Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holding Fantasy and Desire Apart
David Lynch's Blue Velvet is a fantastic film and I recommend it highly. Thematically, the film concerns itself with desire, fantasy and violence. It is directed with thought and skill. The plot concerns a young man, Jeffrey Beaumont, who discovers a severed ear. This leads him, partly through his own unstoppable curiosity, to discover a dark underworld that coexists with...
Published on 19 Mar. 2011 by Caleb Sivyer

versus
127 of 143 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Horrible DVD.
I should start by saying that I've never paid much attention to talk of good and bad 'prints' of movies, and always regarded it as a bit of movie snobbery. Until now, I've never purchased a DVD that left me seriously unhappy with the quality of the image.

I'm afraid this DVD (by Prism Leisure Corporation) changed all that. Quite simply, it's dreadful. Ok,...
Published on 20 Mar. 2005 by Steampunk


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5-Stars For The Film, 2-Stars For This Misleading Amazon Exclusive Blu-Ray Release, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is shocking, brilliant, twisted, nightmarish! But, you'll probably already be a fan anyway. This review, is really to warn everyone about Amazon's "Exclusive" Blu-Ray release, which is a nightmare for all the wrong reasons.

As others have already pointed-out, firstly this is absolutely NOT a Director's Cut, nor a Special Edition of the film in any way, shape or form! What you actually get is:

Disc 1 - The standard, much-loved 121 minute Theatrical Version of the film, in a nice, but nothing special 16:9 format, in the original 2.35:1 ratio, with a DTS HD Master Audio audio track in either 5.1 or 2.0. You also get about 2 hours of extras, which I have to admit, are pretty good. There's a 71-minute making-of documentary, plus a 45 minute interview with Dennis Hopper, some Outtakes and a featurette lasting less than a couple of minutes, of Roger Ebert's fairly scathing review of the film.

Disc 2 - This is the misleading part. Here you get the 52 minutes of "lost" material. They're not put into the film. They've not been contextualised in any way. And they're not in any particular order either. The Outtakes featurette is duplicated on here as well, for some odd reason, too.

If you don't own BLUE VELVET on Blu-Ray, then this edition IS worth purchasing. However, it's been horrifyingly misrepresented and missold by Amazon.co.uk, as being something it absolutely is not. And that is why I, and many others, have returned their copies in anger and frustration.

There's one more thing: Disc 1 is a measly 25gb-sized disc. This means that more than four hours of content have been crammed onto a Single Layered Blu-Ray disc. Whilst the film looks fairly good, it's not perfect. If Amazon, Scanbox and High Fliers Films had gotten their act together, and presented this film properly, with both the Theatrical Cut and Director's Cut's (including all the "lost" footage re-inserted back into the film in its proper order and place), and put the films on 50gb discs, along with all of the extras, then I think most people would be raving about this disc.

Sadly, it's a real pig's ear of a release, (no pun intended!), and Amazon really do need to pull this release immediately, or at least stop advertising it as something it definitely is not!

ADDENDUM: It seems that Amazon are now trying to "hide" this release from public sight. If you do a normal search for "Blue Velvet" on Blu-Ray, you will NOT find this new release come-up! The only way to access it now, is by using the following weblink...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Blu-ray-Special-Edition-exclusive-amazon-co-uk/dp/B00MYZ4D98/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

I wonder why it's gone into hiding? Maybe we should call in Agent Cooper for that answer! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and dulcet, 8 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Blue Velvet [DVD] (DVD)
In many ways, the opening sequence of Blue Velvet captures perfectly the ironic, slightly sinister but also darkly amusing take on americana which is prevailent in much of Lynch's work. His perspective is undoubtedly a fascinating one, both terrifying and strangely magnetic. As the father collapses to the sounds of fifties pop, its dreamy often delicious melody lulls the viewer, evoking a mood that continues throughout a film where one experiences an almost halluogenic view of the underbelly of an everyday american town. It could be argued that it is Hopper's portrayal of psychotic madman Frank Booth that captures centre stage, and he is without doubt a truly memorable cinematic creation. However, it was the naivety of Kyle MacLaclan's youthful character, combined with Rossellini's interpretation of a tortured but beautiful sexual paradox, both predator and victim which I found most interesting. Their relationship, and the violation of MacLachlan's innocence that it initiates is both startling and frighteningly magnetic. The claustrophobic world of Blue Velvet is somehow liberating, Lynch casts aside the viewer's expectations and perceptions, they are shed much like MacLachlans fragile innocence, his percieved corruption a watershed for the viewer.

There have been some gripes about the technical virtues of the DVD itself, however I had no problems whatsoever. The picture quality was great as was the sound. If you're some kind of DVD anorak [no offence intended] you might find some obscure detail to take issue with; but as far as I could see, the film was in no way impaired.

The film is quite simply brilliant, although its conclusion is perhaps a little too neat. On the whole however, it is a great production and well worth your money. An american film by an american director which could almost be labelled a work of art. You can't proclaim that too often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'She Wore Blue Velvet', 31 July 2008
What is there to say about the best film of the 1980's. This film is a modern day fairy tale, a surreal crime thriller and certainly one of Lynch's best and most rated films.

I just want to leave a note about the DVD, similar to what others have said, avoid the Prism Production of this, bad video, bad sound and ugly looking. Instead stretch yourself a few more £'s with the recently restored Sanctuary copy with bonus disk...

Prepare yourself for the voyeuristic journey, in this strange world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DISTURBING, BEAUTIFUL, HORRIFYING, BIZARRE & SURREAL, 6 Jan. 2003
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Velvet [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the quiet picture postcard logging community of Lumbertown, Jeffrey Beaumont (Kyle MacLachlan), a somewhat naive and squeaky clean college boy, finds a severed human ear. Shocked and disturbed he reports it immediately to the police whilst, with the help of his girlfriend (Laura Dern), he begins his own investigation, which soon leads him into stumbling into the seedy and violent world of abused nightclub singer Dorothy (Isabella Rosellini) and drug-sniffing psychopath (Dennis Hopper).
This is the first movie in which David Lynch really showed us all his cards and united themes and imagery, now familiar to millions through the likes of Mulholland Drive, Wild At Heart and Twin Peaks. Although 16 years old, David Lynch's Blue Velvet has lost none of its shock value. It is still deeply and uniquely disturbing, at times incredibly surreal and utterly compelling viewing. Beautifully filmed and directed by Lynch, its aesthetic value is often deliberately at odds with the subject matter and it is a work of dark genius. It also features superb acting performances all round. In particular, MacLachlan, Rosselinni, Dean Stockwell and Laura Dern shine, but it is Dennis Hopper's magnificent performance as a drug sniffing twisted psychopath that most people will remember.
Bizarre and frequently haunting, beautiful but frequently surreal, this is a movie that will stay with you for a very long time and really is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cult film?, 4 May 2014
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Velvet [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I've rated this as ok, mainly as it is such a unique movie and one that you'd either love or hate! I watched it through to the end mainly out of curiousity. It is obviously a cult movie and must have been fairly controversial in its time.

What is so surprising is the appalling script and terrible quality of much of the acting! In some places it is simply bizarre. The plot doesn't hold together and the actions of the characters are hard to reconcile. Arguably, Rossellini does introduce an artistic element to the movie as a night club singer, held to ransom by the baddie. And, it appears that she is doing the singing which I have to say, is very good. At times I wondered if the film was for real and I was missing an important dimension? The closing few minutes or so, has to be taking the mickey out of the movie and did make me laugh!

Obviously, from many of the high ratings it appeals to a surprisingly wide audience. The first ten minutes will tell you if this movie is one for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DISTURBING, BEAUTIFUL, HORRIFYING, BIZARRE & SURREAL, 4 Oct. 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Velvet [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the quiet picture postcard logging community of Lumbertown, Jeffrey Beaumont (Kyle MacLachlan), a somewhat naive and squeaky clean college boy, finds a severed human ear. Shocked and disturbed he reports it immediately to the police whilst, with the help of his girlfriend (Laura Dern), he begins his own investigation, which soon leads him into stumbling into the seedy and violent world of abused nightclub singer Dorothy (Isabella Rosellini) and drug-sniffing psychopath (Dennis Hopper).
This is the first movie in which David Lynch really showed us all his cards and united themes and imagery, now familiar to millions through the likes of Mulholland Drive, Wild At Heart and Twin Peaks. Although 16 years old, David Lynch's Blue Velvet has lost none of its shock value. It is still deeply and uniquely disturbing, at times incredibly surreal and utterly compelling viewing. Beautifully filmed and directed by Lynch, its aesthetic value is often deliberately at odds with the subject matter and it is a work of dark genius. It also features superb acting performances all round. In particular, MacLachlan, Rosselinni, Dean Stockwell and Laura Dern shine, but it is Dennis Hopper's magnificent performance as a drug sniffing twisted psychopath that most people will remember.
Bizarre and frequently haunting, beautiful but frequently surreal, this is a movie that will stay with you for a very long time and really is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrongly labeled!, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately this is not a version with the lost footage inserted into the film as the run time on the cover (169 min) suggests, but it's the film in its original version with the additional footage (that has already been available in the US) contained on a second disc. So it's five stars for the film, but the overall rating is only three stars as I think the labeling created false expectations.

For those of you hoping to get a longer version of the film, I can not recommend the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 hours plus SEPARATELY 52 minutes on another disc!!, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The extra 52 minutes are NOT integrated into one 169 minute film. The Blu-ray is a 2 hour film plus, separately, 52 minutes. I will send back for a refund. Shan't even bother to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blue velvet blu ray, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This may not be to everyone`s taste but i think it`s one of the best films ever. It is well worth the upgrade to bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Dreams, you're mine, 16 Aug. 2012
One of my all-time favorite films. This lush, near perfect melodrama is a testament to the power of film and how is speaks to us.

Blue Velvet is many things. A psycho-horror, an insidious comedy, a story of good and evil, an examination of our willingness to do both and an exploitation of the thoughts we don't admit to ourselves when faced with certain emotions protected on screen. David Lynch opened up the possibilities of film language by proving that the differences between truth in life and truth in film are far and wide. In that some images can move us without any plausible explanation or reason for their existence. There's a theatricality to some scenes that is unlike anything I've experienced. It's "American Surrealism" in the words of the late, great Dennis Hopper.

Speaking of which, the performances range from the boldly charismatic to the astoundingly brave. Highlights are Isabella Rosselini, haunted and haunting, playing it like a subversive, almost deconstructive femme fatale and Dennis Hopper in what's arguably his definitive performance as the embodiment of evil that is Frank Booth. I haven't come across a more pure villain then Booth. One that retains enough weakness to be engaging, unpredictable enough to be amusing even, yet still undeniably a human atrocity. Perverse, dependent and even tragic, one of the greatest performances ever from an American actor.

The DVD ain't much cop, But the Blu-ray is spectacular. Audio is such a key element of Blue Velvet and the transfer does miracles in comparison. The picture is also crisp and adds more to the already overpowering atmosphere of this film. Add to that a plethora of extras, including a documentary and interviews and you have an essential release of an essential experience.

You owe it to yourself to find out what cinema really means and watch this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Velvet [DVD]
Blue Velvet [DVD] by David Lynch (DVD - 2012)
£9.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews