Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The whole of WW1, not just the trenches
The History in an Hour series are proving to be very good at concise introductions to individual, large subjects, and so it is with World War One. Most people know a little about the trenches and the horrific slaughter but how many have heard of the devastating Iraq campaign or how many thousands of troops were stationed in Greece doing not a lot except making their...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars History in an hour, it's my fault I should have known from the title
Just how much history can you learn in one hour? Stupidly, I thought this book might reveal to me some hidden facts which I did not already know. I have probably read 100s of hours about WW1, its causes, its battles, its conclusions and this added nothing. In the year 2014 which is the 100th anniversary of the start of that horrible conflict there are numerous books...
Published 3 months ago by H. M. Sykes


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The whole of WW1, not just the trenches, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
The History in an Hour series are proving to be very good at concise introductions to individual, large subjects, and so it is with World War One. Most people know a little about the trenches and the horrific slaughter but how many have heard of the devastating Iraq campaign or how many thousands of troops were stationed in Greece doing not a lot except making their presence felt so Greece would stay on the Allies side?

There are brief dips into the war at sea, in the air and how a young Winston Churchill was the prime mover of the disastrous Gallipoli campaign. The place were this book excels is right at the beginning as it explains why people wanted Arch Duke Ferdinand dead, how his driver's wrong turn presented the assassin with opportunity and the quick slide into war as countries were drawn in by commitments of mutual defence made in treaties signed long ago.

This is a top flight book which gives you the strategic overview of the war to end all wars, if only that last phrase were true. At the end of the book there is a brief biography of major personalities involved in the war and a chronology of events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Overview, 29 Oct 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
To be honest I was a bit dubious about this book at first, until I started reading it that is. People of my generation studied World War 1 at school, so have an extensive background into the subject, and also in my case our school did also take us to the Imperial War Museum, which also helped a lot in understanding what it was like to live and fight in the trenches.

This book tries to gather the main points together into something that will take you about an hour to read, also including appendices and photos. All in all this does actually do a great job of this. It shows how the war started and the reasons, as well as the main countries involved. Where else this excels is how it shows things being inter-connected, such as the Easter Uprisings in Ireland, the revolution in Russia, and how such countries as Israel started to be created. Of course this would not be complete if it didn't show the world how it was after the war and some of the reasons for the next World War.

This is ideal for anyone wanting to brush up on the First World War, and I would say that this is excellent for anyone having to study this for history and would be ideal for school children. With an active table of contents and the inclusion of photos obviously a lot of thought has gone into this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great to get the big picture, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Sarah Hague (Montpellier, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
I studied WWI at school but we never got the big picture. It was a war of important events seemingly unconnected and quickly forgotten.

This book has done wonders bringing all the bits together to present a good overview of the whole war. It is a great introduction to WWI which explains who did what, where and why. The details of the main figures of the war at the end is useful too, as is the chronology of events. It should be required reading for all schoolchildren embarking on a study of WWI.

I found it really useful and will now read WWII which I hope will be as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is excellent, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Become very interested in the First World War since finding my great uncles's grave; he died on the Somme. We both wanted to know more about the War and have bought quite a few books. But it is such a large and complex subject and it is difficult to get a clear overview as each author, excellent in their own particular part of the War, gives a slightly different account. This one is a clear, concise and very understandable whizz through the causes and progress of the 1st WW. It doesn't go into huge detail but give a good bare bones account which can be fleshed out through further reading if you so wish. Both my husband and I are pleased I bought this one - very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoy history and this book is an eye opener to all the key events reviewed in a clear and concise format. If you wnat to read about the 1st world war, but don't want to pile through lots of heavy books then this is the way to do it. I am looking forward to reading other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent historical overview, 6 Nov 2012
By 
James Smith (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
I happened upon this e-Book whilst researching for a film project related to World War One. This book did not disappoint and is actually quite comprehensive - I must confess, it took me well over an hour to read. Despite the swiftness of the accounts, the writing does not lack depth or impact. History in an Hour is a fine idea, and I shall be downloading others in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise History, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Very readable, and despite it being relatively short there are areas covered that were new to me. I don't think that I could recommend a better way of getting to grips with this period. A worthy effort deserving of 5*s, but I agree that you'd have to read quickly to get this one finished in an hour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapid read, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
A concise history of the Great War which covers the political and economic aspects of this conflict. It also describes the 'forgotten' war in the Middle East. A usefull intro or revision aid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
very interested in world war one and two so the accounts were very graffic and tell the stories that have not been told
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War One: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
easy read and to the point. very interesting and all the little facts made the difference. I would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa809be7c)

This product

World War One: History in an Hour
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews