Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film, on the whole.
Bought as a cheap film to watch one evening, not expecting much. Mostly chosen because it was about my University. The only real issue is the nonsense geography, which will probably get frustrating to anyone who knows the city (or keen-eyed viewers), as will the film's insistence upon side-by-side rowing, which is rarely done in real life due to the narrow rivers...
Published 6 months ago by Sam

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad..
Not a bad film, But by far not as good as other brat pack films. A young american (rob lowe) travels to oxford (england) to find his dream girl!. After slating the english as americans like too. As is the 80,s you expect the waff of cheese!... Better films from this period. Breakfast club' St elmos fire' Pretty in pink' awesome soundtracks also.
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by B. G. Middleton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film, on the whole., 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Blues [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Bought as a cheap film to watch one evening, not expecting much. Mostly chosen because it was about my University. The only real issue is the nonsense geography, which will probably get frustrating to anyone who knows the city (or keen-eyed viewers), as will the film's insistence upon side-by-side rowing, which is rarely done in real life due to the narrow rivers.
However, this is quite a fussy gripe, and one that really isn't all that important as it has no real effect upon the rest of the film.

Once you get past that, the film itself is actually pretty good. It's funny, if a little dated, has decent enough storyline, as well as some good characters. For me, it's actually one of the better portrayals of Oxford in a film- for example the tutor, hilarious, somewhat insane, but focused on success, is certainly a familiar concept.
The story itself, of a keen sportsman from Vegas going to Oxford to meet a girl, and becoming a rower, is mostly coherent and relatively believable- whilst the initial reason for going seems pretty unlikely, throughout the film we soon see that this is a totally normal line of thinking for Rob Lowe's character, who is one for taking chances, being noticed, and doing everything absolutely to the full- the "All American Boy" of the film's title music. The climax of the film, the final boat race scene, with the crowd cycling along the river as the boats race, is very atmospheric and enjoyable.

All in all, a funny and enjoyable film, that does a pretty good job (for a 1980s American film) of portraying the various aspects of life as student in Oxford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very underated., 18 April 2007
By 
Mark Fairbank (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this film in the late 80's on VHS, from a rental shop.

I hadn't heard anything about it and was one of those 'take a chance' films.

I had been aware of Rob Lowe films and up to that point hadn't been disappointed. (About Last Night, St Elmos Fire)

It is quite different and i don't think it did too well. Maybe lack of marketing....?

Anyway, its a great film, has its comic moments and is enjoyable from start to finish.

If you like Rob Lowe films and have not seen it.... see it! buy it!

You will not be disappointed.

A feel good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic film from my youth, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Blues [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Rob was one of those brat pack kids who in the 1980's led the way for those who remember? but also for those to enjoy who did not grow up in this period classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Oxford Blues [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I thought this film was fun. Rob Low was for a a typical American lad who chased a dream and turned out in the end to be a decent young man. I thought it was funny and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Blues, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Neil A. Leigh "Sparky" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Blues [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I watched this film on VHS years ago and stumbled across the DVD version whilst shopping on Amazon. It was great value and was sent out immediately taking a couple of days to get to me. It is a very good film that shows Rob Lowe playing a typical brash American mixed up with the British Academical elite at Oxford University.
At times it portrays the university to be just for upper class English students when in reality oxford is a very diverse institution of academia.
But all in all the film is good fun and if you are a fan of rowing and the romance of Oxford University then you will love it.
Definately recommend this film for viewers on 'both sides of the lake' as Rob Lowe states during the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad.., 30 Oct 2009
By 
B. G. Middleton "alfie" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Blues [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Not a bad film, But by far not as good as other brat pack films. A young american (rob lowe) travels to oxford (england) to find his dream girl!. After slating the english as americans like too. As is the 80,s you expect the waff of cheese!... Better films from this period. Breakfast club' St elmos fire' Pretty in pink' awesome soundtracks also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Blues [DVD] [1984]
Oxford Blues [DVD] [1984] by Robert Boris (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews