Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The landmark book on simple living., 8 Jun 2009
Buy this book if you admire people who walk the walk. This book i have had for two years now and I continue to go back to beceause it moves me, inspires me and reminds me there are others like me who are living lightly on the earth and doing it with such grace and beauty that It has to be the right way of living. Simply wonderfull and has blessed my life since its day of purchase thankyou Bill Coperthwaite for giving this to the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 29 May 2009
By 
Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This is a beautiful book, written to be read by a lake, in solitude - quietly and thoughtfully. Lovely photos and inspiration from the usual sources - Gandhi, the Nearings, Ruskin and Thoreau. A must for anyone building a library on simple living, handcrafting and dreaming of peaceful existence. Drift away.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars holistic answers, 26 Jun 2010
The most inspiring book I have come across in a long time.
Here we can find some simple and holistic answers to the desperate situation of our modern consumer society.
It covers a wide range of social, environmental and spiritual aspects, e.g. the
futility of joyless learning in schools. He also points out the importance of loving the work we do and not just working to earn money.
The author shows deep respect for nature as well as indigenous people and their sustainable life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book of concentrated nutrients for mind, 13 May 2011
A book of inspiration and encouragement! A book that moves those who already live as simply and naturally as possible. Wish i could have known this book earlier! Ever since buying the first copy, i have been buying more copies to give to people who are on the path searching for meaning in this unsustainable society where greed is regarded as need.

It is the best 'dish' i have enjoyed in many years that i can't help going back to enjoy it often. More importantly, it is up to each of us to make a change by starting from small things in our lives that eventually big snowballs will form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect antidote for our fast paced and troubled times, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a man who has lived his life in service of those around him. He walks his talk and is a real inspriation. Well worth reading to show us all that there are alternative ways to live a fuller and more rewarding life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Topnotch! Beautiful publication!, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing book: inspiring, thoughtprovoking, beautiful pictures. Like all Chelsea Green publishings: highly recommendable! Buy this yourself and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Siggy (North Yorks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More of a philosophical treatise than a practical guide.
However, I enjoyed it non the less. Just wish I was in a position to put the ideas into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ) provoking and beautifully produced book, 10 Oct 2014
By 
Tabbyiab (Dorchester, Dorset) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Mr Coperthwaites philosophy on life and handmade objects rather than any kind of a craft instruction book. It is an engaging read, I had hoped for some more craft detail, which there wasn't a lot of, but nonetheless an interesting, thought (and hopefully action!) provoking and beautifully produced book. If you are interested in alternative lifestyles, craft as opposed to mass production and appreciation of your fellow humans on this journey then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Handmade Life: In Search of Simplicity
£9.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews