Customer Reviews


292 Reviews
5 star:
 (264)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, intelligent viewing
I had no preconceived notions about this series when I purchased the box-set, other than recommendations of other Amazon purchasers (though it turned out I had seen part of one episode on TV on a visit to France, when it did not make much sense out of context). I was soon hooked, watching two or three episodes back to back until I had finished all three series. I've...
Published on 17 Sept. 2012 by 'Arry Viewer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocked and disappointed.
Very violent and leaves nothing to the imagination. Not as good as Series 5.
Published 9 days ago by Keith Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly impossible to view in the USA!, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Complete Series 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Outstanding series! Well acted, well directed, sincere plot line, actually instructive.
Serious character study. In depth analysis of how we live now.
And then again, it takes place in the one and only Paris!

It is next to impossible to get to see this type of high quality Continental production in the USA.
The "powers that be" just don't distribute them.
Our loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally honest and very French, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
The first is perhaps the best because of the shock of the unparalleled frankness of the script and storyline. The sleazy world of French career politics/judiciary coupled with a female police officer who bends the rules positively whilst many of her colleagues bend them corruptly makes for a very lifelike world. If your French is up to Parisian slang as well this is real French 'food'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creme de la Creme, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched most of the great continental drama series (Borgen, the Killing series 1, the Bridge, Wallander, Inspector Montalbano and Braquo series 1 are all highly recommended) I honesty think that this beats them all. But be warned, this box set is like one of those library books you just can't put down. You just have to keep watching episode after episode it is so addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but sub standard - sub titles, 22 May 2013
By 
Wayne (Cheshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Agree series 1 2 3 boxed set excellent - I have series recorded 4 on my tv set box and look forward to the broadcast version of series 5 - there is a huge difference in quality of sub titles - I saw series 3 & 4 on tv and the subtitles were good but the dvd's seems to have poor quality text overall and jumpy incomplete guidance to the French dialogue - why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiraling to greater heights, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Complete Series 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
possibly the best detective series ever but not just the police work but the political plotting and intrigue, absolutely brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiral?, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Compulsive viewing. Why are French police so chaotic and totally disorganised? Haven't they heard of joined up policing? As if.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 3 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series from beginning to end. Engaging characters and actors - the story line develops at a quick pace, and each episode not only propels the narration forward to the next installment, but provides depth in describing the human condition (a bit dark for my taste). Easy to view with subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Series, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Roger Fallon "Roger" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I would thoroughly recommend this series. I had watched all of The Killing Series and had withdrawal symptoms. The Spiral I would say is even better. It starts slowly for the first few episodes and uses smaller cases on the side to develop the characters. Each series is centered on one killing around which are woven outcomes involving each of the characters. The female detective for me was the star with a number running close second, the female independent barrister, the advocate, the judge and the other detectives. As with The Killing I was quickly hooked and just had to watch the next episode. Only three series were made unfortunately. Can't wait for the new The Killing series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiral Series, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Complete Series 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
I was recommended this series of films by a good friend

I was very impressed with the series, the writing, filming, acting and the intertwinned plots.

(It is also a good and enjoyable way in brushing up one's french)

A mosat enjoyable experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great characters and terrific plot - along the lines of ..., 4 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Complete Series 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Am loving this and find it hard to not keep watching one episode after another. Great characters and terrific plot - along the lines of The Bridge & The Killing, both of which I also loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spiral - Complete Series 1-4 [DVD]
Spiral - Complete Series 1-4 [DVD] by Philippe Triboit (DVD - 2013)
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews