Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new look at the last days of WWII
Being interested in WWII history anyway, I had expected to enjoy the book, but it surpassed my expectations. I found it utterly engrossing.
Nicholas Best superbly shows the human face of all those old newsreels. How accurate is it? I have no way of telling, but the book achieves its aim of looking at the closing days of WWII from a different perspective.
There...
Published 22 months ago by Thorsman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much subject not enough detail
The idea is sound but the final book reads like a re-hash of other publications. Some good threads surrounding Berlin and the liberation of Belsen but overall nothing new.
Published 6 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new look at the last days of WWII, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Being interested in WWII history anyway, I had expected to enjoy the book, but it surpassed my expectations. I found it utterly engrossing.
Nicholas Best superbly shows the human face of all those old newsreels. How accurate is it? I have no way of telling, but the book achieves its aim of looking at the closing days of WWII from a different perspective.
There are poignant, dramatic, and thrilling episodes featuring the finest and most contemptible examples of humankind. One expects horror stories of the Nazis, but Best doesn't shy away from dubious acts of the Allies either.
He links the horrific experience to those of us who are fortunate enought to have benefitted from the sacrifices our forebears made by including such familiar cultural icons such as Audrey Hepburn, Marlene Deitrich and Joseph Heller.
He reminds us that almost the entire world was holding it's breath while the most aggressive war machine ever devised was breathing its last.
One can almost taste the dust of crumbling Berlin.
Read This Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
What an unusual and fascinating slant on the last few days of WWII. I hope Nicholas Best considers writing similarly on a different period. A thoroughly enjoyable read, if not exactly for the history purist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but wanted more, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book fascinating, particularly the sections about the utter, surreal madness in Berlin as the end approached.
It is sprinkled with well known names, people who were 'important' at the time and those who be came well known after the war.
I would have liked more, with more memories from ordinary men and women. Can't really complain, 320 fascinating pages for a pound is very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling., 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
This was a very compelling book of "can't put down" status. The narrative tells the story of the end of ww2 through the eyes of those who witnessed it. For me it illustrated that however we dress great conflicts p, there are always human beings that, cause, change and are effected by the pointlessness of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Gripping story of world war 2.genuine accounts of brave people that survived and succeed to make a better life. Also an insight to the atrocities what another human being is capable of to one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this quite cheaply so didn't expect much. It was fantastic! I didn't know much about the last few days of ww2 and just how it affected people. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book immediately after Eva Braun: A Life with Hitler and I really enjoyed it. It tells the story of the 5 days at the end of WWII that saw the deaths of Mussolini and Hitler and the surrender of Nazi forces in Europe. The story is told through accounts of people who experienced the events, some later famous (Sophia Loren and Spike Milligan for example).
One small criticism is that near the end of the book there are so many stories happening simultaneously, and the author jumps from story to story, that it is easy to get confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting., 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
I learnt a lot and found the human interest points fascinating. In between all the usual war details you heard about how such as Sophia Loren coped with the war and how her life went afterwards as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different view point, 26 Aug 2013
By 
T (Newmarket, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Really interesting to see things from a different perspective. You usually get historical writers view points, this time its ordinary people sharing their memories. Some of the stories are harrowing. A lot of new information for me and not very pleasant some of it - but that's why war is to be avoided. No point moralizing its all been said before, but everyone should take note that atrocities are not only performed by the losers ( those who don't end up writing the history).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 31 Aug 2013
By 
David Boxall "DB" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days that Shocked the World - Eye Witness Accounts of the Final Days of World War II (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
a very good read a lot of info I had not heard of before. Well put together with some surprising big names and there stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews