Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dramatic rollercoaster spirals on
I was wrong to fear that the fourth series of "Spiral" would have run out of steam plot-wise. It proves compulsive viewing as ever, with at least half-a-dozen dramatic interwoven storylines, involving at one extreme an anarchist group bent on creating the "state of terror" of the title and a family of arms-smuggling Kurds, at the other touchingly naïve Judge Roban, back...
Published 20 months ago by Antenna

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed. The DVD only had sparce sub-titles and was ...
Very disappointed. The DVD only had sparce sub-titles and was impossible to follow the plot. The DVD was returned for exchange twice and am still waiting for a decent replacement.
Published 2 months ago by David Reuben


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dramatic rollercoaster spirals on, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I was wrong to fear that the fourth series of "Spiral" would have run out of steam plot-wise. It proves compulsive viewing as ever, with at least half-a-dozen dramatic interwoven storylines, involving at one extreme an anarchist group bent on creating the "state of terror" of the title and a family of arms-smuggling Kurds, at the other touchingly naïve Judge Roban, back at his desk but ostracised by his slimy colleagues for previous abortive attempts at whistleblowing, yet determined to press on regardless out of principle.

Somewhat implausible as ever (but who cares?), driven, designer-scruffy Capitaine Laure Berthaud continues to rush about, hair escaping from its clip, T-shirt slipping off one shoulder, turning a blind eye as her male underlings beat up uncooperative suspects in the office, and screaming "Putain" on the frequent occasions when, having done an impressive job identifying a gang's rendezvous, they let the criminals escape. To be fair this is usually because they have insufficient back-up.

Also implausible yet entertaining is Pierre's continued working partnership with the seductive, talented yet unscrupulous Josephine, although at last we learn some reasons for her warped emotions. Pierre seems to be swapping one devil for another, in quitting the state legal service out of concern over its corruption only to take on as a client a notorious villain, against even Josephine's advice.

The dramatic final scenes avoid a run-of-the-mill "happy for everyone against the odds" ending. Although the key aspects of the conclusion are predictable, there are enough twists to continue the suspense to the last.

For a viewer dependent on sub-titles, the fast-moving plot requires total concentration, but the recap, "précédemment" opening each of the twelve episodes helps one to focus on the key points. Once again, I cannot imagine what the producers will pull out of the bag for what I believe is the final series, but am confident it will be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it just does not get better than this, 23 Mar 2013
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Every so often a really cracking police thriller film comes out of France, Spiral takes that dark edginess and puts it into a gripping thriller series of twelve episodes. There are not many series that can manage to be constantly tense and gripping for over ten hours, but this does it easily. At the heart of the story are the familiar core group of police, lawyers and officials who form part of the judicial system. The French title Engrenages, or gears, gives an idea of their interconnected nature.

The story is dark, Paris never looked greyer or less appealing, and cynical, but at heart these are people who want justice to be done, regardless of the personal cost. Although having seen previous series will enhance your enjoyment of this series, you could easily pick up this series and enjoy it. For existing fans of the series, there are some interesting reversals, and new alliances are formed. The budget this time seems larger than previous series, the camera relentlessly prowls a grey Paris, there is plenty of tension and the cast is tremendous. You never feel that this is acting, they all absolutely inhabit their roles, from crime lords to refugees, they are all fully formed characters, you feel a degree of empathy for everyone, after all everyone is a hero in their own story.

There are a variety of plots, all exciting and urgent, international terrorism underpins a few of them, but treated in a sensitive and realistic way, unlike the more sensational and jingoistic approaches of some series.

The series comes to a cracking and emotional conclusion leaving you hungry for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiral - Series 4, 26 Nov 2012
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought Spiral 4 in France a couple of weeks back and by using the French subtitles, and the occasional screen freeze to look up words from my French dictionary, and by utilising my school boy French, this was enough to enable me to understand the twists and turns of this amazing new series.

Great acting once again, in particualr from the two leading ladies, Laure Berthaud (Caroline Proust) and Josephine Karlsson, especially Josephine's (Audrey Fleurot) unexpectedly erotic moment at the end of episode three!

Totally gripping , totally captivating, even an old love interest of Laure's from series two makes a come back in episode 7 to create some fireworks and tension in her personal life!.

I couldnt wait until February to see this after the brilliant series two and three, but if you must wait for the English version , you will not be disappointed with this taught and gripping 12 episode excitement fest. I watched two episodes every day for six days and couldnt wait for the evening to come round to watch the next installments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canal+ Edition, 20 Dec 2012
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Spiral is back once again for another series, and this time, we're left with some cliffhangers from series 3. Although things have been rather aggressive in their department, Bertraud and her gang are back. There's also the issues surrounding the order side too, with Karlson and the judge Robain too.

When someone is found badly injured in the the woods - Bertraud and her gang have to find out why. In the meantime, there's a guy being deported from France who has dodgy paperwork; and we have a nutter trying to cause trouble for the French authorities. Josephine has to sort out her problems and judge Robain has to find his way back into the judicial system. How they'll manage it, and at what cost you'll have to wait until the DVD is released (not giving any spoilers).

This is yet another great series from Son Et Lumiere, with the participation of BBC Four. It is always keeping you on the edge of your seat and has fascinating but bizarre storylines. Karlson is still my favourite character - alongside Gilou, who does remind me of Jean Hughes Aglade's character in Braquo, he is a bit dodgy, yet he does try to do the best for his team. Caroline Proust has never really caught my attention, I find her rude and a real moaner - panics instead of thinking rationally.

This comes on 4 DVDs in France, but I suspect you'll only get three in the UK. This is disappointing to me as it is usually compressed - whereas the image supplied by Canal+ is really good. Sadly the French edition has no English subs - so wait for the UK release if you're not ofee with our language.

Superb, thrilling and gripping, I had to have this - worth every Euro!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Any concerns that the fourth series of the great fast moving French cop show Spiral would not match the predecessors are soon dispelled for the show is as good as ever with first class production values aided by both a good script and excellent performances. It is not difficult to follow the various twists and extensions of the plotline which includes illegal immigrants, ultra left-wing activists, Kurdish militants, assorted criminals, infighting among police departments and perhaps surprisingly freemasonry.

Among a good cast of professionals there are two stand-outs; Caroline Proust as the dedicated but volatile Captain Laure Berthaud whose romantic involvements remain as complicated as ever and Audrey Fleurot as the seriously ambitious and manipulative Josephine Karlsson. A troubled childhood, revealed quite early in the series, is an indication of the lawyer's present character and helps explain her loathing of the police. Also very good are the series of character actors who portray the middle aged, smartly dressed and conscious of social standing members of the French legal establishment. Here Philippe Duclos continues to impress as the principled but at time naïve Judge Francois Roban

A possible difficulty is the rapid fire subtitles but with such fast moving dialogue it is difficult to appreciate how matters could be improved.

Much has been written about Nordic Noir and these police series from Sweden, Denmark and Norway are very good but with productions like Spiral and Braquo the French film industry still has the edge. The only English speaking productions to match are The Shield and The Wire

Trottman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series but lazy subtitling, 7 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
My French is passable but it's sometimes hard to follow policier-speak. The subtitling of Series 4 though is just plain lazy and far too minimal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paris police, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Gordon Kendal (Dundee, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a splendid programme with the 4th series maintaining the high quality of the previous series. The acting was of a high quality and the retaining of the original cast was beneficial to the plot and the ease of understanding their actions. I would like to think that there will be a 5th series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Exceptionally well made, perfectly cast and acted, directed with realistic flair, this starts well and actually gets better, unlike many drama series that go on too long. In this case, good though Series One is, Series Two is better, Series Three better still, and Series Four is masterly. Although I do not speak French and hence rely on the subtitles, it is clearly well written. Importantly, all the characters have considerable depth and their inter-relationships develop admirably. I believe that Series Five is on the way and eagerly await discovering where these characters will go next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPRIAL SERIES 4, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The story is challenging and the interwoven plots are neatly dovetailed. As the series 1-4 has progressed the characters are a little difficult to place but with four ethnic groups Kurds, Uzbeks, Turks and various factions of the French judiciary more clear links between them might be helpful.

As the serieses have progressed the dialogue has quickened and those of us with only poor french composition are forced to revisit the dialogue. Production great, character development great, story lines great.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Konrad J. Perlman (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Great acting, plot and direction. Riveting! I have recommended it to many other watchers. Hard to surpass in the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spiral - Series 4 [DVD]
Spiral - Series 4 [DVD] by Virginie Sauveur (DVD - 2013)
£10.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews