is some grain but not distractingly so.
The DTS is very good, extremely wide ranging and very deep when it needs to be - gave my M&K 350 sub a good workout.
Marilyn Manson & Rammstein sounded excellent as well as Angelo Badalamenti's score.
No sync problems ala the German version.
The menu's are moving and very "David Lynch" and include a 'who's who' which when you select a character name it plays a small clip of them from the film.
The second disc totals 90+mins and has 2 interviews with David Lynch 2005 & 1996, and 1996 on set interviews with Bill Pullman, Patricia Arquette, and Robert Loggia.
A modern making of, a 1996 featurette (which features the rest of the 1996 David Lynch interview)the teaser trailer and the October Film Distributers Theatrical trailer (which seems slightly out of focus?)
It comes in a digipak with a clear slipcase which has the writing on it (ala the first R1 version of SAW) and is even reversible!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So what was that all about?, 6 Jan 2004
This review is from: Lost Highway [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Most of the time, a David Lynch movie only seems odd because he chooses to film occurances that could happen in every day life however sublime they may be. He shows people acting strangely in ordinary environments, which is something we have all done at some point or other. I've sat with friends and discussed goings on and plot theory to all of Lynch's films, but none have hurt my head more than this. A friend of mine said he saw an interview with Lynch where he was asked what on earth Lost Highway was all about. Lynch declined to say - perhaps even he doesn't know. What he did say though, is that every time someone walks into and out of a shadow, a metamorphosis takes place. This happens a lot in the first half, so much so that you wish the characters would just fit stronger light bulbs.
But one thing is for sure, whether it is about reincarnation, mistaken identity, parallel lives, or just being in the wrong place at the wrong time, it is certainly a tour de force on the senses. With the exception of a very eerie scene at a party, not much happens in the first half, and it is not until the arrival of Balthazar Getty that anything really starts to happen. But you have to keep watching none the less. Lynch employs some unusual and out of character camera effects that cast a strange atmosphere over everything, and as for the score, well Angelo comes up trumps again.
What ever you do though, don't put it on if you are feeling sleepy. It is so dark and brooding that you will be in the land of nod in no time at all.
As far as content on the DVD goes it is pretty shocking... not even a trailer, but perhaps the film would be ruined if you did know what was going on, so the absence of a "making of" featurette is welcomed. A commentary would have been nice but I suspect it would have been mostly silence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost Highway., 28 Jan 2012
I have wanted this film for ages as it is my 3rd fave film ever!
But to have to 'fiddle' about, changing the language to English, then having to remove the Czech subtitles was a little disappointing.

The price was close to an English language version, but every penny counts! Wish I hadn't counted now!!

The provider sent me my film but with a 'recipe' on how to play it!!!!

I always look to the positive. I wish I didn't. I thought I was a little short-changed!

Sorry, Czech.out!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, terrible DVD., 17 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Lost Highway [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
The picture quality is really bad for a DVD. There was a 2-disc special edition released in 2005 with fully restored and remastered picture and sound but it seems almost impossible to track down. This release might be your only option to own this film if you live in Europe. The quality isn't horrific by any means but Lynch's films have such an emphasis on visuals and aesthetics that it would be nice if it was above high-end VHS quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic David Lynch - see it repeatedly and still not know what's happened, 5 May 2008
By 
DAVE HORN "Dave Horn" (Ellington Village, Northumberland, GB) - See all my reviews
I've just watched this for the third time and I still don't know exactly what went on. That's the appeal of a David Lynch film. You can watch them repeatedly and come to a different conclusion each time.

One guy is a jazz musician, Fred, with a beautiful wife Renee (Patricia Arquette). The other guy is a grease monkey who keeps a gangster, Mr Eddy's (Robert Loggia) powerful Mercedes in tune. For car fanatics, as he runs a prat who tailgated him off the road, Mr Eddy says it has 1400bhp under the bonnet. That is of course total fiction, especially in an un-modded saloon body, as is the way it accelerates from 40 - 100 in a couple of seconds (which is via trick photography). The actual car was a 1976 Mercedes 450 SEL 6.9 (W116).

Someone drops a black and white video on the jazz musician's doorstep. It's of the front of his house. In a later video drop is a view inside showing Fred and Renee sleeping. When he watches the last video drop, it shows him killing Renee and bursts into colour, at which point he finds himself by his wife's dismembered body with the cops there to arrest him for murder. He ends up in a police cell.

The mechanic, despite having a beautiful woman himself and knowing the gangster to be violent, starts an affair with the gangster's moll, Alice, a blonde version of Fred's wife. She suspects that the gangster knows and at that point things start to come off the rails.

People apparently change places with each other and are able to be in two places at once. The red curtains from "Twin Peaks" are there too.

Confused yet? You will be by the time you finish watching this, even with heavy use of the rewind button. As it says in the slipcase notes, the answers to the questions raised may be discovered at the end of the Lost Highway ... but is there an end?

Not of course family viewing, being rated 18 as there is murder, gore and Patricia Arquette getting her kit off for good measure (what a surprise!).

I had a minor problem with the audio. I was pleased to see a very good Dolby and DTS 5.1 surround mix as opposed to the original stereo. The DTS mix is absolutely stunning (as is the picture) except for the fact that some of Arquette's dialogue was so quiet I couldn't make it out. As there were no subtitles (a disgrace really) turning up was the only option but my ears were blasted off the next minute once the quiet dialogue was over.

Track down this 2 DVD special edition if you can. It has some ace extras including interviews with Lynch, Arquette, Bill Pullman and Robert Loggia. Don't pay over the odds for it though - even new, never mind second hand, it simply isn't worth more that the full price of a brand new DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensual Derangement, 1 Oct 2000
By A Customer
...This is an exercise in narrative reconstruction that leaves you with very little in the way of firm ground for analysis; we have the characters' actions, the characters themselves and the "Lost Highway". All of these lead into an indictment of global modern society and its obsessions - surveillance, sexual psychoses, identity problems, highway madness - and paranoias. The cinematic experimentation is clearly Lynchian, but the outcome for the (receptive) soul of the viewer is far greater than the sum of this film's formal components. We are deranged...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're into non-linear film this is a must see!, 2 Jun 2000
By A Customer
With his usual blend of darkness and ambiguity lynch presents you with a compelling yet not entirely comprehensible journey through the lives of two seemingly ordinary people who's lives run stranegly parallel. The film seems to say more about the viewer's own concepts of time than anything else. This is a thriller for people who view film as an artform, I wait in anticipation for the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark odyssey chronicling one man`s struggle with identity, 6 April 2000
By A Customer
David Lynch`s pseudo-noir masterpiece is the bizarre odyssey of a man seemingly confronted by the paradox of an identity crisis. Often mesmerising and continually thought-provoking, Lynch bends and twists the idea of narrative as he weaves a complex plot that follows the dark path of Bill Pullman`s character into the dark recesses of his own mind`s - and Lynch`s - nightmare. Posing more and more questions as it unfolds, the climax will continually draw you back to the beginning, searching for answers to satisfy you, but this is prime Lynch - deep, probing, inexplicable and addictive. Warning : will induce bouts of hysteric re-watching...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Highway [DVD]
Lost Highway [DVD] by David Lynch (DVD - 2012)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews