Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Word - Brilliant.
This drama was amazing. The last episode was pulled from TV due to a tragedy that occured in Manchester, and I was kept dangling to see it. At first, I was disappointed with the ending as it didn't seem to finish off the story - there were so many un-answered questions. Now I see that this is the beauty of it. Such a powerful ending that has left me thirsty for more...
Published on 14 Oct. 2012 by Dan Manchester

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good cop
Good episodes but very poor ending. Just left the viewer needing another episode to pull the themes together. Not satisfactory
Published 9 months ago by Brooklands


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best crime series in years, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
So enjoyed this when it was on TV last year. Acting, script and filming were top drawer. Kept me glued to the screen each week. Bought this to send to my son in Thailand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this when it was shown on the BBC only I had missed the last part and was desperate to see how it ended. I watched from the beginning and it was superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Descent Into Hell, 14 Jun. 2013
By 
Stargazer (St.Kilda, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Warren Brown did a very good job playing the lead, a police officer of seven years experience who witnesses the horrific murder of his partner Andy. When they are called to a house that has a party in progress to ask them to turn down the music, they are ignored by the occupants inside. John Paul Rocksavage (Warren Brown) decides to go around to the back door, leaving his partner at the front.
Once the two are separated, Andy was admitted inside the house and suddenly finds himself surrounded by a group of thugs. The doors leading outside the house are locked, and the windows are all barred. John Paul was unable to break in,and after smashing a window with iron bars, he has a clear view of the horrifying gang attack on his partner as he is kicked almost to death. Finally, a TV is produced and slammed down on poor Andy's head.

Andy lies in hospital in a coma while the police look for enough evidence to charge all of those involved. John Paul is severely traumatised, and refuses to take break from work. He has had a run-in with a low life individual at a pub before the incident with Andy, who promises the next copper he has a disagreement with will be killed. John Paul returns to the scene of the crime and sits in darkness awaiting his prey.
What happens next is when John Paul Rocksavage takes a decision that sends him into his own kind of hell. After being goaded as gutless, he shoots his partners slayer killimg him instantly. John Paul crosses the line in grim fashion when a would be blackmailer,who was also a member of the gang responsible for Andy's murder,
is subjected to being tortured before his death.

From then on John Paul is under enormous pressure. His father is ill and mostly bedridden, relying on his son to take care of him. His ex-wife has returned from America with their daughter and John Paul is desperate to resume contact with them. His wife has moved on despite John Paul's despair at their breakup. He has constant run-ins with his superiors at work, as he won't allow them to get on with solving this murder.
He can't relax and is haunted by the flashbacks of Andy's murder. He can't sleep and starts running long distances, and going for long walks,
There isn't really any light relief ahead either, as John Paul, slowly descends into madness and his judgement is under question.

This is a very tort, tight ,well written drama - something we all expect from the BBC, with good performances from all of the cast. Well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, outstanding drama, 14 Sept. 2012
By 
Ms. R. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
i heard about this by chance whilst reading through one of my gossip magazines and saw the promo photo of it. i had to google it and immediately i was hooked. the 1st episode was outstanding, very well written, and absolutely heartbreaking as his friend died in hospital, had me almost in tears i can tell you!!
this reminds me of bodies, and the tv drama band of gold, it is such a shame that there is only 4 episodes. lets hope that the bbc will listen to these positive reviews and give this a second series with six episodes.
i hope this dvd has extras on it. i need more of this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top UK Drama, 18 Sept. 2012
By 
J. Sheffield "Johh B Sheffield" (NEWTON-LE-WILLOWS, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
What a TOP BBC DRAMA showing Warren Brown at his very Best! the closest I have seen to something like the USA series "The Wire" this could have been a top movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but conclusion was extremely poor, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
A good dramatic series spoilt by a unsatisfactory conclusion. Perhaps the writer thought there would be a second series but it seems not. Call me old fashioned but I like a beginning, a middle and an ending. I don't want to concoct my own interpretation of what might have happened. To me that's a lazy get out for the writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars poor attempt of a scouse dexter, 22 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting concept but let down in the end (which end?). I guess they want to keep their options open and create a scouse dexter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a requested gift, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
This was bought as a gift by someone who had already seen Good Cop. It is well worth having the DVD so that it can be watched whenever wanted...and it has been watched now several times. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Cop., 6 May 2014
By 
S. Gregory "Sonbonone" (Sheffield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it well worth watching however saying this the ending felt slightly 'unfinished' but that said it was excellent very good acting and very good script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant from start to finish , acting ,performance ,and not over the top scenes .would highly recommend this DVD x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Cop [DVD]
Good Cop [DVD] by Susan Tully (DVD - 2012)
£6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews