Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable.
These two series held my interest totally. Excellent storylines, slick acting and the casting was good. All the actors are believable characters (avoiding the US tendency of appearing to recruit their actress's from modelling agencies!). Only Maxine Peake's character comes over as a little too good to be true! But a combination of well written scripts and skilled...
Published on 29 Dec. 2012 by R. C. Harris

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Polyester than Silk
I didn't catch this series on TV, but being a big fan of quality TV crime drama, and having just enjoyed Peter Moffatt's North Square on DVD, I bought the box set based on the Amazon reviews. Well, each to his own taste, I guess. For my part, I'm shocked at how lame this popular series is. And they're about to screen a third! Tired writing, very clichéd lead...
Published 21 months ago by Mike Brecher


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable., 29 Dec. 2012
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
These two series held my interest totally. Excellent storylines, slick acting and the casting was good. All the actors are believable characters (avoiding the US tendency of appearing to recruit their actress's from modelling agencies!). Only Maxine Peake's character comes over as a little too good to be true! But a combination of well written scripts and skilled acting succeed in keeping you on her side. Neil Stuke is superb as the calculating and scheming chief clerk. Poor old Phil Davis again takes on the persona of an odiously vitrolic character - a slimy solicitor! He is, as usual, marvellous! Rupert Penry-Jones captures his role well, as the rather weak and womanising ambitious lawyer, being desperate to attain silk.

Each episode completes a story but there is an ongoing thread of action which helps continuity and stimulates interest in 'the next episode'. At the close of series 2 there are sufficient ongoing threads to indicate that there will be a series 3, or more. Hope so, I'm hooked. I'll keep my eyes open for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Ranking Legals, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
If I needed a lawyer, I would want Martha Costello. She is passionate, intelligent, wily and will go to any lengths to prove you are innocent. She is a lawyer for the downtrodden.

'Silk' s the latest BBC offering to the states on our PBS stations As host Alan Cumming explains in the first-night introduction, "Silk" refers to the prestigious position of Queen's Counsel: In British court, these high-ranking barristers wear gowns of silk (also those crazy wig hats). Our Martha Costello played by Maxine Peake is but one in her firm looking for thebSilk. The other barrister, Clive Reader, played by Rupert Pen Jnes is also going for the the Silk. He is one who plays loose and wild with games, and our Martha one-ups him in case after case.

We get to know Martha a little, see her at home working on cases, dancing by herself to viny reviews on the recordplayer. She is one of the best, but no home life, yet. Another interesting player in ths series is the 'Senior Clerk', Billy Lamb. It is his job to assign cases from solicitors who oversee the criminal cases. We see Billy trying to balance the books and advance the careers of those barristers in his care. We see Martha covering at least two complicated cases at a time, with little or no time to,prepare. You must be on your toes, and use your 'pupil', a young lawyer waiting his turn at the big time.

The characters are delicious. We already see in episode one that some barristers are not happy and want to uproot Billy from his job. Office politics are very much in the midst. Clive thrives on sex with his young pupil and cocaine. Martha does not much like Clive, but she understands he is a worthy competitor, and she's on her toes. Martha is a very attractive blonde, and she has followers, not always the good kind.

I look forward to the series and hope Martha makes her Silk. Clive doesn't deserve it, yet, too much of a player.

Recommended. prisrob 08-26-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love the series, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I just love all the behind the scenes action in this series can't wait till series 3 to be released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Entertainment, 30 Jun. 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This has had mixed reviews regarding realism and authenticity. Shame, because this is first-rate value in entertainment. The back-room bar is a far cry from the in-house ferociousness. Rivalry and competition are ribald and rife. Yet, there is always a relationship bordering on comradery within the chambers. The later the episodes progress, the more understanding of relationships off-court are more transparent.

This is a business overseen by chief clerk Billy Lamb (brilliantly played by Neil Stuke). The viewer can assess the morals and dilemmas the programmes throw up, but for the legal profession is 'the case must go on' or Maxine's maxim 'innocent until proven guilty'. The protagonists Martha Castello (Maxine Peake), Clive Reader (Rupert-Henry Jones), Caroline Warwick ( Francis Barber- what's in my bottle?), plus the coniving Micky Joy (the epitomy of snide) add to a superb collection. The cases brought before defence and prosecution are enjoyable side-shows to the main characters. Enjoyable is meant in a theatrical sense as the villains are portrayed superbly by writer Peter Moffat.

The overall feeling, despite the grab-grabbing opinion some have about the legal profession (aka estate agents, politicians) this really is top-TV entertainment. Take it as it comes. Great fun. Look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good series, 28 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Blacklock "Joan Blacklock/uk" (Northern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
lovely to watch my old favourite show. plenty of suspense and thrills galore excellent performance by great actors from my past..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and Compelling, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
For those who enjoy Courtroom Drama with an edge - this is a series for you. I enjoy seeing the weaknesses and the strengths of the characters. The chief protagonists are three dimensional and convincing. Often I love them, sometimes I feel angry with them, often I am on their side and occasionally I have to forgive them - a bit like real life really. The politics of the office have a real ring of truth and add some excellent drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 25 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant series . The story lines are excellent and very well acted . Can't wait for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars appreciated, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
G. Crook "Waterloo tragic" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I would appreciate another series of this very entertaining drama.
While laywers must be chuckling about many of the soap opera elements inside the relevant chamber,the cast and writers have come up with a very high quality piece of work.
However,let's hope that 'Silk' doesn't go the way of 'Garrow's Law'[which ended abruptly at series 3].
There seems a reluctance at the BBC to regard longevity as important in their dramas today,perhaps because British actors too quickly and expertly establish the strength and depth of their characterisations.
Perhaps this then leads the bosses to think we [the viewing public]are quickly bored.Or perhaps the actors are unavailable or the BBC is running out of money?
As the BBC can maintain excellent writing and acting over 5 or six seasons and more[eg 'Hustle' and 'Spooks']can we have at least two more seasons please?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silk, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This boxed set was purchased purely on the reviews by amazon customers. It was so good it was impossible to stick to one or two episodes an evening.
Often, the ending of a film is a let down but the ending of Silk was absolutely great. No let downs, just really good entertainment. Hope there is a sequel - but only if it is as good as series 1 and 2. Otherwise, leave it unspoiled.
Definitely five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Brits and the law.., 3 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Aah, what can be said that hasn't otherwise been said about the Brits and their political twists and the law. Absolutely adore these dramas that are so captivating and eventful, put the Americans to shame but then again not so hard to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silk - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD]
£9.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews