Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Word - Brilliant.
This drama was amazing. The last episode was pulled from TV due to a tragedy that occured in Manchester, and I was kept dangling to see it. At first, I was disappointed with the ending as it didn't seem to finish off the story - there were so many un-answered questions. Now I see that this is the beauty of it. Such a powerful ending that has left me thirsty for more...
Published on 14 Oct 2012 by Dan Manchester

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good cop
Good episodes but very poor ending. Just left the viewer needing another episode to pull the themes together. Not satisfactory
Published 8 months ago by Brooklands


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Word - Brilliant., 14 Oct 2012
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
This drama was amazing. The last episode was pulled from TV due to a tragedy that occured in Manchester, and I was kept dangling to see it. At first, I was disappointed with the ending as it didn't seem to finish off the story - there were so many un-answered questions. Now I see that this is the beauty of it. Such a powerful ending that has left me thirsty for more.

I really hope there is a second series of this, it would be possible. This was such an emotive, authentic drama which really portrays how many good citizens feel with modern day laws and policing.

This was brilliant, better than any film I have seen for a long time. Please make more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Outstanding, 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
A powerful, driven drama with both great acting and writing...what more could you want? Absolutely outstanding, can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense, gripping stuff., 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
A dark, gripping, gritty drama. Excellent acting especially by Warren Brown. Set in Liverpool. Shame they are not making another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and brooding, 31 Aug 2013
By 
K. Burgin (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Not much joy in this tense and harrowing tale of a good cop gone bad - Warren Brown is excellent and a nice portrait of him and his father. Much left up in the air at the end, but after the plot twists, that's to be expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Had to see the end, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Which was slightly inconclusive esp as the BBC have pulled doing any more. Shame, presumably due to recent events: well, it won't stop them! It was a great series, really thrilling in a different sort of way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished masterpiece, 5 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
For plausibility, suspense and sheer compulsion there would be few if any police dramas as good as this one.

Every character and detail is carefully observed and weighted so that as the viewer you cannot help but be drawn in and want, and yet not want, to know what happens next.

The central character is a decorated PC who has a secret life as an avenger of the shocking evil done to his colleagues, yet he is also hiding in plain sight from the detective leading the investigation into the deaths of criminals that he causes.

Vengeance of this kind proves effective though never perfect since it, like everything else, no matter how careful and controlled is subject to the law of unintended consequences.

In every major aspect, this series is exceptional.

The depiction of Liverpool's people and places is unforgettable.

The writing is superb and the acting is amazing.

In particular, the main character is portrayed brilliantly by Warren Brown, who in his performance registers very little in terms of facial expression yet you see the shadow of all that happens to him pass across his face.

For the sake of everyone involved in creating 'Good Cop', it is a crying shame that because of events beyond their control this story will never be told in full, though at least there is room for viewers to ponder how it could all turn out.

We are left with so much to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of the seat drama, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this gripping drama. No idea what what was going to happen next.
Makes we want to visit the north of England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good., 9 Jun 2013
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
The one thing I really dislike about the series is that it clearly ends with another series in mind, giving not even a bare resolution to any of the stories let alone the main one, and unfortunately it appears that it hasn't been recommissioned or the writers have decided to finish it there. That's really irritating and somewhat lazy, I don't need absolutely every little thing to be wrapped up neatly but it just doesn't function as the climax of a story.

That said, it's well worth watching and it's at a very reasonable price. Warren Brown is superb and although the main plot doesn't always have as much focus as it perhaps should, the 'slice of life' style is pretty refreshing. It's also nice to see Liverpool portrayed in a reasonably positive light, of course there's a lot of crime and violence in the show as there is in the city itself but it also conveys it as a decent place to live with mostly decent people.

Not as good as Line of Duty, and an annoying ending, but a good show nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UTTERLY FANTASTIC, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Bradley S Martell (calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
WHAT AN INCREDIBLE SHOW!!!! MOODY, GRITTY, UNPREDICTABLE.... THIS IS WHY I LOVE BRITISH TELEVISION. I AM FROM CANADA & WE HAVE NOTHING LIKE EITHER ON CANADIAN OR AMERICAN TV. IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN DVD SET. GET IT. PREPARE TO BE THOROUGHLY ENTERTAINED & AMAZED!!! AWESOME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 Nov 2014
By 
A. B. Mckay (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Cop [DVD] (DVD)
Outstanding. I watched Good Cop when it first aired on the BBC. It was stopped because of the tragic killing of two Police officers in Manchester.

It remains in my view one of the best Drama's ever screened on the BBC. For me, it doesn't need a "second series". I won't spoil it for others who haven't watched it but the ending leaves it open for a second series so I was half expecting the BBC to announce a second series.

I hadn't seen Warren Brown before but this shows how good an actor he is. As is Stephen Graham who I first came across in "This is England" - both actors, in fact every actor and actress in it play their part extremely well.

With "The Missing" now airing on the BBC you'll find it hard this drama a tough act to follow.

Excellent performances all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Cop [DVD]
Good Cop [DVD] by Susan Tully (DVD - 2012)
£6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews