Customer Reviews


277 Reviews
5 star:
 (230)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a "Howl"
Not a lot of directors would be brave enough to take on a love story between a girl-turned-old-lady and a wizard missing a vital organ.

But Oscar-winning director/writer Hayao Miyazaki tackles a new fantasy realm in in "Howl's Moving Castle." In this case, it's the world of fantasy dowager Diana Wynne Jones, and he wraps the storyline in humor,...
Published on 24 Nov. 2005 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles don't quite match the audio!
Howl's Moving Castle is one of my favourite Studio Ghibli films, so I bought this French version to help me as I learn the language. Even as a beginner however, it's evident that the written French caption is sometimes very different from the spoken dialogue. Conceptually it's usually similar, but the subtitles will say "d'accord" when a character says...
Published 11 months ago by Mark Blundred


‹ Previous | 120 21 2228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife's favourite! Ghibli never fails to deliver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Watch, 17 April 2013
I'm a fan of spirited away so I thought I'd see what howls moving castle is like and its a very good watch in my opinion, There is 2 half's to the film first half were you can understand whats going on then towards the end it all goes a bit up in the air if you ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 5 Jan. 2008
By 
Dan Spencer (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Although different to Spirited Away, Miyazaki has made a fantastic film, creating a masterpiece worthy of Studio Ghibli. The music is well written, the plot is interesting and funny, and the characters are all unique. A film I would recommend to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Wow!, 19 Jun. 2011
"Oh Wow."

My thoughts after watching Howl's Moving Castle for the first time.
It's a beautyful film, filled with: love, fantasy, friendship, spells, magic, war and fear.

I can't express this enough:
BUY IT NOW!!!
You will be doing yourself a huge favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-watch film!, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
Miss J. R. Whiting "cHErrYbomb" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a gorgeous, beautiful film from Studio Ghibli, and Howl is the sexiest cartoon ever created!! Every frame is a work of art, supported by a great storyline. This film will leave you with a smile on your face and i cannot recommend it highly enough!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this film, one of Studio Ghibli's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 Aug. 2014
Nice item as described. Speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 2 Jun. 2011
I watched this film thinking it might not be worth my money, but I was totally wrong. It captured my heart and I think it has to be one of the best anime movies ever, overall, a beautiful production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 16 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful story and genius anime. Family friendly with a deeper meaning for the older viewers, what more can you ask for? I've watched it about a million times already and I'm still not sick of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howl's Moving Castle, 4 Jun. 2010
By 
S. Reilly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While not just as strong as some of the very best of Studio Ghibli films, Howl's Moving Castle is still a great watch and I would def recommend it, especially if you are a fan of the studio's output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 2228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howl's Moving Castle - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD)
Howl's Moving Castle - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) by Hayao Miyazaki (Blu-ray - 2012)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews