Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is the follow up to the previous release Tangerine Dream - The Virgin Years: 1974-1978.
The Virgin Years: 1974-1978
Seven Albums are contained on 5CDs.

All of the albums have been remastered (in 1995) which should prove an attraction to those who have a few of these albums already. Encore has the two additional tracks.

It contains the albums. "Encore" (1977) which was recorded on their American tour with the line-up of Chris Franke, Peter Baumann and Edgar Froese, and includes the single `Monolight' with its flipside `Hobo March'which are available (on CD) at last.

"Force Majeure" (1979) has only Christopher Franke and Edgar Froese.

"Tangram" (1980) Christopher Franke and Edgar Froese were now joined by Johannes Schmoelling. This album had two very long tracks and explains the shortness of the listings.

"Exit" (1981) has two bonus tracks.

"White Eagle" (1982)

"Logos" (1982) This is a live two part album with 50 minutes of the album I believe to be from the much longer concert recorded at London's Dominion theatre in November 1982.

"Hyperborea" (1983)
The track Listings

CD 1
1. Cherokee Lane (Live) (1995 - Remastered)
2. Monolight (Live) (1995 - Remastered)
3. Coldwater Canyon (Live) (1995 - Remastered)
4. Desert Dream (Live) (1995 - Remastered)
5. Monolight (A-side 1977) (1995 - Remastered)
6. Hobo March (the B side of the single) (1977) (1995 - Remastered)
CD 2
1. Force Majeure (1995 - Remastered)
2. Cloudburst Flight (1995 - Remastereded)
3. Thru Metamorphic Rocks (1995 - Remastered)
4. Tangram (Set 1) (1995 - Remastered)
CD 3
1. Tangram (Set 2) (1995 - Remastered)
2. Kiew Mission (1995 - Remastered)
3. Pilots of Purple Twighlight (1995 - Remastered)
4. Choronzon (1995 - Remastered)
5. Exit (1995 - Remastered)
6. Network 23 (1995 - Remastered)
7. Remote Viewing (1995 - Remastered)
8. Beach Scene (A-side 1981) (1995 - Remastered)
9. Burning Bar (B-side 1981) (1995 - Remastered)
CD 4
1. Mojave Plan (1995 - Remastered)
2. Midnight in Tula (1995 - Remastered)
3. Convention of the 24 (1995 - Remastered)
4. White Eagle (1995 - Remastered)
5. Logos (Part I) (1995 - Remastered)
CD 5
1. Logos (Part II) (1995 - Remastered)
2. Dominion (Live) (1995 - Remastered)
3. No Man's Land (1995 - Remastered)
4. Hyperborea (1995 - Remastered)
5. Cinnamon Road (1995 - Remastered)
6. Sphinx Lightning (1995 - Remastered)
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
This set deserves five stars despite some weaker material on some of the later albums and the vagaries of Virgin/EMI in including the magnificent Encore in this collection rather than where it belongs, in the 74-78 Baumann era box set; logically the under-rated Cyclone should have kicked off this collection. Otherwise all the later Vigin albums bar the film soundtrack Thief are included in full. There is some excellent material here, especially the Force Majeure album and Tangram, which for me is the last truly classic album TD ever made. I bought this set because I'd never previously bothered to upgrade my vinyl copies of Exit, White Eagle and Hyperborea which all have their moments but also contain tracks which are far below the pre-1981 standard and presage the depressing decline once Chris Franke left the band. Who else is going to find this a bargain? Newcomers to TD should go for this without hesitation. Some might want to go for it for the "singles"- ie: a slightly tweaked version of part of Monolight, and two edits from Thief, but be warned "Hobo March" is not really TD at all- it's actually Ode to Granny A, one of the worst cuts from Edgar Froese's patchy solo album Ages. If you've already got all the "definitive edition" albums, however, I'm not sure you'd be gaining much, even for twelve quid.
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
The main reason I bought this compilation is because I love all seven albums so much I cannot bear the thought of my precious CDs becoming damaged in the future and not being able to play them. So I now have them as MP3 files as well. This is a bargain compilation as you get seven albums of great music:
Encore
White Eagle
Force Majeure
Exit
Tangram
Logos
and
Hyperborea
Encore and Logos are live albums but the recorded quality is excellent with just a hint of tape noise in Encore.The majority of the tracks were composed by Chris Franke, and his mastery of the sequencer has to be heard to be believed. You won't be dissapointed by any of this music - I've been enjoying it since the late 70's.

The Amazon download procedure is very straightforward and I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
Tadream historians will immediately point out that the live album Encore is out of sequence with Cyclone, included on the previous boxset - not so much an oversight as a means to get Peter Baumann's name on the royalty payment list for two big selling boxsets rather than just one. One mystery cleared up - another mystery is that the track "Hobo March" is actually "Ode to Granny A" from the Edgar Froese solo album Ages, and did really actually appear as the single b-side in 1977, so it isn't a mistake, just one of several pieces over the years that have been multiply attributed. Third mystery - what's happened to Thief, Pergammon and Heartbreakers? All released on Virgin label either within the time bracket indicated or belatedly put out after the studio album contract had expired. Well....sort that lot out while listening to the best electronic music you'll find on this planet or any other.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This collection see's Tangerine Dream begin a slow descent from their heady early days as leading exponents of the groundbreaking Krautrock era into a more sanitized & structured approach.
This in no way means that the albums on offer here are poor, far from it, they just don't carry on the outstanding pattern of jazz-like free flowing, at times almost ambient, electronica they offered their fans before.

`Encore' is an appropriate intro. To the set. Still interesting & full of enjoyable moments, it lacks the spontaneity & mystery of previous live sets and at times feels a little forced.

The studio albums are a mixed bunch but all contain some great tracks and as a whole it has to be said that the amount of top e-music on offer for such a low price makes this fantastic value for money.

The sound quality is very good, these having been remastered previously, and we are spared any cringe worthy `re-imaginings'!

For the enthusiast this will contain little of value. No doubt you'll not want to trade the warm sound and friendly clicks & pops that your old vinyl wraps you in.
For the newcomer I would have to say that really the previous setThe Virgin Years: 1974-1978 is the place to start. The historical value & standard of innovation and sheer musical scale make the early albums the best.
If you already have one or two of the early albums or just a few in total then I reckon that both collections are worth the investment and why not go the whole hog and get Edgar FroeseSolo [1974-1983] The Virgin Years. That too has some great tracks.

While this see's a distinctly commercial edge of easy to follow tunes, click tracks and the odd filler, this is still a mighty collection. Part 1 of Dominion, Tangram & Remote viewing are amongst the best of any collection. The Few 'single' tracks included are a bit odd but it's nice to have them here nonetheless.
There are also a small collection of Virgin TD soundtracks that would be nice to have collected too but copyright issues may play a big part in preventing that.

If you enjoy this then you might also give the excellent live set 'Poland' a listen. A last hurrah from TD before heading off to Atari programming & the god awful linn drum obsession that became the fashion in the nineties.

Despite certain band members best efforts to tarnish the TD name with naff TV soundtracks and appalling reworkings and a whole raft of elevator music albums, the huge influence, imagination and sheer musical enjoyment Tangerine Dream brought to so many of their early albums forever see's them as a name to be respected and their music as a joy to listen to for fans of e-music the world over.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
if you are a fan or would like to get to know what Tangerine Dream are all about then get this 5 cd set of there very best when they was with Virgin , the years 1977to 1983, they are all here, Encore,Force Majeure, Tangram,Exit,White Eagle,Logo's & Hyperborea + some bonus tracks. you cannot get any better, if you are already a fan get this in your collection, if you would like to see what this band is all about , buy this and you will be amazed at what they can do. I have always thought Tangram was one of the best but when you listen to this you realise there are just so many great cd's and tracks from this band. I love and will playing this for along while to come.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
For those out there reading this that don't yet know Tangerine Dream, don't be put off by thinking this is the really earlier electronic meanderings of some hippys - there's so much more to it.

Crank it up on a decent hifi or a good set of headphones, sit back, let it wash over you, relax and enjoy. TD's music is a treat for the aural senses!

All my Tangerine Dream was on vinyl and hasn't seen the light of day for a while so rather than buying all the albums on CD I thought I'd go for this compilation.

It covers everything I had and fills in the gaps in my collection.

I've also bought The Virgin Years: 1974-1978 [Audio CD] and have really enjoyed rediscovering the material on both.

Yes, I will admit I do skip the occasional track, but every group drops the ball now and then.

Definitely recommended as a starting point for TD or those like me updating catalogue on the cheap.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
This was the soundtrack to my O levels, A levels and undergraduate studying sessions.
I own most of this on [worn out] vinyl.
This version comes in a double sided jewel case.
A nice touch is that each of the CD`s feature the virgin logos and centre spindle graphics current when the original vinyl was produced.
Sound is great, compared to my old vinyl and whilst it would have been nice to have a little more of a booklet , it is a perfect addition for those of us who own the vinyl, and would like to have single set of very well priced albums.
I cant fault it.
I would recommend the Edgar Froese virgin years box set as a perfect companion - also well priced.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
A Fantastic compilation, and good sleeve notes as well, covering mearly 7 full albums. Great value for money. Big Tick.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Essential TD albums with four additional bonus tracks. Also this set represents excellent value for money. Only downside is that the albums Tangram and Logos are split over two discs which interrupts the flow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.63
£5.49
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)