Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply charming
I got this game as a late birthday present and, thanks to amazon, it arrived much earlier than expected.

My summary of this game is, well nothing more than spectacular! The graphics in the gameplay are unique and creative (although some might find them too unique and a somewhat "fuzzy" style), the little animated cutscenes that come up once in a while are cute...
Published 23 months ago by Bassie

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but not bad either
The game itself is based on a series of minigames, more like Rhythm Paradise for the DS. The big difference is that there is a background story behind those minigames,so you have a map where you travel from place to place and talk to people. If that sounds like a Professor Layton game, you hit the bullseye.
The main problem I saw with the game is the missing...
Published 23 months ago by Fer San


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply charming, 24 Aug 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I got this game as a late birthday present and, thanks to amazon, it arrived much earlier than expected.

My summary of this game is, well nothing more than spectacular! The graphics in the gameplay are unique and creative (although some might find them too unique and a somewhat "fuzzy" style), the little animated cutscenes that come up once in a while are cute and corny and also help you understand more about the storyline itself. Finaly the plot and characters in the game are what really moulds the thing together. (eventhough its very japanese!) The story is set in the beatiful city of paris (im not being too positive)and in a small apartment ,near the town, lives you, Raphael, an eightien year old boy who's father strangely disapered 3 years ago. You seem to be a very naive boy but you have a secret, you are also the infamous thief, Phanton R. The idea is that you have to try and find your father while dancing with the rhythem to escape a bunch "cops" unitill you meet a girl named Marie who (oh yeah, you have a dog) plays the voilin...yeah. Next thing you know, your in search of HER MOTHER too and going through amazing missions(including tilting the 3ds system all over the place) playing the violin and batteling an evil dude (who I will not tell you about because you can find him out yourself!) While your doing all this, you may discover that the game is really short! Belive me! I even felt a little sad and miserable because I had copleted the game on my 2nd day of getting it! But you will still enjoy the fun adventure you will go through! The game is quite easy too, it's the first time I've completed a game without my brother helping out in nearly every level! :D Plese comment to me! Bye! Sega make a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming little rhythm game, 6 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Having bought this on the strength of the demo (see Nintendo, they do work!) I haven't been disappointed. It's a sort of Professor Layton meets Elite Beat Agents mash up. You play "Phantom R", a young art thief searching for his missing father. The action is set in Paris, which is charmingly rendered and the meat of the action is in the rhythm games which have a good variety to them. Like the best games in the genre, when it all comes together it makes you feel like you really do have some great musical talent which I can assure you I do not. The situations are amusing ("no-one can escape the police rollerskating division!"). I defy anyone not to smile at this game!

There are some puzzles too, but these are fairly simplistic, which is ok for me as I don't really want distracted too much from the core musical elements.

Downsides are few - it is fairly easy (you won't fail many games even on your first try), so the challenge will be to get 'A' ranks which makes the rather loose scoring scheme a bit of a disappointment. It also doesn't autosave which is rather a throwback in the world of video games, so an absent minding exiting could cost you quite a bit of progress! (On the plus side, it has 3 save slots).

The 3D is good, though cross-talk is an issue with the art style, and it is hard to keep from jiggling about to the music, which plays havoc with the stereoscopic effect. Arguably those are system problems (although the latest Nintendo first party offerings have made good progress in mitigating these 3D issues).

In summary, a fine and charming little game.

EDIT: I have now completed this game, and feel it only fair to update my review. I complained above it was fairly easy, but the challenge level REALLY ramps up towards the end. Luckily you can buy "items" with in game currency to help you get through. So, if you are holding of as you are afraid it is not challenging, don't be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game ever, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed this game, the story line was good and the rhythm games were amazing, if a little fast. Once you start you do not want to stop. I enjoyed this way more then professor layton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game, Quick Postage, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
My daughter loves this game!
She finished it rather quickly, BUT there's so much you can still do, and you can improve your timing with practice. My daughter still plays it so am happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Ms. R. Mistry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
great little rhythm game with lots of variety
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming game lets hope for a sequel, 8 July 2014
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
To say that this is a 12 plus game I honestly found some of the mini game levels quite hard towards the end however this game got very addict trying to completed them so you can go onto the next step. I think the characters and story line is well thought out and would love to see a sequel to the game and for the price it is definitely worth it for the game as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice buy, 26 May 2014
By 
M. Perkins "maroballistic" (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Great price, great game, like a cross between Professor Layton and Dance Mania. Bought for my 8 and 11 year old kids, and they love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun campaign with some frustrating side-levels., 11 May 2014
By 
T.Wah (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Rhythm Thief & the Emperor’s Treasure is the third game I purchased since I got my Nintendo 3DS a month ago. I was pretty psyched about it after playing the demo on the 3DS e-shop which reminded me of the fun I had with other rhythm games such as Elite Beat Agents on the previous generation’s Nintendo DS. While Rhythm Thief is savagely satisfying when you get the beat right, it can also be massively frustrating due to several poor design choices particularly when playing the side-levels not associated with the main story thread.

Rhythm Thief is a rhythm game that involves you moving around France in a grid map akin to the world map found in Mario games and interacting with people and the environment found in each node on the map. You find anything from rhythm game challenges to coins used to purchase game cutscenes or bonus power-up items that make a level easier. You will also find a couple of different collectibles scattered across the environments as you make your way through the game. While the hunt for collectibles is completely optional and can be a little bit of a pixel-hunt at times, the items are relatively easy to find and there is a satisfying feel associated with it.

The main cast of characters is likeable, if a little fantastical although they do a good job of keeping you invested in the game’s plot. The story itself is rather light but is genuinely interesting and does a really good job of connecting each of the gameplay moments together and as a result provides the campaign with a good flow. The pacing of this game can be a bit slow at times favouring exposition rather than actual rhythm gameplay: think Professor Layton but with rhythm games rather than puzzles (although the occasional rhythm puzzles do come up every now and again). In fact the game also sports a charming character art-style very reminiscent of Professor Layton characters. The game cutscenes are of high-quality and the 3D is great.

The gameplay itself is challenging but fair. It takes a bit of time to get used to each of the different game type’s button input mechanics but once you understand how it works the game becomes really satisfying. The rhythm and the beats feel great and the tune is represented accurately when you are performing well. Completing levels in the game unlocks those levels for casual play (with your score included). While there are extra secrets to unlock once you have completed the main story, the main replayability of Rhythm Thief comes in the form of trying to beat your high-score. While this is fun to do, the scoring system can be a bit harsh.

The scoring system puts emphasis on not screwing up button/stylus-inputs during the later parts of the tune so ultimately you get penalized more if you make more mistakes towards the end of a tune rather than at the start. This would have been a minor detail if it were not for the severity of the penalties towards the end of a tune. Getting 49/50 inputs correct can result in a B rank (next highest rank after A which is the top) if the mistake happened on the 50th input (this also depends on the difficulty of the level you are in). This becomes more of an evident problem if you make several mistakes in the later part of a tune; say for example a score of 45/50 being declared a D rank. It’s not a major problem but it can suck out much of the satisfaction to be had from the game. Unfortunately there is also a scoring bug in the game that makes it possible to override an A rank score with one of a lower rank that has a higher numerical score associated to it. For instance you may have previously gotten a high score of 40/50 which gave you an A rank since you only made mistakes at the earlier parts of a level. Say you replayed the level and achieved 49/50 and messed up the 50th input. You may end up getting a B with a higher numerical score. The game would then override your previous A rank with a B. This isn’t much of a game breaker but it can get really annoying if you are trying to get a full A record.

Unfortunately the difficulty of the game can be a little unreasonable towards the end of the game’s main story. The compulsory levels to advance the story themselves are not overly hard but rather the bulk of the side-levels are massively hard. Not only does the window of success for each button-input become tighter, the amount of attention the game demands from you also increases to a point where it just seems cluttered. Of course this alone wouldn’t be reason enough to dismiss this game. The true shame comes from the fact that the tunes in these side-levels often seem to not mesh as well with the button-inputs as the tunes in the main story levels. Most (there are exceptions) of the levels from the main campaign boasts a great blend between the mechanics, button-prompts and tune providing players with a fun experience and allowing them to rely completely on the beat if they wanted to. Quite a few of the side-levels on the other hand feels like it is trying to incorporate gameplay mechanics that don’t necessarily work well with the chosen tunes. This made the extra levels in the game less fun and more often than not quite frustrating. Pairing this with the fact that the game often explains the mechanics of each level minimally, it can be unreasonably hard to understand what you are doing wrong in a particular level. Fortunately these levels make up only a small part of the game and are completely optional.

In summary I think this game has an interesting plot and a great cast of characters, and while the main levels of the game are really fun and satisfying, a considerable number of the side-levels are more frustrating than fun. I would recommend this game to players who are big rhythm game fans and to those who are patient. Much time will be spent retrying levels to get the feel of the controls and mostly it is fun but occasionally there are a few annoying ones that players will just have to move on from and live with.

Rating: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I had already played and bought the game before but I rented it; not bought it, so I had forgotten what the game was like so I decided to buy it. It was in great condition and the gameplay was superb. I highly recommend it to people who like a bit of a challenge and games involved with or moving things to a beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rhythm thief, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
a great game for the 3ds. looks a bit like the professor layton games but it plays completely differently to them, so it is a different kind of challenge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure (Nintendo 3DS)
7.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews