Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Joy to Read
The latest offering by Jake Simons, one of London's most talented young writers, is a one-of-a-kind thriller. *****

There is fresh intrigue on every page. Characters are flawed and real. There is a nerve-racking sense of danger and claustrophobia taking its toll on the main character, with shocking and unexpected violence which threatens to engulf his life...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by The Hampstead Book Club

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable thriller
I read a lot of similar books and I am always looking for a new author to get into. I didn't have too much sympathy for the main characters so I had to work a little to keep at it, but in the end was rewarded by a few good twists.
Published 19 months ago by Dr. Martin J. Sadler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Joy to Read, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Pure (Paperback)
The latest offering by Jake Simons, one of London's most talented young writers, is a one-of-a-kind thriller. *****

There is fresh intrigue on every page. Characters are flawed and real. There is a nerve-racking sense of danger and claustrophobia taking its toll on the main character, with shocking and unexpected violence which threatens to engulf his life. Simons' The Pure, like the works of Capote and le Carré, is honestly about as suspenseful as literature gets. The novel, of course, is very topical, with the realities of a nuclear Iran and Wikileaks playing a key part in a story which brings plausible events to life. This was a truly exhilarating novel I didn't want to end, and I join thousands of others who eagerly await Jake Simons' next work.

Among the members of our London-based Book Club, I was not the only one to have been quite unable to put this thriller down. Like the English German Girl, Simons' previous masterpiece, The Pure kept me up at night, so compelling to read and enchanting to think about afterwards.

Jake Simons is of course renowned for the exhaustive research that goes into each book, and fans will be pleased to learn that The Pure is no exception. In the epilogue, Simons reveals that he interviewed a number of British and Israeli intelligence personnel in preparation for its writing, which help make the story ring true. The set pieces left me full of adrenaline, but unlike James Bond and other ludicrous Hollywood plots, were very believable. You feel as if Uzi and the other main spies are genuinely risking their neck, and you do not start off with any obvious assurances of a happy ending. One feels as if this really is what could happen among individuals working for security intelligence, fighting with and at times against corrupt, cut throat (and democratic?) governments. True tales of Mossad operations are woven into the story, revealing incredible incidents of which the public are rarely informed. The plot is extremely fast-paced, with quite unusually not a single dull moment.

It is no secret that Jake Simons has become a formidable voice in British fiction. With such an unusual array of masterpieces in his repertoire, one can only be amazed at his versatility.

Verdict: 9.5/10 A rare masterpiece: a fun and gritty psychological and political thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable thriller, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pure (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot of similar books and I am always looking for a new author to get into. I didn't have too much sympathy for the main characters so I had to work a little to keep at it, but in the end was rewarded by a few good twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is so different and brilliant!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pure (Kindle Edition)
To begin with, I nearly gave up on this book as it starts in a rather dreary and understated fashion with a character who just does not appeal! However, persevere and you will find yourself reading a totally fascinating book which lays bare many facets of the security services, not least of which is The Mossad, which is the main theme of this book. Totally compelling once you have got into it and difficult to put down. Terrific climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More like this please, 1 July 2013
By 
D. A. Wright (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pure (Paperback)
I thorougly enjoyed this rattling good yarn on my Kindle, although I knew nothing about the author before I started. As others have commented, it gets off to a slowish start, but to say it took 2/3 to get going is rather harsh in my opinion. If the end was a little predictable, so what? It was a pleasing journey getting there. I hope Mr Simons can produce more like this, although considering the huge amount of research that has gone into a book of this quality, I don't expect future stories will come exactly thick and fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got better, stick with it, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pure (Kindle Edition)
Started too slowly and I gave up a few times before returning to it. Found that about two thirds of the way through, it really got going and became an excellent novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Workaday thriller, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pure (Kindle Edition)
Nice to see a book about Mossad rather than American, Russian or British spies. And it's a gritty, thrilling, slightly disturbing ride. Nothing remarkable but not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Pure, 19 May 2013
By 
A. Miller (Ilford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pure (Kindle Edition)
A very well written book that held my interest to the very end,a good twist in the story.
Allan Miller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pure (Kindle Edition)
The kindle offers have been a godsend meaning I can try new authors for a very low price.
I enjoyed this book a lot and was gripped throughout and will be reading more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad !, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pure (Kindle Edition)
I liked the The Pure. It had quite an original story that in which it wasn't apparent just how it would turn out. I certainly didn't see the ending happening as it did.
I look forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pure (Kindle Edition)
Item well made. Exactly as described. Well packed. Reasonable price. Rapid delivery. Excellent seller. Excellent buyer too, come to that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pure
The Pure by Jake Simons
2.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews