Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life and death
"Tales from Earthsea" is a Miyazaki movie. Just not THE Miyazaki.

No, this extremely loose adaptation of Ursula le Guin's Earthsea series is directed by Hayao Miyazaki's son, Goro Miyazaki. And it has the earmarks of a promising first effort -- the visuals are hauntingly lovely, the dialogue is sometimes beautiful, and there's raw passion in its making. But...
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by E. A Solinas

versus
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but not all bad
Having read, and loved, the books on which this film was based, I had very high hopes for it. Unfortunately, I left the cinema feeling a little disappointed.

Ursula Le Guin's Earthsea is a grand and deeply moving epic, and none of this really came across in the film. Parts of it were brilliant, but I agree with the reviewer who said the end of the film doesn't...
Published on 2 Feb 2008 by H. Barter


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Earthsea, 23 Feb 2010
By 
L. driver "l.driver" (hertfordshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea [DVD] (DVD)
This is a typical Studio Ghilbi offering if you liked sprited away your like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 20 Feb 2008
By 
Ms. H. S. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea [DVD] (DVD)
I thought that Tales From Earthsea was a fantastic film. Comparing it to other Ghibli films completely misses the point of what films are supposed to be. There is no reason why it should be the same as all of the others. I think that a huge amount of heart went into it and I really felt the story as I was watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing and confounding, 26 Mar 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Waterlooville, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea [DVD] (DVD)
The slow pace of the film did not bother me, its almost like one of ghiblis eariler films like My Neighbour Totoro. But the (main) character is hugely under-deleoped and outshone by a lot of the other characters, his motivations aren't clear and the plot is rather confusing (even for those who have read Earthsea--which btw this film is not even based on the first book--its something like the 4th or 5th which does not help).

Sure its looks stunning, but the lack of explantion in the plot just makes it fustrating to watch. Rent, don't buy this, judge yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why all the negativity?, 28 Oct 2007
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea [DVD] (DVD)
I just finished watching this film on youtube and I really enjoyed. It may not be the best of the Ghibli films but remember this is Goro's first film and has has time to learn new things. In my opinion it was a decent film with a unique style we dont se in Hayao's films and that is a good thing. It shows creativity. the animation, although shabby in some places is overall very good and the story is very gripping (although not at all like the book). The only thing I could pick out that is not so good about this film is the emotionless characters. They show no emotion, they hardly laugh or smile or anything like that and the voices were also emotionless (i watched the japanese dub). That aside its a beautiful film from a very talented director that, mind you, still has a long way to go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea [DVD] (DVD)
wow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film!, 6 Jun 2010
By 
J. S. Hope (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea [DVD] (DVD)
I think that this film is amazing! It has beautiful animation and memorable characters.

I would recommend this film to All Ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales Form Earthsea DVD, 28 May 2009
By 
Pablo Serrano Rodriguez (Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea [DVD] (DVD)
Excelent film from Studio Gibli!! and it takes a lot drom the earthsea series from Ursula K Leguin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 22 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea [DVD] (DVD)
In all honesty,unlike a lot of other reviewers,I didnt know that this was based on any books.
I liked the film though :)
Some of it was a little confusing,but all in all,beautifully animated and one I will watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Masterpiece, 4 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea [DVD] (DVD)
First of all why all the bad reviews? Every director portrays their films the way they want to see it. When books are turned into films there will always be differences and conflicts between the fans and the hardcore fans. I understand that people want to see an amazing film but you can only do so much, if were entirely based upon the books the film would go on for 10 hours or more. Also if it were based entirely upon the book you would feel kind of bored because you have either read it or watched it you wouldn't do both. When Miyazaki Hayao made Howl's Moving Castle it was also loosely based on the books but the author didn't criticise the animation as the director is entitled to their own portrayal. You must also remember that Miyazaki Goro had no help what so ever from his father and had to do it all with the little experience that he had. He (Goro) gained the trust from the staff of Studio Ghibli and also his fathers recognition from this film.

Enough of my blabbering, the film on the whole was I felt a typical Studio Ghibli movie. It had the same form of animation that both Miyazaki Hayao and Takahata Isao use. The animation was as fantastic as ever and the standards at Ghibli never cease to amaze me. The background and foreground stills are truly magnificent some of the best I have seen from Ghibli. I felt in awe of the artist talent coming from Studio Ghibli and couldn't help feeling really jealous.

The story I think was a bit strange, it was difficult to follow at times but on the whole pretty good. Having not read the Earthsea books I cannot compare the two together. Some areas I couldn't understand as they were briefly touched upon like Prince Arrens crime and 'True Names'. The portrayal of Cob was a little odd but gave the film something different that normal Ghibli's didn't have. The voice cast was brilliant for the Japanese though at times the voices weren't all as they should be. I have yet to see the English dub but for what I have heard it was pretty good, leading roles being Timothy Dalton and Willem Dafoe.

This film has been receiving mixed reviews all around but it is being mostly slated by fans of the Earthsea quartet. It unfairly recieved the raspberry award for worst film and worst director, which is unfair on the debut director.

For those who are true fans of Studio Ghibli I highly recommend this film to you. This film is on par to most films in the collection. A fan of Studio Ghibli cannot be called a fan without this film. The constant belly acheing over how this film doesn't compare to Hayao's works or Spirited Away and Howl's Moving Castle is so much better and that Tales From Earthsea isn't worth buying gets on my nerves as the fact that this film and the director haven't really been given a chance. The story has its own magic behind it but none the less a true Ghibli. Like I said above this film had no help from Miyazaki Senior but still had the magic that Hayao produces in his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This was a present, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From Earthsea - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Don't have an opinion, but no complaints from the recipient and it arrived in good time. Cannot say more as I have not seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales From Earthsea - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD)
Tales From Earthsea - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) by Goro Miyazaki (Blu-ray - 2012)
17.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews