Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Outstanding
A powerful, driven drama with both great acting and writing...what more could you want? Absolutely outstanding, can't recommend it enough!
Published 22 months ago by Stormwatch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good cop
Good episodes but very poor ending. Just left the viewer needing another episode to pull the themes together. Not satisfactory
Published 4 months ago by Brooklands


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Outstanding, 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
A powerful, driven drama with both great acting and writing...what more could you want? Absolutely outstanding, can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Word - Brilliant., 14 Oct 2012
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
This drama was amazing. The last episode was pulled from TV due to a tragedy that occured in Manchester, and I was kept dangling to see it. At first, I was disappointed with the ending as it didn't seem to finish off the story - there were so many un-answered questions. Now I see that this is the beauty of it. Such a powerful ending that has left me thirsty for more.

I really hope there is a second series of this, it would be possible. This was such an emotive, authentic drama which really portrays how many good citizens feel with modern day laws and policing.

This was brilliant, better than any film I have seen for a long time. Please make more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense, gripping stuff., 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
A dark, gripping, gritty drama. Excellent acting especially by Warren Brown. Set in Liverpool. Shame they are not making another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and brooding, 31 Aug 2013
By 
K. Burgin (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Not much joy in this tense and harrowing tale of a good cop gone bad - Warren Brown is excellent and a nice portrait of him and his father. Much left up in the air at the end, but after the plot twists, that's to be expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished masterpiece, 5 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
For plausibility, suspense and sheer compulsion there would be few if any police dramas as good as this one.

Every character and detail is carefully observed and weighted so that as the viewer you cannot help but be drawn in and want, and yet not want, to know what happens next.

The central character is a decorated PC who has a secret life as an avenger of the shocking evil done to his colleagues, yet he is also hiding in plain sight from the detective leading the investigation into the deaths of criminals that he causes.

Vengeance of this kind proves effective though never perfect since it, like everything else, no matter how careful and controlled is subject to the law of unintended consequences.

In every major aspect, this series is exceptional.

The depiction of Liverpool's people and places is unforgettable.

The writing is superb and the acting is amazing.

In particular, the main character is portrayed brilliantly by Warren Brown, who in his performance registers very little in terms of facial expression yet you see the shadow of all that happens to him pass across his face.

For the sake of everyone involved in creating 'Good Cop', it is a crying shame that because of events beyond their control this story will never be told in full, though at least there is room for viewers to ponder how it could all turn out.

We are left with so much to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of the seat drama, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this gripping drama. No idea what what was going to happen next.
Makes we want to visit the north of England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Had to see the end, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Which was slightly inconclusive esp as the BBC have pulled doing any more. Shame, presumably due to recent events: well, it won't stop them! It was a great series, really thrilling in a different sort of way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good., 9 Jun 2013
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
The one thing I really dislike about the series is that it clearly ends with another series in mind, giving not even a bare resolution to any of the stories let alone the main one, and unfortunately it appears that it hasn't been recommissioned or the writers have decided to finish it there. That's really irritating and somewhat lazy, I don't need absolutely every little thing to be wrapped up neatly but it just doesn't function as the climax of a story.

That said, it's well worth watching and it's at a very reasonable price. Warren Brown is superb and although the main plot doesn't always have as much focus as it perhaps should, the 'slice of life' style is pretty refreshing. It's also nice to see Liverpool portrayed in a reasonably positive light, of course there's a lot of crime and violence in the show as there is in the city itself but it also conveys it as a decent place to live with mostly decent people.

Not as good as Line of Duty, and an annoying ending, but a good show nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Descent Into Hell, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Stargazer (St.Kilda, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Warren Brown did a very good job playing the lead, a police officer of seven years experience who witnesses the horrific murder of his partner Andy. When they are called to a house that has a party in progress to ask them to turn down the music, they are ignored by the occupants inside. John Paul Rocksavage (Warren Brown) decides to go around to the back door, leaving his partner at the front.
Once the two are separated, Andy was admitted inside the house and suddenly finds himself surrounded by a group of thugs. The doors leading outside the house are locked, and the windows are all barred. John Paul was unable to break in,and after smashing a window with iron bars, he has a clear view of the horrifying gang attack on his partner as he is kicked almost to death. Finally, a TV is produced and slammed down on poor Andy's head.

Andy lies in hospital in a coma while the police look for enough evidence to charge all of those involved. John Paul is severely traumatised, and refuses to take break from work. He has had a run-in with a low life individual at a pub before the incident with Andy, who promises the next copper he has a disagreement with will be killed. John Paul returns to the scene of the crime and sits in darkness awaiting his prey.
What happens next is when John Paul Rocksavage takes a decision that sends him into his own kind of hell. After being goaded as gutless, he shoots his partners slayer killimg him instantly. John Paul crosses the line in grim fashion when a would be blackmailer,who was also a member of the gang responsible for Andy's murder,
is subjected to being tortured before his death.

From then on John Paul is under enormous pressure. His father is ill and mostly bedridden, relying on his son to take care of him. His ex-wife has returned from America with their daughter and John Paul is desperate to resume contact with them. His wife has moved on despite John Paul's despair at their breakup. He has constant run-ins with his superiors at work, as he won't allow them to get on with solving this murder.
He can't relax and is haunted by the flashbacks of Andy's murder. He can't sleep and starts running long distances, and going for long walks,
There isn't really any light relief ahead either, as John Paul, slowly descends into madness and his judgement is under question.

This is a very tort, tight ,well written drama - something we all expect from the BBC, with good performances from all of the cast. Well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, outstanding drama, 14 Sep 2012
By 
Ms. R. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
i heard about this by chance whilst reading through one of my gossip magazines and saw the promo photo of it. i had to google it and immediately i was hooked. the 1st episode was outstanding, very well written, and absolutely heartbreaking as his friend died in hospital, had me almost in tears i can tell you!!
this reminds me of bodies, and the tv drama band of gold, it is such a shame that there is only 4 episodes. lets hope that the bbc will listen to these positive reviews and give this a second series with six episodes.
i hope this dvd has extras on it. i need more of this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Cop [DVD]
Good Cop [DVD] by Susan Tully (DVD - 2012)
6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews