Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Webbed Wonders
The Spider Man games have never truly reached their potential, but I have always enjoyed them. The best games to star the webbed wonder have opened up New York, allowing you to swing around and solve crimes. Last time out, `Spiderman: Edge of Time' did not do this, instead setting the game inside one building. Kudos to Activision that they have returned to the winning...
Published on 8 May 2013 by Sam Tyler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Graphics. So-so Gameplay
To start with I will say that I found 'The Amazing Spiderman' to be the best Spidey game since Spiderman 2 on the PS2. The glitches in both graphics and gameplay of Spiderman 3 standard have pretty much gone. In fact this game has got some of the most beautifully detailed looks I have seen whilst playing any game. Gameplay can be a little awkward to master as the camera...
Published on 23 Aug. 2012 by D. Climo


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Webbed Wonders, 8 May 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Spider Man games have never truly reached their potential, but I have always enjoyed them. The best games to star the webbed wonder have opened up New York, allowing you to swing around and solve crimes. Last time out, `Spiderman: Edge of Time' did not do this, instead setting the game inside one building. Kudos to Activision that they have returned to the winning formula in `The Amazing Spider Man'; a tie in game that is actually very good.

You, of course, play as Peter Parker's arachnid alter ego in a story set after the 2012 film ends. Gwen Stacey is trapped in OzCorp when a disease is spread that turns its victims into animal/human hybrids. You must search New York for a cure and even call on the help of The Lizard. The main enemies in the game are not the human/animal hybrids, but the OzCorp machines designed to destroy them. These machines are programmed to destroy anything with hybrid DNA, isn't that Spider Man? Yes!

After a couple of early missions the game opens all of New York for you to play in, as well as main mission there are a series of fun side adventures, including capturing fleeing criminals. As an old school gamer I also liked the vast number of items you can collect, doing so will provide experience that you can then spend on improving Spidey's skill set. The feeling of swinging through the Big Apple is as good as ever and graphically `Amazing' is very solid, never glitching or tearing. I loved having the whole city to play in and tackling the various mini missions was as fun as the main action.

The issues with the game are the repetitiveness, not only during `Amazing' itself, but also as a whole series. `Amazing' plays like an updated `Spider Man 2', but seeing as that is the best game in the series, that is not a bad thing. I actually didn't get bored with playing the same type of thing as I was enjoying myself, the action, fighting and swinging may be samey, but it's great. All the side aspects means that the game clocks in at an impressive length; 12-15 hours and is good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review of Amazing Spider Man, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I really like this game I think its suitable for all ages I mean its not rude or anything so age rating could be lower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 2 Sept. 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I absolutely loved this game! I was in two minds at first as Spiderman 3 was such a let down. I played it for 10 minutes in HMV and thar was it. I was hooked. I bought the game the same day and played it for a good 6 hours that night.

This game see's the return of free-roam, something that made Spiderman 2 the amazing game that it was. I loved having the ability to climb the tallest building in New York and just dive off it. The control you have over Spider-man in this game is astounding. With a simple click of RB - I play Xbox - you can have Spider-man web zip to a building, run along the windows and then leap into the air while doing some acrobatics that would make Olympic gymnasts envious.

Another thing that completely kicks butt is the combat system - see what I did there? It's kind of Batman-esque. You can build up massive combo's and then unleash some amazing finishing moves. You can use the environment to your advantage by throwing all sorts of things at your enemies i.e. dustbins and gas cylinders - to name a few. You can hide in the shadow and perform scary silent take downs.

Over all, I give this game a 10/10. It's great fun and is a good follow on from the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Same Spider-Man Gameplay We Know And Love!!, 29 Jun. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The new Amazing Spider-Man is a great game, taking place after the film but weirdly coming out before it, I strongly suggest you watch the film first, many spoilers! This game is very much like Spider-Man 2, which is a good thing! Even the music has been taken from the Treyarch series of Spider-Man! But the game has improved on things, mainly adding in little extras that look good on the eye and gameplay tweaks.

The combat system has been completely changed, and works well, but play on Super-Hero difficulty for a challenge. However the combat in Arkham City is a lot better! The free roaming is far better in this game though, and on completion you can pick what time of day/ weather you want to roam about in! But what I most like about this game is how it plays true to the comics, the boss battles are great, oscorp plays a major part, Peter's apartment is used frequently, photo missions, car chases, stealth, great webbing techniques like webbing foes to the wall and webbing cars into giant webs on the side of buildings! Also more suits are easily obtained, like the original Spider-Man film series red and black suits, and comic book pages are scattered across the huge city, 700 to be exact, they unlock real Amazing Spider-Man comic books to read!

So therefore I recommend this game, if you're looking for a game as stellar as Arkham City, well it's not! But this is the closest a Spider-Man game has have ever come to being that great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is the game as Amazing as spiderman?, 26 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The spiderman games like the films will be loved by many of its fans for just having spiderman in it, but that doesn't always make a good thing! Well move over the spiderman of the last 10 years, there's a new entry into the series!
"The Amazing Spiderman" made by Beenox, the makers of "spiderman shattered dimensions" and "edge of time" decided that to make a good spiderman game you need to include free roaming in an open city enviroment. Manhatten is recreated in the game, not completly accuratly but all the landmarks are there! The city comes alive as the graphics are excellent and the day and night cycle along with other weather effects during the missions add to the atmosphere of the city.
Spiderman has a new ability in the form of "web rush, with a tap of the "LB" button u will enter a 1st person viewpoint and be able 2 select the next area want jump/swing to in the enviroment! This coupled with smooth animations make traversing the city easy and extremly fun!
Side missions can be taken on in the form of photography, or helping the police deal with petty crime around the city between missions.
Combat in the game Is fluid, spiderman attacks with "X", dodges/counters with "Y" and webs up enemies with a tap of the "B" button! There is also stealth sections including silent takedowns (a la batman arkham series) and XP can is gained and used to level up and gain abilites and upgrades.
The story takes place after the film and does contain spoilers so play at your own risk! The story is of a good quality but I found it disappointing that it mostly takes place inside where as I'd prefer the freedom of the city!
This game is extremly easy, the enemies in the game are exploitable, spiderman has a web retreat move that gets him out of danger and most enemies can be taken out with 1hit from a web rush enviroment move! Also during stealth parts where u are spotted, a quick tap of "LB" will web u somewhere else and instanlty your hidden again.
There are 700 comic book pages to be found in game and when a certain amount is found u get to read the comic in the extra's screen + there is collectables to each story mission and 3 differculties so there is some replay value!
THE VERDICT
The areas of the game that
Are stopping this game achieveing 5stars is how easy and exploitable the game is! Also if the sidemissions aren't completed the main campaign could be completed in about 4 hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's back, 29 Jun. 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What a great return for our beloved super hero Spider-Man. Exploring the open world of Manhattan by swinging your way through the city, stopping robbers, confronting Rhino (easily the best villain in this game). The wall climbing mechanic has been fixed so it is no longer confusing on which direction you are climbing, and the web swinging is fantastic, how the camera blurs as you swing your way through new York city making you feel like the Spider himself. I could go on all day praising this game as everything is done to near perfection for a Spider-Man game. My only concern with the game is the age rating, Beenox have certainly aimed this game towards an older audience, and while I have no problem with that a younger audience might. However all in all this is a great game filled to the brim with content to collect and explore while enjoying the fantastic storyline. Move over Batman Arkham City this is the new ideal superhero game to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rent don't buy, 9 Aug. 2012
By 
Alex (Launceston, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a really fun game to play, you don't need to think much you can just sit back and enjoy as you swing from building to building, that said it is a very short game and not worth £40 I got mine for free with an xbox but if I had paid for it I would have been slightly disappointed however this is a game I am glad I played.

If you have a chance to rent it or pick it up for cheap then I would say do so but you wont be occupied for too long maybe a weekend at best, but it would be a good weekend :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly as good as the Arkham games!, 17 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've read somewhere online that the film has been beaten by Ice Age 4 in the Cinemas which was a bit shocking but then i read that this game was beaten by Lego Batman....seriously?!
Anyways so ignore all of this negativity and this game is actually pretty darn good! It's NEARLY as good as the Batman arkham games, in the way that there's side missions relating to several of the franchise's characters. The main thing i was dissapointed with is that some of the bosses are 'created' differently than the original comics would suggest, yet this is meant to be based on the comics, such as...majority of the bosses are created the same way as The Lizard in the film, but say Rhino, Scorpion ect...so if you're looking for a badass showdown with Shocker, Vemon, Mysterio ect...you won't find it here...but i'm guessing that's only because they could be the foes for the next Spidey movie....WHO KNOWS!
Still an enjoyable, quite comedic game that should be a lot more popular than i've heard! The swinging is fun too, all free roaming ect. Oh and the game is set AFTER the film so watch that first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!, 30 Jun. 2012
By 
Mrs. Lorraine Roach (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is probably one of the best games ive played this year:
pros:
-Good graphics
-Web rush is really fun and lets you interact with lots more things in Manhattan
-Thrilling story
-Free roam
-Lots of side missions
-Good combat mechanics
-500 comic pages to find in the city
and lots lots more

cons:
nothing, just to make another came asap :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 11 April 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
While I didn't buy the game from Amazon I purchased the Games on Demand version on Xbox Live and I must say I was surprised at just how entertaining it was. Even things that I normally find tedious such as searching for comic book pages, completing side-missions etc was pretty fun. I even found myself slightly miffed when I had completed most of the things in the game.

The game unfortunately isn't worth a five star rating but it's one of the best looking and well functioning movie games out there, even if it does act as a sort of epilogue story to the actual movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360)
The Amazing Spider-Man (Xbox 360) by Activision (Xbox 360)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews