Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new look at the last days of WWII
Being interested in WWII history anyway, I had expected to enjoy the book, but it surpassed my expectations. I found it utterly engrossing.
Nicholas Best superbly shows the human face of all those old newsreels. How accurate is it? I have no way of telling, but the book achieves its aim of looking at the closing days of WWII from a different perspective.
There...
Published on 6 Sept. 2012 by Thorsman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly Bad
Disappointed with this readable book. Presentation of "facts" leave a lot to be desired. The slant/bias is too much. The author is able to listen in on dead people's thoughts, describe what clothes were worn on the day, what food was eaten and so on. German and Russian war crimes are horrible, but the British, American and Canadian war crimes are glossed over...
Published 4 months ago by John Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
A clever way to human use an enormous moment in history. Seen through the eyes of some of the people who lived it, these five shocking days are fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
I have never read a book about the second world war, but this has been a good one to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Found this book very interesting and informative. Made the final days if ww2 clearer to me as I knew very little before reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish, a remarkable account of what was happening on the other side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made me want to read more History, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
I don't often read history but this account has made me want to read a lot more

The book is made up of separate accounts in chronological order of key events seen by ordinary and significant people in the last days of the war. Stand out accounts are; himmler, a young german actress/ soiler fleeing from the russian terrified of rape, mussolini's mistress, his wife, Anne frank's father Audrey Heburn. It was all terrific, WIll read again soon and reccomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. Very interesting and impeccably researched. With all of the different individuals and characters it is a riveting read. Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
Ursula Osborne "Ursula" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book so interesting. From the celebrities that were included, to the ordinary people who played their part, it was fascinating. My father-in-law was one of the troops liberating Belson and my mother was in France 2 weeks before the end of the war, and having heard so many stories about the war, this book just added an extra dimension to everything. What I liked the most was the fact that all the events were drawn together in a very human way by all the different stories, and it brought home just how awful the war was.

Well worth reading, I will probably read it again at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting view, 20 Feb. 2014
By 
Ms. Z. S. West "Zoe" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
this was an interesting and engaging way of revisiting this moment in history, through such a broad range on now notable eyewitnesses. It instilled a greater empathy for all those caught up in this human tragedy across all the nation's it touched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, very interesting, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
A good collection on the end of the awe in Europe. It cleared up some of the backgrounds of famous and infamous people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good easy interesting read, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Bought the kindle book when it was cheap...only 99p and I've really enjoyed reading it on my phone and ipad.
It's the type of book you can pick up and read when you have a few spare minutes and not want to put down.
I agree with some reviewers who say it is a little lacking in in-depth detail, but as an interesting albeit broad based account of the closing few days of WW 2, I found it excellent light reading.
I think this is a particularly suitable book for someone who wants a basic account without too much detail and is very easy and interesting to read....something that could spark their interest and encourage them in to deeper reading on more specialised subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews