Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Function, portability and practicality
TDK may be best remembered by many as a cassette tape manufacturer, but it appears they also make MP3 Speaker Docks and on the evidence of the (forgettably named) TAC7221BK portable speaker system, branching out was a decision well made.

Portability (5/5)
This speaker system can be easily recommended for its portable aspects- most notably the carry handle...
Published on 22 July 2012 by Fantasy Lore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not amazing
I bought this for my iPod touch 4th gen and it is ok but I have to push down quite a lot for the iPod to connect and on the alarm the volume doesn't go below 5 which is quite loud for me.
Published 10 months ago by Anonymous


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Function, portability and practicality, 22 July 2012
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
TDK may be best remembered by many as a cassette tape manufacturer, but it appears they also make MP3 Speaker Docks and on the evidence of the (forgettably named) TAC7221BK portable speaker system, branching out was a decision well made.

Portability (5/5)
This speaker system can be easily recommended for its portable aspects- most notably the carry handle and the battery power option. In this respect the product is perfectly practical and an ideal choice since it's both lightweight & modest in size (25.5cm width x 8cm depth x 15cm height).
However, what impresses is how adequate the system is for static use. To the casual eye the unit is lightweight and true enough it is, however, the base is weighted and there are rubber feet underneath, so applying pressure to touch the screen of the docked device when it's placed on a flat surface does not, as you might imagine it would from its outward appearance, cause the unit to wobble.

Design (4/5)
Pretty much as you can see- the body of the unit is simplistic but stylish in design with clean lines and the concave shape of the speakers is a nice touch. The buttons, as you can tell from the pictures are plane to the surface of the unit and unobtrusive but still practical as a result. The buttons: power, source, skip forward, skip back, play/pause, volume adjustment, shuffle and repeat.

Device Functionality (5/5)
I've tested this speaker system with the Apple iPhone 4S and don't have any complaints with compatibility with the device. Although the device fits quite snugly with little space above, it is possible to crane the unit outwards slightly (while still being in the dock & not disrupting playback) to allow the sleep button on the iPhone to be activated if, for any reason, you don't wish for the screen to be on.

TDK App (4/5)
The TAC7221BK comes with a free app that automatically downloads to your device following some prompts. The app is primarily an alarm clock with some timer functions. I've downloaded a couple of alarm clock apps over the years and this is actually superior to most. - It has 7 clock backgrounds included.
- FM radio function.
- It has a built-in alarm function that is Monday through Friday only (very useful). There's only one other alarm, but one for the weekday and one for the weekend seems absolutely sufficient.
- It has a night screen option that is totally alterable to your own preference, which means that unlike most I've used in the past, can be set to virtually dark.
- It has a timer function that allows you to (a) sleep to sounds- waves or rain, or (b) take a nap- rains, waves, or buzzer & with snooze function.
When you go into the app, if you happen to be playing music, this halts playback. However, it is still possible to listen to music in the app, simply by clicking on settings, audio and iPod. However, unfortunately -unless I haven't yet mastered this function, in which case I will update the review- the sleep function cannot be used to fall asleep to music, although it does provide unlimited interims of time up 23:59 hours for falling asleep to either the rain, or waves sound effects. A glaring omission considering the ability to listen to music in the app is available.

Sound quality (3/5)
The sound is a little tinny, that's inescapable, but for the size of the unit it's still very crisp. As a small portable unit the volume is surprisingly loud at the device's maximum setting and certainly more than adequate for any bedside.

Summary (4/5)
While the unit appears highly durable, has an array of functions thanks to the inclusive app and has been designed with such practicality in mind that even the least technically-minded user could master it, in my opinion there is still a disparity between the price tag and what's actually offered. Compare this to the Gear4 speaker docks on the market at £40-50 that cut a more impressive figure and which offer almost as many functions and I suspect better sound quality, and this option doesn't make as much sense. Portability should not take the price up to the £60 mark. In my opinion this unit would be reasonably priced in the region of £35.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart Looking Dock, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
S. Gilbert (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
I bought this as an extra docking station for my partner.
I looked at several makes/reviews and this came up as one of the best for the price.
It is nice looking and fairly heavy and robust. The iphone 4 docked nicely and it immediately prompted to download the app for the alarm. The clock itself is a nice brightness but it can be changed within the app (brighter or dimmer).
It works well, 'does what it says on the tin' and looks good on the bedroom table.
Edit......now that he has got into using it properly, we found the instructions hard to work out for the radio presets, but worked it out for ourselves eventually. And we still can not work out how to wake to iphone songs of our choice - it just plays random songs.
Other than that, we are still very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TDK TAC7221BK speaker system., 23 July 2012
By 
Ian Wantling (The North West.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nicely packaged in a chocolate brown box, the speaker feels quite heavy for its small size. It comes complete with U.K., E.U. and U.S. power adaptor and can also be powered from 4 AA batteries.

Along the top edge are no less than eight function buttons. Aside from your normal iPod functions (volume up and down, shuffle, repeat, play, next and previous track) the other buttons are on/off and input select (iPod, radio and line in). There is also a supplied FM aerial. To use as a radio you'll need to download the TDK app which is easily found on the app store. Once installed on your device the speaker can then be used as an alarm clock, complete with snooze function and a sleep timer. Whilst in the dock your iPod or Phone is also charging.

Now to the sound from the speaker..... Don't be expecting a boom-box. I tested the sound from several different music genres; easy listening, rock and techno. The sound is clean and crisp even at full volume on most tracks but I found on the bass heavy tracks the speakers had trouble handling it and the bass suffered and broke up. Under normal, more moderate volume levels the bass is tight and quite punchy and treble and mid-levels are smoothly presented. For its size the stereo separation is quite good and under normal circumstances the sound is perfectly acceptable.

I'd certainly endorse this speaker for kitchen and ideally bedroom use, and it's the ideal travel speaker as its size makes it great for packing in a suitcase and the ability to power from batteries means it can be used pool and beach side without issue.

A good value and competent portable speaker system.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
Tried a few other doping stations but I really like this one, easy to use several dimming settings and large numerals so it's easy to read in the middle of night without glasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
Ideal for waht we wanted for the kids for Christmas. They can dock their i-pod and use it at the same time. They have a choice of i-pod or clock radio. Time display is very clear and bright. Easy to set and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
L. McGregor (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
Bought two of these as a christmas present for the kids. Cant say anything bad, sounds absolutely brilliant and kids love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dock, 13 Dec. 2013
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
Great value for money, though haven't used it yet as it's a christmas present for the bairn. Think she'll like it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good idea for anyone who has difficulty getting up, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
hopefully will help daughter to rise and shine on time for work so I don't have to keep going in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waking up on a daily basis at last, 20 May 2014
By 
F. Smith "fab fee" (West Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
This is the best clock radio alarm I have had. The clock doesn't light up the whole room (unless you want it to) but the volume of the radio/ipod in the morning is great as it starts low and builds so you don't get the fright of your life.

Lent to my flatmate whilst I was on holiday and she is now purchasing one. Her comments was "you are not having it back it's fab".

Buy one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Radio alarm, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TDK T78841 TAC4525 Dual Charging Alarm Clock Radio Speaker Dock System For iPod & iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S iPod Touch & Nano (Electronics)
This product is good value for the money
Not for an iPhone 5 unless you buy an adaptor to charge/ use with the iPhone 5
Sound is good and it looks ok to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews