Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better every time
I have the earlier three books and all are worth having. My edition turned up this morning and I read it cover to cover straightaway. Scott Kelby is a great author, very knowledgeable and very entertaining. if you read any of his book and don't giggle at least once, then please take your pulse.

This book continues in the same vein as the earlier editions...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After books 1, 2 and 3, tips are less and less valuable
For me, book 2 of the set is the best: after some introductory material, the author wrote the best set of tips in that book. After that, book 3 is for the second best set of tips. And this fourth book seems like "leftovers": tips that were not good enough for the previous books. It is not useless, but it is one notch below the quality of the others.
Published 23 months ago by G L Rocha


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better every time, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the earlier three books and all are worth having. My edition turned up this morning and I read it cover to cover straightaway. Scott Kelby is a great author, very knowledgeable and very entertaining. if you read any of his book and don't giggle at least once, then please take your pulse.

This book continues in the same vein as the earlier editions. Straightforward and easy to follow and each item is a paragraph or so long. I have been a photographer for over 35 years and I still learn from these books. I would say that anyone, amateur or professional can learn from this and at a great price you cant lose.

I am working my way through some of the tips in the book and the tips on HDR (high dynamic range) are worth buying the book for by itself.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photo books, 14 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having purchased vols 1-3 of these books earlier I cannot reccomend them too highly.All essential info easily referenced for any photographic situation you may
be faced with.This latest volume continues this theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carries right on from book 3, but not for beginners, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Vinman666 (Essex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Volume 1 of these books is the best-selling digital photography book of all time and it deserves to be - it has an almost perfect format of good advice, suitable to everyone from beginners to experienced and the ability to teach something useful on every single page. The successful format has lead to inevitable sequels and while the quality has been maintained, the advice has become more advanced.

For book 4 the majority of the content is aimed at DSLR and advanced Compact System Camera users. For example the first three chapters concern flash, either in the studio or the more advanced on-camera (not built-in) flashguns. Owners of point and shoot cameras will learn from the less equipment-oriented tips but these form the minority of the pages.

So, assuming you have a more advanced camera what will you learn about? Besides flash, which is a dark art for many, there are sections on sport photography, using the video functionality of your DSLR, tips for travel and street photography, landscapes and some more of the "recipe for this type of shot" that are so popular in this series.

I particularly like the nuggets of pro advice that are liberally sprinkled across the pages, such as getting better street photographs by sitting somewhere quietly for a while until the people around have forgotten you're there and only then beginning to quietly take photographs.

What I really like about this series is the lack of waffle - there is something of interest on every page and the text gets right to the point. They're also great when you have time to take pictures but are stuck for an idea - just open a few pages at random and something will inspire you. Scott's trademark humour is still present in this volume, which makes it an enjoyable read as well as informative.

Each volume is gradually becoming more advanced, so beginners should start with the first volume and work through in order but otherwise this is a perfect volume 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After books 1, 2 and 3, tips are less and less valuable, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me, book 2 of the set is the best: after some introductory material, the author wrote the best set of tips in that book. After that, book 3 is for the second best set of tips. And this fourth book seems like "leftovers": tips that were not good enough for the previous books. It is not useless, but it is one notch below the quality of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scott Kelby Book 4, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Up to the usual standard. A great set of books to use a reference before you go out on a Photo Shoot. I now have all 4 and always find an answer on how to set up a task. keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Similar quality as previous 3 volumes, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In line with previous 3 volumes. Personally I found this volume more intresting than number 3 given the topics included. Just wonder what will be included in volume 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book, a wonderful addition to the Scott Kelby range - even more information for a subject that just grows and grows - next one soon please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Digital Photography Book, Part 4, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Photography Book, Part 4 (Kindle Edition)
A useful book depending on your needs of course. Perhaps not personally as much use as books 1 to 3 but maybe that's inevitable as one becomes more experienced in the subject. I found the section on HDR interesting as it was an area I had not explored and it provided me with a way into this technique. It may well be of course that it's a book that I will refer back to when I discover another aspect of photography I want to explore. I would say it's of more interest to those that want to do portrait or wedding photography. The book does cover other aspects but not in such depth and there are fewer nuggets of information gained, which would not have been discovered in books 1 to 3.

Scott Kelby does have a knack of simplifying things and cutting to the core of a subject , without getting too bogged down into technicalities. He provides a good base or framework to build on.

On the negative side, I do have to say that it is time he reigned in his attempts at humour. Whilst I like his light hearted approach to photography, he needs to know he is not a stand up comic. Having to wade through paragraphs of absolute drivel of attempted humour at the start of each chapter, is simply tiresome. He even warns you about it at the start of his book. Its as if his editor told him to 'cut the crap' - but he couldn't actually bring himself to believe his humour is lame.

Worth a punt if you have a few spare quid in your pocket but not his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you like scotts writing style then this series is well worth getting. some great ideas and great to come back to and read over again. im surprised they aren't sold as a set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 4th Book out, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brought other 3 so had to buy this one if you are interested in Photography and like a different approach to learning then get these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews